We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Porta Nova

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Porta Nova to your Saves list
Hotel Porta Nova
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Antonio Pinheiro, Tavira 8800-323 , Portugal (Formerly BlueBay Porta Nova)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Tavira
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Cheap hotel, but great value for the maoney anyway. Clean room with daily maintenance and great view over the city and the sea. The panorama bar is great and the waiter is very service minded. Don't buy their breakfast or their private parking.
Wifi worked on and off during the week and only in the reception area.
Near the city with fine restaurants.

Room Tip: Demand seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    181
    133
    46
    37
See reviews for
71
226
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Been to the Porta Nova on numerous occasions now , and its great to see some improvements have , and are still being made , new carpets , hair driers , general things which are now up-graded , the outside pool also being refurbished , ready for the coming season , I expect , still rotten tv , if you are a Brit , It's nice to relax for an hour or so late afternoon , limited internet ( free) around the reception area , if using your own devices . I only stay B&B there , but all inclusive now offered , which takes away trade from the local establishments , I feel . Rooms are clean , and the staff friendly , entertainment 3 nights , above average , look forward to my next visit

Room Tip: even numbers pool and town view , with the morning sunshine odd room numbers , afternoon/evening s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobro, Denmark
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

4 star - hotel; no way. I jugde max. 2 - 2½ star
the hotel needs urgent renovation; staf in dining area were without any mood, no smile and no accommodating.
food quality: lowest catering quality. Every morning absolutely the same dry cheese, same boring ham, same bread, etc. No positive surprise.
one evening the even brought leftovers (cake) from yesterdays serving.
It seems to be a kitchen being able to peel a orange an kiwi only.
The staff was alway late to fill up the dishes.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle Of Wight
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed 2-weeks in Jan/Feb. Tavira is terrific. Hotel in good position - rooftop bar is excellent but very cold. However, Probably the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Food was terrible - quality and presentation. Meat was often inedible. Vegetables are all frozen - then warmed up. This from a hotel in a country that has the most wonderful array of fresh vegetables - just look i9n the markets. Everything is obviously pared down in terms of cost. Beds are small and VERY uncomfortable. Room TV is a small portable model that would find its way into a charity shop in UK! Only two English speaking channels available - CNN and Al Jazeera. Would rate hotel as 2*+ at most - not the 4* it professes to be. Strange, as all guests seemed to be Brits! Could go on and on - but I think I have given my impressions! Travelled with Mercury Direct and complained to them via their website - three times - but no response. Left message for rep - but no response. This hotel did Mercury Direct no favours at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Tavira is a lovely place and the hotel is only a short uphill walk from the town centre. We stayed here for a week from February 17th as part of a Ramblers walking group who always use this hotel.
It has some good points: the rooms are large, the water is always hot, the sheets are clean and breakfast was generally good with plenty of choice.
This is a noisy hotel (see all the other comments) and must be even noisier in the high season. Room doors, wardrobe doors, drawers are all virtually impossible to close quietly and other guests sometimes contribute to the general racket so I used ear plugs.
It is not a 4 star hotel. Beds are rock hard so may suit you if you have a back condition requiring such a feature. On the other hand, you could end up aching all over!
The hotel seems to be operating with a skeleton staff so standards may have gradually slipped.
I suggest you take a 'universal bath plug'. We had a new plug to our bath but it didn't fit.
We didn't use the pools but they looked very attractive.
If you don't want to spend money on a room safe there is a safe at reception where you can leave your passports etc but you will have to ask to do so.
The rooftop bar has amazing views but is very expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for 3 weeks Jan/Feb 2013. Changed rooms once but still noise problems. One side of hotel is opposite a bar which closes at 2 in the morning! The other side has the generator 24/7. Lots of short stays....bird watchers ... walkers..... golfers so early starts and late arrivals most days. Nobody uses handles to shut the doors and continous loud.. late...banging! along with the voices!!!
A polite notice asking guests to be a bit more considerate would be good...perhaps posted in each corridor and in the lifts????? Rooms OK..... clean but a bit tired for a 4 star hotel. Food good ....always 3 or more choices of main course.....fresh fruit every day.
Most staff friendly ....and willing to help.
Good place for exploring the town.....local train worth using. ( If you are over 60 show your passport and get half price fares)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We landed up staying here after our intitial hotel cancelled due to renovations being undertaken. It is an ok place to stay but definately not 4 star as billed. We specified a double room and landed up with 2 single beds but as the hotel staff barely spoke English we decided to not argue. However I wish we had as our room was right under the bar and by the stairwell and we were treated to 6 nights of noise, screams, people running drunk down the corridors which was delightful! The room itself was tired looking and in need of repairs but fit for purpose. The buffet breakfast was good with a wide variety to chose which was nice. Its a nice place to stay as its close to the centre of town but you need to accept its closer to 2 star than 4.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not near the stairwell or under the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Porta Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta Nova

Address: Rua Antonio Pinheiro, Tavira 8800-323 , Portugal (Formerly BlueBay Porta Nova)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porta Nova 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Porta Nova, located on the hillside of a quiet hill in Tavira, southeast of Algarve, is perfectly integrated into the environment. It has 134 rooms and 3 Junior Suites, all with large windows from which to enjoy spectacular panoramic views of the mountains and monuments. Thanks to its particular location at the highest point of Tavira, the hotel offers magnificent views of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Porta Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Nova Hotel
Porta Nova Tavira
Hotel Porta Nova Tavira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Porta Nova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.