We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel to your Saves list
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua D. Paio Peres Correia, Tavira 8800-407, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in August. We wished we had booked to stay longer. It is an amazing place - its perfect setting is complemented by their professional staff.
Surprisingly - in contradiction to the previous review, my only complaint related to the rooms being too cold. We left the air conditioning off and the door open so that we could heat up the room. Maybe it comes down to parts of the building or individual body temperatures. Either way, it wouldn't stop me from recommending it as a perfect get-away and we would definitely love to go back.
The hotel is located in a beautiful part of the town. It's peacefully quiet all day , which is especially fantastic by the pool. The food is fantastic - particularly the breakfast buffet. The free massage we got with our booking offer really topped of the relaxing experience.
Overall, it was a truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear Guest,
We are so pleased to know you have had an unforgettable and peaceful stay.
Thank you for posting this wonderful review, for your recommendation and for the nice comments on the ambiance, the food and the staff performance.
We would also like to thank you for your feedback - we don’t know what could possibly make the room too cold, but we will be attentive to variations on the rooms’ temperature.
We are glad the massage included in your pack complemented the already relaxing experience.
Whenever you wish to revisit Tavira, we would be delighted to welcome you again,
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    95
    24
    11
    2
See reviews for
45
202
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Riding of Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed here 2 full weeks end of June early July. Lovely quiet hotel,much bigger than the pictures show. Lovely staff, great breakfast and restaurant. We enjoyed the pool and the beaches on the Ilha de Tavira.
What a fine place Tavira is, and this is the finest hotel with great staff, in reception and the restaurant.
Thank you

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Dear Guest,
It was with great pleasure that we read your review and we are delighted to know how much you have enjoyed your stay and Tavira.
The members of the staff work everyday to provide the best service and truly thank you for your nice comments.
We can’t thank you enough for your wonderful review and we hope to welcome you again,
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castel of Ourém, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I did not pay. I was treated by a friend to a stay in this historic hotel, a former convent, in the old center of Tavira. It is certainly wonderful to look at, and the conversion to a high-end hotel was very successful, except for one glaring thing: its woefully inadequate air-conditioning system.

The extremely genial staff could not have been more polite and genuinely friendly. But by the time the bell boy got my single suitcase to the room (the Brother John Suite) he was dripping in perspiration, as was I. My accommodation was exceptionally beautiful, a suite of rooms comprising a generous entrance hall, vestibule, good sized sitting room, two bathrooms, and a bedroom with two exposures. Unfortunately I missed out on the view. All the curtains needed to be drawn to keep out the blazing sun, so the entire time I was in that room I was in the dark with recourse only to electric light. I immediately reported to reception that a lamp in the bedroom that provided most of the light was not functioning. Despite assurances to the contrary nothing was done about the lamp. But that was nothing compared to the discomfort of the room temperature.

I had the controls set at the lowest possible setting. It was necessary for me to go out and purchase a fan. I positioned it on the bed only a foot from my face at high speed in order to fall asleep that night. I spent most of my time during the day in the hotel pool that is slightly warmer than it should be to be refreshing, but still cooler than the room, which I returned to only to sleep. It is a shame, because the suite was really very beautiful. The Algarve of Portugal is a very hot place in summer, and the architects of this particular Pousada conversion really failed to provide temperature options for those who are very uncomfortable in the heat. I will never go back under present circumstances, and would certainly not recommend it to others.

Room Tip: When the air-conditioning is not adequate, there is no good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking to time to share your experience at Pousada de Tavira.
We apologize for the discomforts felt during your stay and we are very sorry for not being able to fully meet your expectations.
It is a fact that during Summer, the temperatures in Algarve are quite high and the need for a good cooling system is essencial, even in an old Convent.
Unfortunately, the origin of the problem with the A/C wasn’t detected on time during your stay. It was a technical issue with one of the chillers and the fixing wasn’t as fast as it was expected.
We appreciate your nice comments on the restoration works and the suite. The staff is delighted to know how much you have valued their performance.
Did you know the plans for the restoration were changed to include archaeological traces of Islamic origin that were found during the works and that they are now partially visible from the bar?
Despite the inconveniences, we hope you can choose again Pousadas de Portugal,
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Great hotel. Have stayed here twice. Lovely building. Great rooms. Air con coped well with August heat. Nice pool. Fabulous location.

Criticisms? Food: great breakfast, otherwise eat elsewhere. Poor chef, especially if you try the tasteless and banal veggie dishes.

No gym - there is room for one, and at the price there should be one.

