We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All other excellent reviews are correct…..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Vale del Rei

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Vale del Rei to your Saves list
Casa Vale del Rei
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Almargem, Tavira 8800-053, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Tavira
Schilde, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“All other excellent reviews are correct…..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

As far as we noticed, only very positive internet reviews of this B&B close to Tavira. “The proof of the pudding is in the eating”, and we were not disappointed in any respect during our recent stay at this lovely quiet spot amidst the orange and olive groves.
In particular the personal touch by owners Robin and Geraldine and their excellent advice on how to go about, where to park, what to visit, where to eat, etc. was excellent. All what is said in the other reviews on the quality of lodgings, service and superior breakfast (best we had in our fortnight fly-drive) is correct.
On finding the B&B location, we were glad that we put the coordinates in our GPS beforehand, since driving their purely on route description might have given us some difficulty.
All in all an excellent experience and highest recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We got dreadfully lost trying to find this little oasis in the orange groves and I was tired and disgruntled by the time we arrived. But we had only to walk up the flowered path, through the hallway, and into the breakfast room where we were greeted by Robin, the owner, to realize that we could leave our cares behind us. There are quiet spots, lovely gardens, a beautiful pool, a super comfortable living room for relaxing; the breakfasts are delicious; the staff is attentive; the beach is close by; and the other guests seem to be all similarly delighted with their experience and thus easily engaged in interesting conversations. We came for a night and returned for 2 more because we had such a good time.

Room Tip: We had two different rooms and I preferred the one with blues and pinks to the beige. They are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed at Casa Vale del Rei for a week, and found it a very relaxing spot. It's a few miles from the town of Tavira, which has a decent range of amenities (including a good choice of places to eat), and within easy striking distance of the house are some excellent beaches.

But the main selling point for me was the property itself, run with enthusiasm and affection by a British couple. There are eight rooms, not huge or luxurious but nicely appointed with good air conditioning. There's a communal lounge area, with Sky TV and WiFi access, a pleasant shaded terrace, and an abundance of outdoor space. There's a pool that's big enough to swim in but is perhaps ideal mainly for a dip after a couple of hours on a lounger. The poolside area is well equipped, has a nice atmosphere, and has excellent parasols and a fair amount of shade.

Breakfast is a highlight, and the whole attitude of the owners and their small staff is very positive, creating an environment in which you can relax and take it easy. You can get recommendations about the best beaches and places to go out, but you'll probably just want to sit on a lounger with a book and quietly soak up some rays.

Room Tip: There's a cabin at the rear of the property with its own private outdoor space and partly shaded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed in this lovely little farmhouse,right in the middle of nowhere.
What a wonderful find.
Very peaceful,lovely pool and room.
Breakfasts were superb,served by Maria,who was a great character and made us laugh every day with her descriptions of the cooked eggs,nothing was too much trouble.
Only one problem.
We were watching television late one evening,and the power suddenly went off then back on again.This happened twice,and we got the message there was a curfew!
Apart from this incident,we had a wonderful time and would recommend this place very highly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

After our third visit we remain faithful fans. Words cannot do justice to the welcome we receive, nor the quality of the accommodation. Roll on next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We have just returned from our second stay at the wonderful Casa Vale del Rei and are already planning our next visit! This is the perfect place to relax, unwind and enjoy everything Portugal has to offer. Robin and Geraldine are the perfect hosts, they always make sure that you enjoy your holiday here and nothing seems to be too much trouble; they have lovely staff too. The rooms are very comfortable and spotless and the finishing touches to all the rooms are individual and charming. The gardens are delightful as is the pool area and terraces, with lots of secluded places to just sit, relax and absorb the peace and quiet - bliss. You are served an excellent breakfast with which to start your day and set you up for exploring this wonderfully sleepy area of Portugal. We cannot recommend this special place highly enough. Thank you again Robin and Geraldine.

Room Tip: All rooms are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

The Casa Vale del Rei is a little piece of heaven. The style, views and warmth of the welcome are everything you want from a holiday and more. My husband and I had the opportunity to truly disconnect from the stresses of everyday life and relax in the quiet surroundings that it offers. The rooms were spotless, the breakfast exceptional (the best!); and stars at night completely out of this world! The owners’ knowledge of the area and advice on what to do and where to go means that you waste no time in getting to the best beaches and enjoying the finest local food.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tavira hotels
0.6 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#5 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#4 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
2.2 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#6 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 stars 656 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pedras da Rainha
Pedras da Rainha
#1 of 2 in Cabanas
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Vale del Rei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Vale del Rei

Address: Almargem, Tavira 8800-053, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Vale del Rei 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Val Del Rei is an old rural farmhouse restored to maintain the region's architectural characteristics. Situated on a hilltop close to the Almargem River, it is surrounded by orange groves and olive trees with both sea and hilltop views. The farmhouse is located in Tavira district, known as one of the jewels of the Algarve.It is a fishing town bearing strong Moorish influences with cobblestone streets andpicturesque squares preserving a lot of Portugal's old charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Casa Vale del Rei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Vale del Rei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.