We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the centre of Tavira, tranquil and great for relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel to your Saves list
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua D. Paio Peres Correia, Tavira 8800-407, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Tavira
Andalucia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Close to the centre of Tavira, tranquil and great for relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was booked last minute but not disappointed. The building is a large ex-convent next to the main church of Tavira. Very serene and quiet even though the hotel was nearly full. I maybe would have liked a bit more old character in the room but very comfy beds and clean. Antonio who greeted us at reception was deilghtful as was his colleague (didn´t get his name but wore glasses) in the morning. Excellent level of English and professionalism. If arriving by car take the turning in front of the Bombeiros - fire station.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    76
    23
    10
    2
See reviews for
37
156
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a wonderful property with a spacious and clean room. We enjoyed a 2 night stay and could easily walk around the town. Quaint and scenic. I would reccommend this to anyone! The free breakfast was wonderful too!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanas, Portugal
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A delightful oasis of serenity in a charming town. The check in undertaken by Aderito Garcia was simply the most special ever, the service impecable; thank you Jorge Gomez (bar and restaurant) and Rafael and Sussane (restaurant). The food sublime - the best Cataplana. The rooms cozy and public spaces well appointed, the beds comfortable. We both had a Serenity Massage and found it hard to stay awake for dinner! Located in a maze of tiny cobbled streets adjacent to the castle within easy strolling distance of the town square and Roman Bridge. The place to stay in Tavira.

Room Tip: We had room 36 which had a balcony overlooking gardens, the town and the Camera Obscura - the shady...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton, Cheshire
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Tucked away in a maze of tiny streets near the castle, this hotel has a great setting with views over the lovely town of Tavira. One of only two 'not good' comments is that for anybody who doesn't know Tavira, it must be a nightmare to find. The very pleasant, helpful, front-desk staff admitted that the hotel's postcode rarely helps visitors navigate the local streets - some one-way and barely wide enough for a car - and that visitors are frequently escorted up by the local police. Even the map on the website doesn't help much.

The second 'not good' is that the included breakfast was very mediocre - not at all at 4* standard.

That aside, I can thoroughly recommend this hotel. Converted from a 16th Century convent, there is a feeling of quiet, peaceful contemplation about the place - especially in the well-preserved cloisters. The rooms and en-suite are spacious with in-room safe and mini-bar - but no tea/coffee making facility - and the beds are most comfortable. The pool is set within some of the old walls and there is a well-stocked bar. The only meal we had was the breakfast but the menu for lunch and dinner looked very good. The front desk staff were excellent and most helpful. There is a small, gated car-park which, during our stay, was reduced even further by inconsiderate, or incompetent, drivers who took up two spaces for one car.

The hotel is situated on a small hill, near Tavira Castle, above the centre of the town and so has great views and excellent walking access to the delightful town centre, the Gilao River and Taviras many restaurants. Tavira's stunning beaches are 5 minutes away by car.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

This is the first Pousada we have been to and if they are all like this we wouldn't hesitate to go others.
The room was large with a large comfortable bed and excellent bedding. It was kept spotless, the towels were always thick and fluffy.
On arrival we were met by Alex who was excellent after a quick checkin he took us to our room and explained everything.
The food in the restaurant was excellent as was the service. The food was always nicely presented, hot and tasty. The staff couldn't do enough for you.
The breakfast choice was more limited than we are used to but still would satisfy all tastes.
The pool area was private and quiet with no trouble getting a sunbed.
We will definitely return and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.
Travira is a lovely large town with plenty to do. It has plenty of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South eastern england
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

We spent a week here in September 2014 and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were lovely. The breakfast was fine with plenty of choice but the coffee was not great and I would have preferred freshly brewed. The building has some beautiful features the cloisters and the staircases were wonderful. The food in the restaurant was excellent but we found fantastic small restaurants in the town that were cheaper!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights - B&B.
Excellent location in the heart of Tavira. Free car park adjacent.
Well trained and helpful staff.
Large rooms.
Lovely cloisters where meals can be taken.
Breakfast not 5 star but fine.
Evening meal can be €20 for couvert, soup, choice of 2 mains and dessert. Also a glass of sparkling wine - excellent value.
Also O Castello close by for a superb inexpensive meal in small restaurant - need to book though.

Room Tip: Our basic room was fine - has a fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel

Address: Rua D. Paio Peres Correia, Tavira 8800-407, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tavira
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada de Tavira is set in the 16th-century St. Augustine’s Convent and is just a few minutes walk from the Roman Bridge over Gilao River. All of the rooms in this central Tavira hotel overlook the courtyard or the hotel’s pool garden, while some have balcony. Each has a private en-suite bathroom with tub and hairdryer. Guests can relax under shady umbrellas on the poolside sun loungers. A daily breakfast buffet is offered in the dining room or in the courtyard outdoors. The restaurant serves delectable local and international cuisine for lunch and dinner. Ilha de Tavira’s white beaches are situated just 15 minutes’ drive from the Pousada. Excellent golf opportunity is offered by Benamor Golfe Course, 7 km away. Plenty of restaurants are found near to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Convento Da Graca Tavira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.