Overall, though, fantastic and will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce management at Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Dear Guest,
We are pleased to know you have had a pleasant stay and we are glad you are a fan of Tavira and its Pousada.
Thank you so much for the thoughtful comments on the building, the rooms, the swimming pool and also for your feedback.
We apologize for not being able to meet your expectations with the vegetarian dish.
The Pousadas’ Restaurants focus on regional dishes but tries also to please all kinds of tastes with Signature and Vegetarian dishes. We inform that there are 5 Vegetarian dishes available at the Pousada. The chef appreciates your opinion and will take it into consideration, in order to improve.
We have informed the Regional Manager with your suggestion for a gym, which will be analyzed in future works.
It is always a pleasure to receive guests for more than one stay. We are delighted to have been able to do so with you and we hope to welcome you again,
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Very nice property, excellent food. One minus: the airconditioning does not work optimal in the rooms in the old building. Americans are used to colder rooms.
The front desk informed us about a special deal for 55+ guests, actually for all the pousadas. Please inquire if you fall in that group. We will be back.....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Pousadas de Portugal.
We are glad you have had a pleasant stay and we appreciate your nice comments on the general aspects of the Pousada, the ambiance and the food.
We apologize for the inconvenience the air-conditioning may have caused and inform that the issue is being solved at the moment.
If wanting to know more information about the Golden Age Promotion (55+ guests), one can visit our website, either in Portuguese, English, Spanish, French or German.
We would be delighted to welcome you again. Until then,
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

After a less than satisfactory experience at the Pousada Sagres , we decided to give this Pousada a chance.
The Plus Points:
In the centre of Tavira , but an Oasis of calm
Great swimming pool
Historic suroundings , wonderful cloisters
Good choice of breakfast
Helpful & happy staff

Minus points
Basic rooms are small & require Aircon if warm outside at night ( Try for a cheap upgrade to a suite)
Linen changed only every other day
Evening meal not quite 4*
Expensive if not booked on a special offer
Drinks are very pricey

Overall , if one is into staying in older hisoric properties , this one is a good choice
however Buy your own water & store it in theminibar

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post this thoughtful review and for your nice comments on the location, swimming pool, historical ambiance, breakfast service and, especially, the staff performance.
We are very sorry Pousadas de Sagres and Tavira haven’t met your expectations.
It is unfortunate your evening meal didn’t match the Pousadas standard.
The Carte elaborated tries to please every kind of taste but we welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better.
Due to being a restoration from an ancient building, it was not possible to standardize all rooms but an upgrade to a Superior Room or Suite can be made, could the size be an issue.
Every Restaurant of Pousadas de Portugal works to offer guests moments of true pleasure.
The rooms in Pousada de Tavira have daily made service and the linen is changed every two days. The linens can be changed everyday if requested, just as it is stated on the information provided in the room.
Algarve has very warm climate during the Summer months and Air-condition is necessary to accomplish a good atmosphere in the room.
We appreciate your feedback on the rooms, meals, drinks and prices, which will be taken into consideration.
We look forward to welcome you again at Pousadas de Portugal,
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We organised a seminar for 30+ people in the Pousada de Tavira end of June 2011 and we simply loved it. The staff was extremly friendly and supportive, helped with every single request in no time and made everybody feel welcome. The rooms are spacious, our quite complicated room allocation was handled smoothly and we didn't have any complaints from any of the guests. The service in the restaurant was great, the food delicious and all extra wishes for vegetarians etc. were respected.
The staff and especially the manager in charge of the 4 Pousadas at the Algarve, helped setting up the meeting facilities, took care of everything and made everyhting happen the way we wanted it.
The only, but really the only thing not perfect is the accoustic in the big meeting room, but even this we could sort out by moving to another room;
So if anyone is looking for a special location to have a business event to remember, this is the place to go!
A special thanks to Natalia the manager and her team!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to know you enjoyed the services provided by Pousada de Tavira.
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments on the staff, the rooms and the restaurant.
Most Pousadas are result of the restoration of ancient buildings and, though it makes them unique places, it can also mean some acoustic issues on some areas but we are glad the inconvenience was solved and everything worked out as expected.
There are 3 Pousadas in Algarve: Pousada de Tavira, Pousada de Faro and Pousada de Sagres. In the Summer, Algarve is a great place to visit due to its very warm weather.
In the name of all the staff we thank you for your recommendation on our Meeting facilities and services and we look forward to welcome you again soon,
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavira
1.9 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#5 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#6 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 stars 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Herdade da Corte
Herdade da Corte
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#4 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porta Nova
Hotel Porta Nova
#11 of 15 in Tavira
3.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel

Address: Rua D. Paio Peres Correia, Tavira 8800-407, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada de Tavira is set in the 16th-century St. Augustine’s Convent and is just a few minutes walk from the Roman Bridge over Gilao River. All of the rooms in this central Tavira hotel overlook the courtyard or the hotel’s pool garden, while some have balcony. Each has a private en-suite bathroom with tub and hairdryer. Guests can relax under shady umbrellas on the poolside sun loungers. A daily breakfast buffet is offered in the dining room or in the courtyard outdoors. The restaurant serves delectable local and international cuisine for lunch and dinner. Ilha de Tavira’s white beaches are situated just 15 minutes’ drive from the Pousada. Excellent golf opportunity is offered by Benamor Golfe Course, 7 km away. Plenty of restaurants are found near to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Booking.com so you can book your Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Convento Da Graca Tavira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.