We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vilacampina Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Vilacampina Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Vilacampina Guesthouse
Sitio da Campina | CP 991C, Luz de Tavira, Tavira 8800-107, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 24 Tavira B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for a week a few years ago....and still dream of it to this day!
We were welcomed with a glass of bubbles which is always a nice start to the holiday!
We stayed in a smaller room for the first couple of nights then moved into a bigger one for the last few with a huge balcony.
We loved the pool area and relaxed there most days as we had no car. It was lovely and quiet as we had it to ourselves most days!
Breakfast was fabulous with home made cake every day!
The house was beautiful with lots of interesting pieces from Sofia's travels. Modern and tasteful.
Even the background music was perfect!
One day we rented bikes and also visited local beaches by taxi.
In the evenings we went to tavera which had plenty of gorgeous restaurants.
We were even treated to an evening of drinks and canapés with a saxophonist at the villa with all the other guests. Superb.
Staff were all extremely helpful and delightful.
We met a lovely Spanish couple who invited us to spend the day with them driving north to some fabulous sights/beaches and whom we have stayed in contact with.
We would highly recommend villa campinia for all ages.
I have a passion for travel and never tend to vist the same place twice.... With the exception of here. We are looking forward to going back next September with our friends!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
63
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Me and my wife just spent four wonderful nights at vilacampina. What a find, lovely staff and great hospitality from the owner Sofia. Breakfast, what can i say i could not stop eating it was a real treat, especially the cakes. Lovely area with quiet deserted beaches, a lovely part of Portugal. Will definitely be returning.

Paul & Glynis

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just spent 7 wonderful days at Vilacampina. The best place we've ever stayed and the best introduction to Portugal we could have hoped for. Attentive but relaxed service, great local knowledge and tips especially beaches, sight-seeing and restaurants. Pool area is fab - relaxing, spacious, stylish. Thanks to Margarida especially for all her help and tips and being so nice. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We arrived in Faro late - around 10.30pm - exhausted after a nightmare flight, feeling slightly apprehensive having never visited the Algarve, but figuring it's a long weekend so if it's not brilliant it's not too long before heading home.

Having visited Vila Campina I have now decided I want to live in the Eastern Algarve, preferably at Vila Campina, just as soon as that unknown incredibly wealthy relative leaves me all their worldly goods.

This place is amazing and so relaxing; everything from the rooms, to breakfast, the pool and the grounds exceeded all expectations.

The one thing that raises Vila Campina above pretty much anywhere else we've stayed was the warmth and friendliness of everyone. Nothing was too much trouble, from booking us numerous taxis to persuading a busy local restaurant to reserve us a table on Sunday lunchtime.

We were sad to leave after such a brief stay and will definitely return - probably with a car as relying on taxis was a bit expensive and there's so much to see.

Room Tip: Take Margarida's advice on places to visit/eat. Try the seafood and rice stew at Marisqueira Fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just had 6 glorious nights at Vilacampina - our first trip to Portugal, really feel we landed on our feet. So many superlatives. A wonderful place, great attention to detail, lovely home from home environment. Sofia and her staff are superb hosts. Breakfast is a real treat. The rooms are well appointed. The pool area is delightful and so relaxing. With a car, the Algarve is small enough explore from Vilacampina - the west coast is only 1.5hrs away and the Spanish boarder is only just over 30mins away. However although a car is certainly useful, one can still have a great short break without one (Vilacampina will organise taxis and the nearby surrounding area is certainly pleasant and fulfilling enough). Easy distance from Faro airport. Great lively restaurants within striking distance. A most relaxing and rejuvenating place to stay. We are already planning our return next year. Please don't read this, we don't want to find it booked up!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Vilacampina was a tremendous suprise. Not being cheap, it really was a terrific value for money by Algarve standards.
The place is beautiful and the swimming pool is gorgeous. Sofia and the rest of the staff were very gentle and helpful on helping you to get the most of your time. The restaurant tips where adequate both in quality and price. The breakfast is a must. The rooms would be perfect if they where 3 or 4 sqm larger but who wants to stay in if you have empty sandy beaches on a short drive (it may or may not include a taxi boat :-)) or you can indulge on the swimming pool.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

A wonderful luxury guest-house (actually much much more than that, but using the name due to it only having 8-9 rooms) outside the hustle and bustle of the touristy Algarve. The whole property is extremely tastefully built with excellent rooms and beautiful grounds and pool. Service is outstanding and has one of the best breakfasts in Europe.
You need a car to travel around, but the beach at Tavira is excellent and other beaches are about 30-45 mins drive away

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vilacampina Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilacampina Guesthouse

Also Known As:
Vilacampina Guesthouse Hotel Tavira
Vilacampina Guesthouse Hotel
Address: Sitio da Campina | CP 991C, Luz de Tavira, Tavira 8800-107, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vilacampina Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vilacampina Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.