We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel to your Saves list
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua D. Paio Peres Correia, Tavira 8800-407, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brentwood, Essex
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The pousada fully lives up to its billing of blending history and modernity. The hotel has a very tranquil atmosphere (apart from the ill chosen choice of breakfast music) which makes it very relaxing. We were very fortunate to have our own terrace overlooking the pool and gardens which are well maintained.The hotel has an excellent location being in a very historic quarter of Tavira and a short walk to the town centre.
The staff were very welcoming and friendly with notably good restaurant service, especially from the ever smiling Susanna. The food was good value and high quality.
I cannot imagine there is a nicer place to stay in Tavira.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    84
    24
    11
    2
See reviews for
41
180
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
1,094 reviews 1,094 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
607 helpful votes 607 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

In Portuguese a Pousada is actually an Inn but don't be fooled this is a 16th century baroque and renaissance building now of a course a luxury hotel. Enough breakfast high quality fuel to sink a ship and very attentive professional staff. The pool area is perfect and peaceful and the setting far enough on the edge of he's all town for added peace. Highly recommened.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at the Pousada in Tavira for the first week in July. It is a beautiful hotel. I completely agree with the comments regarding the excellent staff. The reception staff were so friendly, professional and helpful and they remembered our names! Our room and bathroom was very comfortable and the small balcony is a lovely place to sit and read. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and there was a great choice of food; fresh fruit kebabs, pastries, cold meats and cheeses plus hot dishes and freshly-squeezed juice; the waiters remembered after the first day that we liked a pot of coffee and hot milk. We ate out for all our evening meals as the restaurant appeared a little formal and I like somewhere with a bit more atmosphere.

The comments about the children doesn't surprise me; I did find it very quiet and people didn't really chat to one another, breakfast time was rather 'reverential'. Personally I enjoyed it when there were a few children playing in the pool as even when reading it is pleasant to hear the chatter of children having fun. Plus as there is actually a children's pool, it seems a shame that children were asked to be quiet by other guests!

Tavira is a delightful town and it was lovely to potter down into the main square and eat a delicious icecream by the bandstand listening to the local musicians playing.

Altogether I would highly both the hotel and Tavira. I certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights last week, the staff are lovely and take their jobs seriously, the staff at reception made check in very easy. The breakfast waiters especially Jose were very good.

Our only drawback with this hotel is that it isn't suitable for children, our children were asked by other guests to be quiet when they were playing at the pool the other day, this isnt really fair as we are paying good money to be here too, also they advertise a kids club which would be a great respite from the sun/heat but when i inquired they said it wasn't available.

The hotel is in a lovely location and i would urge people to go to Tavira to see the REAL ALGARVE.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We booked this place after trying to work out where to start our 2013 tour of Portugal. Tavira seemed a nice place to start on the Algarve, but away from the golf based resorts and the madness of Albufeira.
The converted monastery is a beautiful building with a new modern heart, however a symathetic emphasis on the use of the old stonework gives the historic building a homely feel.
On arrival we were greeted by enthusiastic reception staff who booked us in and led us through the hallways to our room. Large bedroom with a small balcony was a pleasant surprise.
The building itself is beautiful and the courtyard has seating areas in the shade and one corner is dedicated to the outside eating area for the restaurant.
The pool area is sufficient for the number of guests and never seemed to be too busy.
The breakfast is usual quality fare expected at a place like this and a good start to the day.
Dinner is an excellent deal for both the quality and the price.
There is however a 5 a side football pitch to the rear of the premise and if the sound of the locals enjoying themselves up to midnight then the rooms to the rear may cause a problem. It did not cause us any problem however it may bother others.
The town centre is a short walk away and the local castle is next door, its worth a visit for the ancient walls and photo opportunities from the ramparts.
You'll find out every day when its one o'clock (if you visit).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A really well preserved boutique hotel located in pretty surroundings.
The staff were very attentive and welcoming and the hotel was lovely, especially the outdoor courtyard area. The hotel offers a outdoor pool and seating area with sun loungers, ideal for a lazy evening with a glass of wine. We only had breakfast in Pousada de Tavira because we wanted to explore the rest of Tavira. The hotel offered a good selection of breads, cereals, fruits, yoghurts, juices etc..as well as a hot breakfast. The double room that we stayed in was comfortable and had a nice balcony with views of the small cobbled streets behind. The only thing that might put people off is the football pitch that is usually busy up until around midnight. When you open the balcony doors you can hear the music and whistles from the referees. It didn't bother us but I can imagine it may be an issue for some. Overall perfect

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a beautiful building which has been converted into a great boutique hotel. No expense has been spared and they have produced the best of the past and the present. There is a lovely cool courtyard and a dining room whose ceiling has been panelled in what looks like walnut - exquisite. The rooms are generous and well equipped. They must have completely renovated all the services (plumbing, wiring etc.) because everything works well. It's not often you get to stay in a masterpiece but this is one - somewhere to admire as well as enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel

Address: Rua D. Paio Peres Correia, Tavira 8800-407, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tavira
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada de Tavira is set in the 16th-century St. Augustine’s Convent and is just a few minutes walk from the Roman Bridge over Gilao River. All of the rooms in this central Tavira hotel overlook the courtyard or the hotel’s pool garden, while some have balcony. Each has a private en-suite bathroom with tub and hairdryer. Guests can relax under shady umbrellas on the poolside sun loungers. A daily breakfast buffet is offered in the dining room or in the courtyard outdoors. The restaurant serves delectable local and international cuisine for lunch and dinner. Ilha de Tavira’s white beaches are situated just 15 minutes’ drive from the Pousada. Excellent golf opportunity is offered by Benamor Golfe Course, 7 km away. Plenty of restaurants are found near to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Convento Da Graca Tavira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.