We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time at hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Tavira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Gale Tavira to your Saves list
Vila Gale Tavira
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua 4 de Outubro, Tavira 8800-362, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Third time at hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We were booked into our room on arrival ,lovely sunny room 3rd floor (3040),would like this room again.Receptionist named Aida was very helpful indeed and also throught our stay also, she explained all the breakfast and meal times and the facilities of the hotel.Was dissapointed that no water or fruit in room on arrival ,unless you used the water that was in fridge which was 3 EUROS.also cake in fridge in white box which again we did not use and was still in fridge the day we left (not very fresh)Rooms could do with a full length mirror.pillows need to be firmer ,cleaning was not done in most cases till after 2pm which is rather late ,would suggest beds and rooms are made up by 11.30 to 12o'clock.Hotel was very central for bus/rail stations.
The service in the restaurant could have been better ,tables at breakfast not always set and food was not being checked to see if it needed replenished,at dinner it was the same food not hot also choice of sweets you had to ask for replenishment ,having to wait 15minutes for butter and 20mins for ice cream ,the day a management person was around no problems ,the waiting staff did not appear to work together like team work.Would stay again as we like the area.

Room Tip: The rooms on 2nd or 3rd floor very sunny ,opposite the restaurant side ,worth paying the extra suppl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest
We thank you for you’re visit to our hotel.
We believe that you’re appreciation is important to us.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    321
    142
    32
    8
See reviews for
127
332
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I think this hotel is dishonest.
They will charge you insane much for anything without letting you know it actually costs.
For example: Water in room is not free. no visible price tag for normal drinking water, but they do charge you 3€ for plain water. It's not ok.
Internet costs 5€ a day in rooms.
Beds are quite hard

Room Tip: Quity noisy when close to lobby because of the stonefloor. Its poorly sound isolated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest
We thank you for you’re visit to our hotel.
We believe that you’re appreciation is important to us.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Nice hotel in a good location, we stayed B&B and the breakfasts were very good lots of choices , try the tomato marmalade, different, lovely with croissants. Bar prices expensive unless you have a bottle of house wine. Rooms could do with a full length mirror, essential for us ladies and gents of course!. Don't understand the logic of free wifi in the public areas and the use of a computer free in reception but have to pay to use wifi in your room , needless to say everyone was using their own devices in the public areas.
There was also a lack of information leaflets to pck up about the area, places to go and things to see etc.
Overall a very nice stay the staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad for the pleasure time you had with us.
We wait for you on next trip to Algarve.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Yes this was our third time to this hotel, we normally stay in July but as we went to Albufiera this July we stayed here in October for a change.
We only had a week this time and had a room just a few doors away from the one we had last time we were here.
What we noticed at this time of year was that a lot more English were here, not that there is any thing wrong in that, there was a lot of golfers as well as the older Saga lot.
Last July 2012 when we were there they were replacing all the mattress's to the beds but they seem to have put even harder ones than the old ones, this does not make for a good nights sleep.
The rest of the hotel seems the same it may be a bit dull now but it is always clean, fresh towels and plenty of hot water for a shower.
Pool area is always nice, plenty of sunbeds and you can always get one even if you come back later in the day.
We will be going back here next summer as it has all the thing we like and is a short walk to the town and some of the best restaurants in the Algarve.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad for the pleasure time you had with us.
We wait for you on next trip to Algarve.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here from 8-15th October, bed and breakfast with Jet2.com. Overall impression was a standard 3star hotel in a great location. The room 2085 was adequate, clean but a bit tired. The furnishings were gloomy and poor quality, making the room very dark. The curtains were dirty and covered in dark spots. The bedding was clean and comfortable but the beds very hard.
However, we both slept well after lots of walking and fresh air. The air conditioning was efficient, quiet and easy to use.
There was a strange arrangement of two large lanterns which we had to control by bending under the unit to turn on and off. The bedside lights are too bright and would benefit from a dimmer switch. The bathroom was large and clean, but not sure if the extractor fan worked. The shower was adequate but dated and fiddly to use.
Plenty of wardrobe space and hangers, also a useful little fridge, containing bottled water but much cheaper to buy in supermarket. Our room looked out on the salt pans and roundabout, but very little traffic noise.
Breakfast was lovely, but could be quite hectic. The staff worked hard to clear tables and replenish food. The young lady frying eggs and making pancakes was always busy but cheerful.
The fruit juices need improving, especially the strange glowing apple juice. Small teapots would make tea hotter and safer to carry. There was plenty to choose from, cooked and continental varieties.
Tavira is very pretty on both sides of the river, with plenty to do and see. There are many cafes, bars and restaurants to choose from. We enjoyed the camera obscura and the road train which departs from the hotel. We found the reception staff knowledgeable and helpful, but sometimes very slow, hindered by forms and slow computers.
The weather was hot and sunny; the only downside being the flies and mosquitoes in the evenings. Take plenty of repellent but we had no problem indoors.
The hotel caters for Saga guests, golfing and cycling parties. The pool looked clean and well-maintained but a little cool for us. There is also in indoor pool.
Overall we thought it was a lovely, quiet unspoilt town with good rail transport links to Faro and the border town of Vila real de St Antonio.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest
We appreciate you’re review.
We will analyse you’re suggestions.

