We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gastronomy and shaving in one!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ex Libris Gourmet

Ex Libris Gourmet
Rua 5 de Outubro 10 e 12, Tavira 8800-327, Portugal
281094130
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 Shopping in Tavira
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated in Tavira historical town, next to the "Roman Bridge". A Beautiful 19th century building associated to the traditional local trade. Tiago and Sandra´s Ex Libris Gourmet Shop is charming, pleasant and delightfully refined.Recreating the old fashioned, high quality and traditional Portuguese food products. The best international gourmet products. Opening on December 8 2008, a couple from Lisbon returned to their hometown. Making a difference in quality of it´s products and creating an ambience whit its original and carefully planed presentation and layout. Coffe & Chocolate, Tea & Biscuits, Spices & Seasonings, Pasta & Rissotos, Pate´s and Foie Gras, Wine, Cheeses & Portugueses Sausages, Liquors. Mineral Water from all over the world amongst many other fine foods
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Gastronomy and shaving in one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

A great little place, well worth a visit. They have superb local delicacies to buy and bring home, plus an exhibition of shaving and you can buy wonderful cologne etc.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best of the best in a beautiful city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was one of the best finds during our time in Portugal. It is a lovely shop and the owner is passionate about giving customers a taste of the best his country has to offer. We went back three times because it really was one of the nicest and most authentic shops we found in Portugal. Tiago is knowledgeable and friendly and loves to tell people about the products in the store. We don't like touristy knick knacks and this was definitely the place for us!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excelent service and products!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I highly recommend this place, it's sweets, wines, actually all the products are awesome and with great quality.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Found this very nice shop some three years ago, it was then that we also found the small shot of Gingha. It was nice to see it is still here and that you can still get this little treat, we got some of the small chocolate cups to bring home, Tiago even boxed them up so they did not get broken on our way home in the suit case.
The reason we we got them is so that JandL_12 report below, can have them as they are my Daughter and Son in law and they love them.
Try this shop if you want that little something that is different from the norm.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best shop in Tavira!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We went to ex libris every evening after our dinner for three reasons - one to look at all the unusual food and drinks on offer, often in quirky boxes, bottles or packaging (great for non-tacky holiday gifts), secondly to chat with the lovely owners, usually Tiago, who was always smiling and exceptionally knowledgeable about all the products he had sourced, and thirdly, and not immediately obviously available, but for the late night digestive of a gingha (cherry liquor drink) in a small dark chocolate cup. You will need to ask for it. You must go and try it (cost of €1.50 a shot) - we thought it was fabulous and our nightly tavira holiday highlight, followed by a espresso in bar alagoa in the little square round the corner.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ex Libris Gourmet also viewed

Tavira, Faro District
Tavira, Faro District
 

Been to Ex Libris Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ex Libris Gourmet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.