We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel of the Algarve” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Tavira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Gale Tavira to your Saves list
Vila Gale Tavira
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua 4 de Outubro, Tavira 8800-362, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Jewel of the Algarve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

From the moment my wife and I arrived at this Hotel we knew it would be a great holiday. The reception area was very open and beautifully set. The reception staff were also very welcoming, speaking excellent English. We had asked for a room at the top of the building which was the 3rd floor. The room was a spacious en-suite twin room (two singles together) with a balcony the view of which was to the front entrance of the Hotel and overlooked the town of Tavira (Great view). The room was spotlessly clean with a mini fridge which was open for use. I did have to pay 35 euros for the use of the safe in the room which is normal on holiday. The room was cleaned everyday to an meticulous standard. The breakfast buffet was excellent and well presented every morning with the staff always eager to help and respond to needs. Lots of healthy eats however I did indulge the crepes every morning with poached eggs. Cannot comment on the dinner menu as we did not partake. Lunch menu was good. Very large swimming pool available - enclosed by the Hotel building. Cleaned everyday and tested frequently for quality. Thankfully no music blaring at the pool which seems to be normal at many Hotels now. Sun beds good quality and always available. Towels supplied. Indoor pool and fitness area looks great (not used). Free wifi for the reception area however some signal in my room. There can be a bit of noise when people are leaving during the night ie doors closing baggage trolley noise.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor are less noisy it seems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    324
    142
    32
    8
See reviews for
128
333
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

outstanding four star hotel
great rooms good service - rooms were cleaned to a good standard although not done to afternoon
great location very friendly and helpful staff and very quite and relaxing
good breakfast decent choice
nice pool very relaxing not for a young crowd but perfect for a couple
good air conditioning
I have stayed all over Europe, States and Caribbean - I only stay in 4*+ - over the years and believe me this is a good 4 star hotel hopefully you may find better but this is a good standard
good air conditioning

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We are just back from Tavira . We stayed in the sister hotel "The Albocora " for a week and one night in the "Villa Gale "in Tavira . Both hotels are 4 star but the" Villa Gale" in Tavira does not warrant its rating. It is tired and faded and personally I found it depressing! The pool is quite deep and I could not relax when my 8 year old daughter was in it. The entertainment staff tried very hard to keep the kids amused and I would have to commend them. If you are looking to choose a Villa Gale hotel in this area go for the" Albocora" for a much more pleasant and enjoyable stay. The food at both was not great, breakfast was fine but main courses for the evening meal were poor and while we paid for half board we ate out most nights. Mosquitos a problem at both hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The staff were truly outstanding during our stay here. Nothing was too much trouble and any request was dealt with immediately. The rooms were comfortable and a good size. It was possible to hear noise from adjoining rooms but it was not a problem to us. There were some minor maintenance and cleaning issues in the bathroom.
The buffet breakfast was excellent with a very wide selection of food. We chose to eat dinner in town where there are many interesting and reasonable small restaurants. By comparison the hotel buffet dinner was relatively expensive.
Overall a very good hotel in a good location near the town and adjacent to the beach ferry. We would happily return there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I hate to rate down others. So, breakfast was quite good and various. Unfortunately tables and dishes not clean. Rooms minimalistic. Insulation: You can hear what people think, when they pass your room door. You can tell by noise which car brand is passing your window. The water pipe in the bath sounds like a lear jet. Some lights don't work. You pay extra to use your room safe. Room was not cleaned until 5 pm, when you want to use it yourself. Sun beds at the pool smell from bird dung. Gym opens at 10am, when it gets real hot. No gym in the cool morning.
Every information we got from the desk was wrong. We lost time and money relaying on those. Friendly people, but not much efficiency. It was the most expensive hotel on our 10 days trip through the country, and the less satisfying. You get no value, no lovely details, no parking lot. Our resumè: it's a three star hotel which best days are over. Should cost half as much. That would be fair.

Room Tip: Surrounded by 4 roads. You can choose a room towards the inner yard, where the pool is - and childre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The bar & pool area were very noisy and the rooms could be better, The bathroom was not cleaned daily, there was no power outlet by the dressing mirror and the one on the wall was loose. The beds are hard and the double room just has 2 single beds pushed together
Having said that, the staff are friendly although they had limited knowledge of local services. The buffet breakfasts had everything you could possibly want. The hotel is in easy walking distance of the river front

Room Tip: Possibly the end of a corridor where children are not running up and down
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Before visiting Vila Gale we read some comments about it being more suitable for older guests and lots of "Saga" visitors. The hotel does have Saga visitors but when we went it was very busy with mostly families and young children and very noisy generally. Our complaint is that the evenings in the bar and pool area are very noisy. Three nights a week the children's "fun club" has their entertainment in the bar and if you go out to the pool area, there is a "DJ" with very noisy music blaring out. Therefore, if you want a quieter drink, your only option is to sit in the foyer area, which is okay but at the end of the day, you are still in Reception! Drinks expensive also. My Pina Colada was poured into a glass from a sort of large plastic container - ready mixed - and not good at 6.50 euros....Entertainment in general was a bit corny. The hotel needs to take care of the needs of ALL its visitors with a separate area for children's entertainment and an area for adults who do not wish to be deafened! Breakfast buffet was excellent - masses of choice and hard-working efficient staff keeping everything topped up. Beds were a bit uncomfortable and double rooms had 2 singles pushed together - not acceptable in a 4 star hotel. Room cleaning a bit hit and miss and not of a high standard.

Room Tip: The opposite side to the Pool overlooks a road and the service entrance is directly below. Therefor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavira
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#5 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Porta Nova
Hotel Porta Nova
#11 of 15 in Tavira
3.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
1.1 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#4 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
5.9 mi away
Herdade da Corte
Herdade da Corte
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Tavira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Tavira

Address: Rua 4 de Outubro, Tavira 8800-362, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tavira
#2 Spa Hotel in Tavira
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Tavira 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical city of Tavira between this picturesque old town and Ria Fromosa. Here, guests will discover a good selection of shopping and entertainment venues. The fine sandy of the dune island, Ilha de Tavira, is easily reached by ferry and the hotel bus travels to the airport several times a day. The large, excellent golf courses of Quinta da Ria and Quinta da Cima are only 11 km away. Public transport departs from stops located directly in front of the hotel; Faro airport is approximately 30 km away. Built in 2002, this popular hotel offers a total of 268 rooms spread over 3 floors, of which 22 connecting rooms and 6 junior suites suitable for families. Amongst the facilities you will find a stylish reception area with 24-hour service and lifts, free Wi-Fi Internet connection in public areas, a currency exchange desk, a game room and a Kids Club. The hotel is equipped with wheelchair access ways and an air-conditioning. You may take advantage of a restaurant with non-smoking areas and highchairs for infants, two hotel bars, a gaming room, a garden and outdoor areas such as the playground for kids. For and additional cost you may use the hotel safe, the laundry service or the garage. All the rooms have been tastefully furnished and offer air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. There is an outdoor swimming pool with sun loungers and parasols all around and a garden area. The hotel is equipped with a Health Club which is composed with indoor heated pool, a Jacuzzi, a steam room and a gym. There is also the possibility for our guests to have massages and beauty treatments. Guests may select their breakfast, lunch and dinner from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner may be chosen a la carte. Special dietary requirements, as well as individual-specific menus, may be catered to and it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Vila Gale Tavira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Tavira Hotel Tavira
Vila Gale Hotel Tavira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Tavira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.