Kind regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The best feature of the hotel is its location in the centre of an attractive and largely unspoilt little town and close to the riverside bars and restaurants. It's only a short walk to the salt marshes with an abundance of wildlife and a longer walk (or short taxi ride) to the ferry to Ilha Tavira and its magnificent beach. There is a ferry to the island close to the hotel in main season only.

The hotel itself is looking tired and in need of some refurbishment. Our 3rd floor room had a pool view (for which we paid extra) but the requested double bed was actually two singles pushed together and with a tendency to drift apart!. The room had a small balcony but lacked some amenities: no comfy chair, no tea/coffee making facilities and a very poor selection of English language TV channels especially as the majority of the guests were from the UK. The bathroom was small with a weak over-bath shower.

We stayed for one week in mid-October on an all inclusive package. However, the inclusivity did not extend to in-room wifi (€15) or water from the mini-bar (€3). Food in the buffet restaurant was generally good, especially breakfast, although there was little difference between the lunch and evening buffets and there was not much variety. We had an a la carte meal on one evening and the food was much better. Overall though the all inclusive package gave excellent value. The restaurant staff were always friendly and helpful.

The outdoor pool was quite large but very cold and was not much used despite the good weather. Sunbeds were very close together and though this was not a problem as the hotel was not full I would expect it to be overcrowded in peak season.

Reception staff were pleasant and efficient but not very good at volunteering information about the hotel. For example, we discovered that the hotel ran a free shuttle bus to its sister hotel (Vila Gale Albacora) but were never informed of this.

Overall we were very impressed with Tavira and would like to return but I am not certain that we would choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view, and on the east side to benefit from evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest
We appreciate you’re review.
We will analyse you’re suggestions.

Kind regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hotel itself was very austere and cold, typical hotel really. The beds werent very comfortable and the pool was freezing, the only plus side was that it was right in the town and you could easily walk around and see alot

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you you’re comments.
Our commitment is improving day by day.

We wait for you on next trip to Algarve.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavira
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#5 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Porta Nova
Hotel Porta Nova
#11 of 15 in Tavira
3.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
1.1 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#4 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 stars 406 reviews
5.9 mi away
Herdade da Corte
Herdade da Corte
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Tavira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Tavira

Address: Rua 4 de Outubro, Tavira 8800-362, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tavira
#2 Spa Hotel in Tavira
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Tavira 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical city of Tavira between this picturesque old town and Ria Fromosa. Here, guests will discover a good selection of shopping and entertainment venues. The fine sandy of the dune island, Ilha de Tavira, is easily reached by ferry and the hotel bus travels to the airport several times a day. The large, excellent golf courses of Quinta da Ria and Quinta da Cima are only 11 km away. Public transport departs from stops located directly in front of the hotel; Faro airport is approximately 30 km away. Built in 2002, this popular hotel offers a total of 268 rooms spread over 3 floors, of which 22 connecting rooms and 6 junior suites suitable for families. Amongst the facilities you will find a stylish reception area with 24-hour service and lifts, free Wi-Fi Internet connection in public areas, a currency exchange desk, a game room and a Kids Club. The hotel is equipped with wheelchair access ways and an air-conditioning. You may take advantage of a restaurant with non-smoking areas and highchairs for infants, two hotel bars, a gaming room, a garden and outdoor areas such as the playground for kids. For and additional cost you may use the hotel safe, the laundry service or the garage. All the rooms have been tastefully furnished and offer air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. There is an outdoor swimming pool with sun loungers and parasols all around and a garden area. The hotel is equipped with a Health Club which is composed with indoor heated pool, a Jacuzzi, a steam room and a gym. There is also the possibility for our guests to have massages and beauty treatments. Guests may select their breakfast, lunch and dinner from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner may be chosen a la carte. Special dietary requirements, as well as individual-specific menus, may be catered to and it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Venere, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vila Gale Tavira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Tavira Hotel Tavira
Vila Gale Hotel Tavira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Tavira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.