We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Tavira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Gale Tavira to your Saves list
Vila Gale Tavira
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua 4 de Outubro, Tavira 8800-362, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

After staying in a friend's RV for a few days, we decided to treat ourselves and stay in this hotel for a night. It has a great location in the middle of town and the rooms are quite well appointed but are a little tired in comparison with other hotels I've been in. The breakfast was of high quality and would recommend this as a base to explore the Eastern Algarve. Free parking by the side of the hotel as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    319
    142
    32
    8
See reviews for
125
332
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is well-located in easy walking distance of the town centre and local sights. Tavira is a nice little town to explore out of season. It's also a great location for bird-watchers and a good place if you want to take a car and explore inland Algarve out of season
As well as steps at the front, the hotel also has a wheelchair access route.
Whilst many people might want to room with a pool view, a room at the side of the hotel with a view of the town and the salt-pans can also be a very sunny option in winter.
Just avoid Café Romano in the town centre nearest to the Roman Bridge. They serve coffee and a cake "on the house" even if you decline it, and then charge you for it anyway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

After reading varied reviews we were thrilled , and relieved, to have had a wonderfully happy Christmastime at this Hotel.
Location is very central to the interesting town of Tavira, we up graded to a pool view room, which was worth the nightly charge of 11€ , it was a well furnished, good size room.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful, ( reception, spa, dining room and house keeping ).
Food was plentiful, varied and very tasty, we had special banquets on Christmas Eve / Day with free booze !
We both had full body massages , at special half price deal, highly recommend , also enjoyed jacuzzi and pool.
A really good Hotel choice as far as we were concerned.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

This was my 2nd time to the beautiful town of Tavira, first time in Vila Gale spent 3 nights here in late May, previously stayed at Portonova overlooking the town ( views fm roof top bar were wonderful!) but the rooms at Vila Gale were certainly more superior, pool area was nice, never a problem in getting sunbirds but in peak season may prove difficult! but you could escape that hassle, as the ferry for Isla da Tavira 2 minutes walk away, beautiful beach & wonderful restaurants! The hotel is used by Saga Holidays who had large number of guests in hotel during our stay! breakfast was very good & we had lunch by pool which was inexpensive & staff were always friendly & helpful! Hotel good value & would recommend it, some nice little local restaurants nearby, but would also recommend a lovely square which is located across the Roman Bridge with great restaurants & bars! Tavira is still very much undiscovered by tourists, mostly Spanish/ locals it's the real Algarve! Enjoy I did and will return hopefully again in 2013

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estoril, Portugal
Level Contributor
90 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Large hotel in the middle of the city of Tavira, not really in the centre but close enough. The concept of the building is a bit strange, entrance with a difficult access via a steep staircase , HUGE atrium with very outdated supposedly morrocan style couches,quite unconfortable, a tiny reception area with one single person acting as staff... No help with luggage neither outside nor inside. Rooms ok, nothing special but big enough to include a third bed if needed. A bit outdated and simpe decor but clean. Mine was facing the pool area,at extra cost, as Idid not want a noisy street facing room. Very poor ilumination on corridors accessing rooms which I find irritating. Long walk to the restaurant in the morning as access though bar is closed early in the day,
Breakfast of very high standards, except orange juice, plenty to eat and to chose from, no problems in this vital area. Dinner buffet of good quality although expensive for Portuguese standards. Outdoors pool of good size but encapsulated in the middle of the hotel building. The bar when open is huge and well appointed, acting as coffee shop during the day, much more appealing than the rest of the hotel.
Wi fi only free in public areas, expensive in rooms
In sum this hotel is ok but kind of ugly and with nothing exciting about it and in the Algarve there are plenty of much better options. Would I come back? I do not think so.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coimbra
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was our 5th trip to this hotel and it was as good as our first time. The rooms very clean and have everything you need, staff were great as usual and the location is wonderful.
Breakfast has always been excellent and with the added extra of having a bucks fizz if you like only added to our great stay. Cant wait to get back there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stay here for a week 20tth october hotel was very spacious and clean, after reading some earlier reports about beds being uncomfortable was very surpised as I found my bed very comfortable (room 3048 ). The breakfast was good as they were always topping up with fresh egg etc and there was a good choice of other thing to have. I used the indoor pool every day and most times I had it to myself, In my opinion the hotel could do with updating but didn;t affect are stay here the only thing I didn't like was the shower curtains in the bath room which needed replacing as it smelt fussty. The hotel is in great location with easy reach to the centr with lots of lovely little restaruants its a very uncommercialised town which we loved we would defferantly stay here again and would recomend it to my customers as I am a travel agent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavira
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#5 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Porta Nova
Hotel Porta Nova
#11 of 15 in Tavira
3.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
1.1 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#4 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
5.9 mi away
Herdade da Corte
Herdade da Corte
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Tavira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Tavira

Address: Rua 4 de Outubro, Tavira 8800-362, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tavira
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tavira
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Tavira 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical city of Tavira between this picturesque old town and Ria Fromosa. Here, guests will discover a good selection of shopping and entertainment venues. The fine sandy of the dune island, Ilha de Tavira, is easily reached by ferry and the hotel bus travels to the airport several times a day. The large, excellent golf courses of Quinta da Ria and Quinta da Cima are only 11 km away. Public transport departs from stops located directly in front of the hotel; Faro airport is approximately 30 km away. Built in 2002, this popular hotel offers a total of 268 rooms spread over 3 floors, of which 22 connecting rooms and 6 junior suites suitable for families. Amongst the facilities you will find a stylish reception area with 24-hour service and lifts, free Wi-Fi Internet connection in public areas, a currency exchange desk, a game room and a Kids Club. The hotel is equipped with wheelchair access ways and an air-conditioning. You may take advantage of a restaurant with non-smoking areas and highchairs for infants, two hotel bars, a gaming room, a garden and outdoor areas such as the playground for kids. For and additional cost you may use the hotel safe, the laundry service or the garage. All the rooms have been tastefully furnished and offer air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. There is an outdoor swimming pool with sun loungers and parasols all around and a garden area. The hotel is equipped with a Health Club which is composed with indoor heated pool, a Jacuzzi, a steam room and a gym. There is also the possibility for our guests to have massages and beauty treatments. Guests may select their breakfast, lunch and dinner from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner may be chosen a la carte. Special dietary requirements, as well as individual-specific menus, may be catered to and it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere, HotelTravel.com and Orbitz so you can book your Vila Gale Tavira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Tavira Hotel Tavira
Vila Gale Hotel Tavira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Tavira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.