We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vilacampina Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Vilacampina Guesthouse to your Saves list
Vilacampina Guesthouse
Sitio da Campina | CP 991C, Luz de Tavira, Tavira 8800-107, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 24 Tavira B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

A wonderful luxury guest-house (actually much much more than that, but using the name due to it only having 8-9 rooms) outside the hustle and bustle of the touristy Algarve. The whole property is extremely tastefully built with excellent rooms and beautiful grounds and pool. Service is outstanding and has one of the best breakfasts in Europe.
You need a car to travel around, but the beach at Tavira is excellent and other beaches are about 30-45 mins drive away

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
74
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Vilacampina for two nights last week. We loved it. Nicely decorated, cozy, warm ambiance, very nice owner and staff, peaceful setting, nice beaches nearby. Five star B&B. Thank you Vilacampina for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is a small guestahouse with 7 rooms. The owner and all the staff made everything you can imagine to make you feel at home and gave all the advices to spend a good time at Tavira and their beautiful beaches. Counceling about food and local restaurants are also included on the "package". The rooms are adequate for a place like this one. Much more than average is the quality and variety of the breakfast (it was really a five stars standard).
I really can strongly recommend Vilacampina not only to foreigners but also to portuguese people looking for a different Algarve.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Once in a blue moon you'll stay somewhere that you really want to keep to yourself, for fear that if the secret's out you'll never get booked in again future without planning a year in advance. This is one of those places - but lucky for you I'm not that selfish.

I can certainly confirm what all the other glowing reviews have reported. Great breakfasts; continental, the biggest selection of fine foods I've ever seen in a B&B or hotel. A setting to die for, a mile or so out of the nearest town among the orange groves. And amazing staff, who simply cannot do enough to make your holiday perfect. The building and grounds are simply stunning (just take a look at their website).

I'd recommend a hire car, the walk to town is along a (fairly quiet) road but its a decent walk and there's not a lot in the local town of Luz. Driving gives you flexibility to explore the region - the beach town of Santa Luzia, Tavira, and further inland to Alcoutim all well worth a visit.

But if on the other hand you just want to take a few books and relax by the pool for a few days, I can think of no better place for it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

My wife and stayed at the Vilacampina for 3 nights last week and we had the most relaxing and enjoyable experience. As previous reviewers have said Margarida and Sophia are the perfect hosts making us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived to when we left with recommendations for eating out and visiting places. We had the double room downstairs (#2) which was very spacious and tastefully furnished and decorated. There were chocolates, apples, and bottled water supplied every day, and a nice touch with the complimentary bathrobes. My wife also had the Swedish massage treatment and said what good value for money it was. The breakfast was fantastic with so much choice that we tried something new every morning. The house and grounds with the swimming pool were stunning and the only thing our hosts couldn't provide was nicer weather but we won't hold that against them due to the time of year! We would highly recommend the Vilacampina for couples seeking a bit of relaxation and pampering.

Room Tip: It's probably worth paying the extra money for the double room at the front of the house overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed there for 5 nights and that was absolutely delicious. On the one hand, guests were so kind and thoughtful ; on the other hand, food, bedrooms, bathrooms, garden and accommodations are amazing. I think the best place to stay near Tavira.

To stay in the middle of olive and orange trees, with all these smells of honey and fruits was a real pleasure, we'll definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This wonderful boutique hotel deserves five star praise. Hugely stylish and very comfortable, everything is arranged with generosity and charm.

The rooms are full of thoughtful touches (fluffy bathrobes, water, chocolates, fruit-- no such thing as having to pay US$5 for mini-bar water or a Wi-Fi connection here). The living area balconies and chic pool area (with shaded terrace and honesty bar) offer a lovely choice of places to relax. The breakfast is a completely delicious spread which, tellingly, was just as generous/wide-ranging even when we found ourselves the hotel's only guests one night out of season.

Sophia, Margarita and the staff are exceptionally lovely and helpful and made us feel the most welcome guests even when, due to our own mistake, we arrived in the middle of the night a day earlier than expected. They suggested outings and restaurants, spoiled us on our wedding anniversary and even cleaned up our muddy shoes after some energetic exploring in the mudflats. They went out of their way at every turn, with generosity, charisma and kindness. This is a special place, with a special atmosphere and it deserves to thrive. Many of the guests return repeatedly. We've been twice already and will be back ...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vilacampina Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilacampina Guesthouse

Address: Sitio da Campina | CP 991C, Luz de Tavira, Tavira 8800-107, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vilacampina Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilacampina Guesthouse Hotel Tavira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vilacampina Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.