We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fabulous place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta da Lua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Quinta da Lua to your Saves list
Quinta da Lua
Bernardinheiro 1662-X | São Estevao, Tavira 8800-513, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 24 Tavira B&B and Inns
Berkeley, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a fabulous place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We loved Quinta da Lua. We went in off season when it was raining, but even so, it was great. Food is good, rooms are wonderful and the staff is very sweet. A definite keeper! Very peaceful and enjoyable.

Room Tip: All lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    15
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
56
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is difficult to find a criticism of this hotel. Nice rooms, good food, charming service, relaxing atmosphere and delightful gardens. There is also a good pool. Lunch and dinner available on request.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good - each with their own balconies. Ground floor rooms are bigger, have baths as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This place is amazing, it' close to the centre but one doesn't really need to go anywhere because they have everything one could possibly need. The lady who runs it puts so much care in every detail and works super hard to make you feel pampered. It's quiet, clean, relaxing, easy, everything that one expects from a holiday. We really loved our time there. They also offer amazing meals always accompanied by super fresh vegetables and fruit. And at a very good price. The rooms are really nice, we stayed upstairs, which was nicer because we had our own small balcony but also the rooms downstairs have space outside. The only downside is that the staff, except the manager, doesn't speak English but we didn't have any problem communicating anyway. The manager could put more effort in welcoming international guests. We were really happy with this place and would definitely want to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I would agree with most of the positve comments on the Quinta. However it wasnt as peaceful as it could have been. This was down to the other farm houses having numerous dogs which barked off and on all day and sometimes at night. Without the noise it would have been great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We wanted a quick break and arranged tickets, hotel and transfer just the day before arrival. A little uncertain we arrived at Quinta Da Lua and it seemed we hit jack pot. Just outside beautiful Tavira in between orange groves a wonderful luxurious and relaxing quinta awaits you. A perfect place to unwind or explore the area.

As usual an overview of the good and the bad.

The Good:
+ Very charming location
+ Beautiful gardens
+ Superb suites with nice furniture and karakter
+ Small and peacefull
+ Large swimming pool
+ Food junkies will love diner: all fresh and very tasty!
+ Breakfast is very extensive and served on your own private terrace

The Bad:
- Upmarket prices so you probably would expect all the above.
- Our suite (room 1) was not soundproof and located near the entrance: you will hear guests having breakfast/diner or walking in the rooms above you.

Room Tip: Pick one of the quarto duplo rooms: spaceous and more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santarem, Portugal
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Love place on the Eastern Algarve, an area we love. We spend 6 days at the Quinta with our 3 boys and made daytrips to the beach. The area not to crowded and great restaurants with the best Mariscos.
Wish the Quinta would cater for lunch or dinner as their breakfast is good!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapellen, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Hidden amongst the orange trees ,lavender ,datura,olive and palmtrees, lies this small hotel.

A heaven of peace and tranquility. All the rooms refurbished,the staff efficient and kind and
least but far from last, the owner Miguel,who with his charm and good taste,makes something
unique from this place.

This was my 15th visit over 5 years,and hope sincerely to be able togo another15!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta da Lua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Lua

Address: Bernardinheiro 1662-X | São Estevao, Tavira 8800-513, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Quinta da Lua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Lua Hotel Tavira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta da Lua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.