We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“adventure cycling in Portugal” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Tavira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Gale Tavira to your Saves list
Vila Gale Tavira
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua 4 de Outubro, Tavira 8800-362, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Tavira
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“adventure cycling in Portugal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

2 couples on a 14 day adventure cycling trip (600 kl) meaning we cycle from location to location with the local operator moving our luggage forward each day. All but 1 of the 12 hotels we used were perfect. Each had their own characteristics, from ocean view, to B&B, to small ranches, to small independents and were wonderful experiences...the one negative stand out was Vila Gale. The local operator reserved our 2 rooms (x 6 room nights in total) as "city view" and instead we received a view of the gas station/parking lot and highway bridge (east side of the hotel). When politely asking for a change, we were shown a smelly room on the first floor as the alternative, yes smelly, I have a witness. Typical response of being sold out, but of course, I did audit the "city view" rooms through the evening and it appeared a few rooms were not occupied. Having felt like 2nd class citizens, we then had to experience putting a deposit down for pool towels and not being allowed to charge our drinks to our rooms (customary during check-in to explain the policy of cc imprint in order to charge to the room, but this was not explained, so we under went the embarrassment of paying cash). We had to return to this hotel in the cycling loop so after speaking with our ground operator about our experience, we returned to a room that was on the west side (marsh and factory), still unacceptable. City view is the north (or front) of the hotel. Besides this the room had cracked floor tiles and grungy grout in the shower/tub area. This hotel practices un-hospitality everywhere they can and I would never recommend for any type of travel including personal, business and meeting planners.

Room Tip: Ask for front of the hotel which is REALLY the view of the city, the hotels on the east side are als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Ms. Janice and friends,

We thank you your review and your visit to our hotel.
We apologise for any inconvenience you had at the arrival day.

For sure you have other reasons to back to Tavira.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    273
    130
    31
    8
See reviews for
106
303
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

All my wife and I wanted was a week of sunshine in a reasonable hotel; that`s exactly what we got. The weather was perfect between the 3rd and 10th. of October. We only booked B & B; we knew that local cuisine was plentiful and not too far away. Like PC and GD, we were surprised at the lack of facilities in the bedroom; but apart from that niggle, absolutely no problem with the accommodation.
If you like the evening sunshine on your balcony, ask for a room overlooking the pool, on the opposite side to the restaurant wing; we didn`t and were very envious of those rooms across the pool from us.
The buffet breakfast was perfectly adequate; all the usual choices etc, but such a dismal dining room. Why were we discouraged from eating at tables on the paved area around the pool, so much more pleasant to eat in the sunshine; suspect a shortage of staff numbers to clear tables might be the answer.

The pool area: an excellent pool, but a bit chilly!.
I`ve never seen so many sun loungers packed so close together around a pool, absolutely no room to "climb" on to one. Couldn`t complain about the availability, but so so difficult to sit on (elegantly!!); full praise however to the management for the quantity of parasols available.
I think we made the correct choice in only booking B & B; the hotel is well situated for enjoying the sites and restaurants of Tavira, all within reasonable walking distance and all competitively priced, although with similar menus.
I feel that the hotel is used for, mainly, short stays, I think that a week is probably long enough; lots of groups of golfers: bowlers ( m & f): cyclists.
Would we go back - no, but that is no reflection on the hotel

Room Tip: If you like evening sunshine on your balcony; request a room overlooking the pool but OPPOSITE to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad for the pleasure time you had with us.
We wait for you on next trip to Algarve.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed for 5 days and were very pleased with value to quality of hotel. Rooms very good size with clean bathroom and a very useful fridge. small balcony overlooking roofs but we did have evening sun. chose not to pay extra for balcony over pool and quite happy with what we got.

swimming pool looked nice although weather wasn't great so we didn't use it.
breakfast suited everyone - great bacon, eggs croissants, cereals etc etc. Loads to eat if not fabulous quality but kept us going all day!

Location is brilliant. 2 mins walk to ferry to islands and similar in to town at night. Able to park our hire car right next to the hotel in free parking area.

Would thoroughly recommend the hotel for a cheap base, no frills hotel.

spa was really just a small pool with jacuzzi.

Room Tip: request an evening sun balcony and you will get one. 3 rd floor was a good spot as quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you your visit and preference.
The reviews are important for us, to maintain high quality and guest satisfaction.

Kind Regards

César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel for one week this September,check in staff were quite friendly and informative about the hotel although nothing you couldn't have found out yourself.We were quite surprised to find that 4 star hotel did not have any Tea or Coffee making facilities in the rooms,and a mini bar that had 3 bottles of mineral water inside.

We took along our Ipad and asked about internet connection which we were told it was free in the lobby but to use in the room was 15 Euros for the week which we thought was not too bad until we tried it out and trying to get a connection in the room was almost impossible!!!

Breakfast although plenty of choice was a bit chaotic not the type of slowly waking up to your day that I had in mind.Cold foods such as Cheeses and Meats were fresh but the hot foods as in Scrambled egg and bacon looked like slop, not that I tasted it but looking at it was enough to put me off.

There was a disgusting smell of at first what I thought was Cats Poo...although it turned out to be sewage which lingered around the entrance to the hotel and through the open window to the Gym, which was situated next to the health spa, heaven only knows what it smelt like there if you were to enjoy a relaxing massage as the smell would have opened your pores believe me!

