We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tavira a great place to visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel to your Saves list
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua D. Paio Peres Correia, Tavira 8800-407, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Tavira
North Devon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tavira a great place to visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had been to Tavira many time but this was our first time at this Pousada.
The staff were all most helpful and the restaurant was excellent lots of choice.
Surrounds were well maintained although,our room were rather tired, windows needed re-varnishing, velcro cupboard door/curtain was always falling down, also for some reason our suite lounge didn't have a tv the leads were there! we forgot to mention it at the reception as we did have a tv in the bedroom!
yes we would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    76
    23
    10
    2
See reviews for
37
156
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North East England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Have just got back from our first stay in Tavira and at the Pousada de Tavira. A lovely historical building, great staff who were happy to assist you at all times - a special mention for Bernardo - a young waiter who was naturally friendly and helpful. We had requested a quiet room and got exactly that (Room 1). The pool was a decent size although we preferred to get the ferry across to the beach most days - I have to agree with another reviewer though; for all there were plenty of sunloungers they weren't very comfortable. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis as we prefer to eat out at night (can reccomend O'Patio); the breakfasts had all you wanted and it was lovely to sit out in the courtyard. The hotel is positioned within easy walking distance to the main town square and restaurants without being in amongst the hustle and bustle. All in all a great hotel, we hope to return to in the future.

Room Tip: Room 1 was above the main entrance but we had no noise whatsoever. It had a juliette balcony looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had a wonderfully relaxing five-day stay at the Pousada de Tavira. It's a beautiful building and the pool was absolutley gorgeous (especially as the temparatures hit 30 degrees when we were there!) though the sun beds weren't all that comfortable and the pool did get busy in the late afternoons.

Breakfasts were good and offered a selection of options (though they didn't vary at all - so were getting a bit boring by day five!) and the orange juice wasn't fresh which was a bit of a disappointment. But probably the best thing was the staff who were all really professional, helpful and attentive throughout our stay.

The only real down point was wifi access which was very slow and very variable - due to the thickness of the walls apparently! - but what compunded the problem was that you could only get vouchers from reception for 30 minutes free usage so it was frustrating to have to enter and re-enter codes and passwords.

Room Tip: It's worth getting a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed for a week at the pousada in a standard room. First impressions were good, with friendly staff letting us check into our room early. Staff were able to provide good restaurant recommendations (Brisa do rio, o patio and bica - we tried all and all served good Portuguese food) and advice on trips and a map of the town. Poolside area is very nice, plenty of loungers and parasols, although it could become crowded later in the afternoon. We felt overall though that the pousada was not fulfilling its potential - it is possible to have drinks by the pool and lunch, but trying to find a member of staff to provide the right menu (there is a light snacks and poolside menu if you search long enough) and actually provide service was very difficult, especially at lunchtime, when some days no staff could be found without having to go and ask at reception. There were lots of staff at the pousada, but they always seemed to vanish when you wanted to find one. There seemed to be missing a commercial and service side to the hotel that you would get if you have stayed in hotels in Asia.

Overall positives:
Clean, modern bedrooms
Good central location
Quiet and relaxing pool area
Friendly and helpful staff (when they could be found)

Tavira overall was a lovely town for a week visit, some good bars and restaurants, friendly locals and short transfer from Faro airport. We would recommend the pousada if you were looking for a more boutique type hotel.

Room Tip: The suites had terraces and appeared to have a lot more space - book one if they are available! (we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here in a suite room 14 - we could not fault the room or the outside terrace although the view across the river was not as spectacular as we had imagined. The staff were friendly and attentive when needed. The swimming pool was great it was nice to take a cool swim in the afternoon. Our only disappointment was the meal on the first night - we felt the food was not up to the standard we expected for the price. The saving grace was the wide selection presented for breakfast both hot and cold.

Overall it was a great stay and probably if we returned we would skip the meal in the restaurant and discover more of the local ones in the town.

This place comes recommended for it's tranquil location and historic background.

Room Tip: Room 14 was great if you want to spoil yourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We are just back from a 7 night stay in this Pousadas' Hotel.

I have stayed in many 4 and 5 star hotels and I have to say that the staff at this hotel are the best I have ever had the pleasure to come across. It would be hard to single one member out for particular recognition - they were all amazing. Nothing was too much trouble and the level of courtesy was outstanding. What a pleasant surprise!!

We had a trip to ZooMarine and I didn't have my own towels; they allowed me to take two of their pool towels. Most hotels would not let you out the door with theirs, never mind give them them willingly.

The standard of accommodation is excellent and I know I didn't have one of their best rooms. The sheets are beautiful, soft and silky.

The hotel is super clean, in every area.

The breakfast is fabulous. Beautiful fresh and well present fruit. A nice selection of hot food and plenty of sweet treats to finish. Jucies and Cava plus the usual european selection of cheese and meats. Delicious!

The only small critisims are the pool is very cold (not heated). It was warming up a little with the good weather we had, but very difficult to get into. The single beds - it would have been nicer to have a double or the two made into one. I would have used the in room bar (for water) if the prices had not been 4 or 5 times what it would have cost in the local shop. Only 30 mins free wi fi for the duration of your stay. It would be nice to have wi fi included in the room price.

These are all small things really, because on the whole I could not fault the hotel. It is top notch and I would be there tomorrow if I could do a fast turnaround! I hope to return to Tavira very soon!!

Don't hesitate to try this place if you enjoy peace and quiet, good food (there's also a fantastic restaurant A Ver Tavira very close to the castle) and a spot of luxury.

Room Tip: Rooms with a pool view would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

A simply amazing hotel in a beautiful town. We've visited a few times and had our wedding here in July 2007.

The restoration is lovely and it blends the old and new beautifully. Each room is slightly different and to 5 star standard. The food is out if this world and the staff treated us like royalty. Its so stylish you just want to move in!

We will always visit this special hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel

Address: Rua D. Paio Peres Correia, Tavira 8800-407, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada de Tavira is set in the 16th-century St. Augustine’s Convent and is just a few minutes walk from the Roman Bridge over Gilao River. All of the rooms in this central Tavira hotel overlook the courtyard or the hotel’s pool garden, while some have balcony. Each has a private en-suite bathroom with tub and hairdryer. Guests can relax under shady umbrellas on the poolside sun loungers. A daily breakfast buffet is offered in the dining room or in the courtyard outdoors. The restaurant serves delectable local and international cuisine for lunch and dinner. Ilha de Tavira’s white beaches are situated just 15 minutes’ drive from the Pousada. Excellent golf opportunity is offered by Benamor Golfe Course, 7 km away. Plenty of restaurants are found near to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Convento Da Graca Tavira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.