We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel to your Saves list
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua D. Paio Peres Correia, Tavira 8800-407, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Tavira
Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Solid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Pousada de Tavira is a neat hotel but still a of a 'work in progress'. I give the staff an 'A for effort' but execution was a little off - even though everyone tried very hard. The hotel itself has a very nice location - slightly off a main thoroughfare area and next to a historic castle and church. They also have built a neat archaeological ruins viewing area underneath the hotel (to view actual ancient ruins on the convent site).

The staff is so nice that it makes it easy to forgive the slight lack of polish on the finer details...which if you bring them up, sound small and petty...but the compounding effect makes it noticeable. (example: you should not run out of juice glasses at the buffet for long periods of time and be forced to use a champagne flute for your breakfast juice...yes, definitely a champagne problem!) Weird as it sounds, the door locks were also very annoying...a very little thing but a little thing that shouldn't ever be a problem. The bed pillows were also inadequately flimsy (and only two total on a king bed).

They have a nice, gated private parking lot and the hotel is within short walking distance to a main square area as well as several restaurants just on the other side of the river. Once you park the car, you don't need to use it again while in town, though if you're staying multiple days, you'll likely want to as the town will get a little small after a few days. Lots of beach areas within a short driving distance both towards Faro as well as towards Spain.

Overall, the place was very nice and unspectacularly solid. The staff is incredibly nice, helpful, and friendly. Overall, I would definitely stay again though my expectations would be aligned to not expect perfection.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    72
    23
    10
    2
See reviews for
36
150
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We visited the Convento da Graca on our honeymoon in March 2013 and thought it was just fabulous. The staff were outstandingly friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived and the decor and setting were utterly charming. Here are a few plus and minus points from our stay:

+ Setting: tall corridors, elegant courtyard and spacious room
+ Staff: consistently professional and friendly - always keen to offer advice on the local area
+ Food: the breakfasts contained a wide range of fruit, cold hams, cheeses, pastries, cooked eggs, bacon and more, all of which were excellent.
+ Location: a two-minute stroll into the town and situated on a beautiful plaza by the church.
+ Live music: the attached chapel was the setting for a wonderful Fado concert while we were staying (and inspiringly cheap at just €5 for a 90-minute event).
+ Price: off-season our rooms were discounted by ~20%. It's still a relatively expensive place to stay, but we absolutely felt we were getting our money's worth.

- Noise from the street was a little loud, but this was easily solved by closing the windows and using the air con
- Matresses were a little old and unsupportive (a real shame, but not a huge problem)
- No kettle in the room (quite typical across Europe)
- Pool wasn't in action (barely an issue, as we visited in March and it is unheated)
- er... that's it.

We would highly recommend this wonderful hotel and will certainly be staying there on our next visit to Tavira. Thank-you to all the staff!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My partner and I have just spent a week at the hotel and had a wonderful time.
About a week before we we due to arrive we received emails from the hotel to see if there was anything we needed and they arranged for a taxi to pick us up at Faro airport. From then on the staff of the hotel were unbelievably helpful, with nothing being too much trouble for them, and they always had a smile on their face. A special mention has to be made for Jorge who, despite working long hours was always smiling and cheerful.
The rooms were excellent. The mattress was a little on the hard side for our liking but the private balcony and rustic charm of the room more than made up for that. We didnt mention the bed to staff, but I am sure that if we had they would have helped with the problem. The wooden floor had a carpet around the bed and the annoying "sausage" pillows mentioned by a different reviewer were not in our room.
Breakfast was supreme, with a selection of meats and cheeses, bread and rolls, and croissants and cakes, as well as cereal and fresh fruit. There was a wide variety of tea available as well as fresh fruit juice and coffee. They even had soy milk as well.
The hotel, being a converted convent, was so relaxing and quiet. We were woken every morning to the sound of birdsong and church bells chiming the hour were audible but not annoying.
Whilst we did not try the restaurant for lunch or dinner, we did relax in the bar occassionally. Whilst the it did not always have a member of staff in it, there was a message to call recepton on the phone provided if anything was required.
I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone. Indeed we have all ready told friends and family members how good it was and would willingly stay there again.

Room Tip: Let the hotel know in advance if you have any special requests as they are more than willing to do w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Delightful rooms in this converted convent--a much more modern conversion than I would have expected.

We had a WONDERFUL dinner in the hotel restaurant--apparently, the Pousadas (owned/managed by the central tourist agency in Portugal) are each charged with specializing in regional cuisine, and the chef at this restaurant didn't disappoint.

Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A wonderful historic building, and a privilege to stay there. If I'm honest I'm not sure about the decor. On the one hand the dining rooms have beautiful wooden ceilings that don't seem out of place. The bar, on the other hand, could well be a Starbucks and is as bland as can be. Same with the rooms. Meaningless "sausage" cushions on the bed which just annoy and you have to throw out of the way. Bare wooden floors that are cold on the feet. I put a towel down out of the bathroom. The evening meal was adequate. Breakfast was a laughable test of initiative with complimentary ingredients (for example, milk and cereals) on different tables. I am convinced I spent more time walking around trying to find things than eating. Burners gone out on the warm options. Such a shame, as the staff seemed really pleasant. Okay, so I imagine a former convent is an expensive place to keep going. But so was my room. It should all be better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a remarkable conversion of an ancient building into a comfortable hotel. Four star (by local standards; 3+ stars by US ratings), the hotel is centrally located on a hill in historic Tavira.

The location is a bit of a challenge to reach by car--with all the smalll and one-way streets, but it is perfect after arrival--away from the riverfront bar and tourist area, but within an easy walk. Tavira has a handfull of interesting sights and others to explore nearby.

The pousada's small staff tries very hard to welcome guests. We detect a bit of corporate cost cutting in the number of staff on duty.

Our suite was good, room 9, located in a modern attached mini-wing of the hotel. Note that during hugh season, foot traffic heading to the pool could pass this room, making it noisier, but during slow season it was a great, quiet location.

Breakfast was acceptable (but under-staffed again). Parking is convenient, on-site and gated.

The building and grounds were wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Have now stayed in four Pousadas and would rate this as one of the best. The building with its lovely courtyard and peaceful gardens makes staying in a town worthwhile. The parking was very convenient and the GPs took us there first time. We opted for a Suite which was situated on the second floor and had lovely views over the town. It was a good size with a king size bed and the dining room/lounge was very comfortable. We had a bathroom with toilet, bidet and handbasin and on the other side of the hall was another bathroom with handbase, bath/shower. We ate in the restaurant for five dinners and it didn't dissapoint, the breakfasts were excellent and you would have to be really fussy not to find something that tempted you. All in all a great holiday.

Room Tip: Higher floors less noisy and great views of Taviera
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel

Address: Rua D. Paio Peres Correia, Tavira 8800-407, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tavira
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada de Tavira is set in the 16th-century St. Augustine’s Convent and is just a few minutes walk from the Roman Bridge over Gilao River. All of the rooms in this central Tavira hotel overlook the courtyard or the hotel’s pool garden, while some have balcony. Each has a private en-suite bathroom with tub and hairdryer. Guests can relax under shady umbrellas on the poolside sun loungers. A daily breakfast buffet is offered in the dining room or in the courtyard outdoors. The restaurant serves delectable local and international cuisine for lunch and dinner. Ilha de Tavira’s white beaches are situated just 15 minutes’ drive from the Pousada. Excellent golf opportunity is offered by Benamor Golfe Course, 7 km away. Plenty of restaurants are found near to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Convento Da Graca Tavira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.