Rooms were cleaned daily, with fresh towels replacing the used ones but times when cleaning took place varied from day to day. Some freshening of the rooms do need to be carried out as their were cracked floor tiles in both the bathroom and in front of the patio windows showing evidence of water damage.

Generally reception was manned 24 hrs however we found some of the staff to be quite in-communicative and inattentive.

It's location in central Tavira gave access to plenty restaurants and cafe's and was very quiet and relaxing, which could not be faulted.

I fail to see how this hotel has been awarded 4 stars that it has as it's 3 at best, 2 at worst.

Would we return, currently no, but with improvements, possibly....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest
We appreciate you’re review.
We will analyse you’re suggestions.

Kind regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

So, the Vila Gale is a nice Hotel,perfectly situated in Tavira to make it easy to explore the area.Our room was spotless and we chose the balcony option.The breakfast buffet gives you an incredible choice,it has a pleasant pool area,we visited in late September so it was child free too and found all the amenities to be as you would expect.Now ,i'm afraid, comes the BUT..

Charging for a key for the room safe is unforgivable,especially in a four star Hotel.
Providing free WIFI in the public area's and charging for it in the rooms is,in my view,again,unforgivable.
Our balcony,which was stated in the booking as "city OR resort view" gave us a view of the local petrol station,I spoke to the reception staff and asked if we could change to a resort view,imagining this to be of the pool area but were told city OR resort meant the same thing,if you want a pool view you pay more..The word "OR" implies choice to me but......
The staff were efficient but I spoke to pretty much all of them during our stay and not once did I receive a smile,I'm not an unpleasant or rude person so was surprised by this and,having gone through the rigmarole of paying a 40 Euro deposit on my credit card for two pool towels,this,to me, is also, unforgivable, I asked for a receipt and was just given a flat NO..No explanation,just NO..
We did not have a double bed,I never understand this thing of giving a couple twin beds, I happen to like my partner and want to sleep with her,not just in the same room,anyhow,they were like sleeping on two slabs of concrete so no points there either I'm afraid.
Overall, as I say it's not a bad Hotel but certain things let it down,I personally think a lot of responsibility lies with the Staff, they are the face of the Hotel and it should be a more friendly and welcoming one.
Would I stay there again..No... Did I think it was 4 star...No..Would I recommend it to a friend...No

Room Tip: Get a pool view and send someone out to by a new bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest
We thank you for you’re visit to our hotel.
We believe that you’re appreciation is important to us.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Asked for a room with late afternoon sun...perfect. Pool area...perfect. Room and bathroom ...perfect. Breakfast...perfect. Most importantly, staff...perfect.
We did not use the spa but the facilites look great.
Tavira is a lovely town with great cafes and restaurants. The beaches at Tavira Island and Cabanas are outstanding.
Can't recommend the area or the hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad for the pleasure time you had with us.
We wait for you on next trip to Algarve.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Vila Gale Tavira in Portugal, the Hotel is very central and within easy reach of shops and restaurants. The Hotel is clean and tidy and the staff are very friendly with nothing too much trouble for them to help you. Buffet breakfast is good with a wide selection to suit all tastes, the bedrooms were very clean and tidy and excellent work by the staff who look after the guest bedroom, always happy and cheerful. Overall the Hotel is excellent and in a good position to use as a base, if I have any criticism it is about the expensive cost from the bar and the lunch bar menu is very bland with very limited items and again quite expensive, but all round this is a good hotel which is clean and tidy, a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest
We appreciate you’re review.
We will analyse you’re suggestions.

Kind regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Gale Tavira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Tavira

Address: Rua 4 de Outubro, Tavira 8800-362, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tavira
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tavira
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Tavira 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical city of Tavira between this picturesque old town and Ria Fromosa. Here, guests will discover a good selection of shopping and entertainment venues. The fine sandy of the dune island, Ilha de Tavira, is easily reached by ferry and the hotel bus travels to the airport several times a day. The large, excellent golf courses of Quinta da Ria and Quinta da Cima are only 11 km away. Public transport departs from stops located directly in front of the hotel; Faro airport is approximately 30 km away. Built in 2002, this popular hotel offers a total of 268 rooms spread over 3 floors, of which 22 connecting rooms and 6 junior suites suitable for families. Amongst the facilities you will find a stylish reception area with 24-hour service and lifts, free Wi-Fi Internet connection in public areas, a currency exchange desk, a game room and a Kids Club. The hotel is equipped with wheelchair access ways and an air-conditioning. You may take advantage of a restaurant with non-smoking areas and highchairs for infants, two hotel bars, a gaming room, a garden and outdoor areas such as the playground for kids. For and additional cost you may use the hotel safe, the laundry service or the garage. All the rooms have been tastefully furnished and offer air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. There is an outdoor swimming pool with sun loungers and parasols all around and a garden area. The hotel is equipped with a Health Club which is composed with indoor heated pool, a Jacuzzi, a steam room and a gym. There is also the possibility for our guests to have massages and beauty treatments. Guests may select their breakfast, lunch and dinner from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner may be chosen a la carte. Special dietary requirements, as well as individual-specific menus, may be catered to and it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vila Gale Tavira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Tavira Hotel Tavira
Vila Gale Hotel Tavira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Tavira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.