We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Holiday” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Albacora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Gale Albacora to your Saves list
Vila Gale Albacora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quatro Aguas | Vale do Olival, Tavira 8800-901, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quiet Holiday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Spent 10 days here in Sept and its a nice quiet hotel:
Good points:
Loads of sunbeds whenever you want to get to the pool.
Staff all helpful
Nice location
Very quiet - fair way out of Tavira and Tavira very quiet anyway
Interesting hotel as parts of the old fishing village still exist
spa was nice and treatments seemed reasonably priced - although the charge to use was excessive and I've never been in a spa where there were no complimentary soft drinks and teas

Bad Points
Food was usual AI fare - and not really anywhere to go out ot get away from it unless you had transport
Cleaning was a bit hit and miss - we would see the cleaners coming down the corridor first thing in the morning, and go out so they could clean, they invariably missed us and came back at 5pm when we were trying to rest
Off putting that there were AI and non AI guests and it was never very clear what was included in AI and what wasn't - especially at the pool cafe
The evenings were starting to get a bit cool and there was not enough bar seating for guests
Entertainment was usual AI stuff - guy and a keyboard

Room Tip: We were right by the restaurant (as my partner has mobility issues at the moment). Quite noisy durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest
We thank you for you’re visit to our hotel.
We believe that you’re appreciation is important to us.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    195
    59
    17
    5
See reviews for
161
169
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galicia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 days at this hotel and generally enjoyed our stay. The architecture is beautiful, it's like being in a village with church and school. It was good having a school cos the kid could play inside with all the toys, though there was nobody there to take care of it. Breakfast was ok, English one with eggs, baked beans, mushrooms, tomato and bacon and continental with many different types of bread and cakes. Oddly enough, there was no marmalade or jam, but I bought myself a jar at the nearby Continente in the mall. The bedroom was smallish, bathroom fine but they have a cleaning issue. If you walk barefoot, you'll soon get your feet dirty with dust and grit. They should improve cleaning. Another (worse) flaw is the awful stench that fills the hotel grounds at night, coming from the water treatment plant. One night it was so terrible that it filtered through the closed windows and I had to cover my head with the duvet so as to sleep. In the morning, the stink was gone. I suppose they can't do anything about it. The swimming pool is good, there were not many people so plenty of sunloungers and very quiet and relaxing atmosphere for reading, etc. The best part of our stay was the morning boat trip to the paradisiac island of Terra Estreita. It was lovely and Captain Armando is extremely nice. He would let our 3 year old steer the boat all the way to the mooring point! Everybody on the boat had a good laugh (and we arrived to port safe and sound).

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest
We thank you for you’re visit to our hotel.
We believe that you’re appreciation is important to us.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just come back from a one week stay and thought I would pass on my thoughts. Firstly I have to say all the staff are very friendly and go the extra mile.Due to noisy neighbours the hotel quickly moved us to a quieter room. We booked though Jet2 holidays and booked a standard room - but on arrival we paid around £90 to upgrade to a river view room - which is well worth it. But I suspect the standard rooms may be quieter. Travelling at the end of the season the hotel was quite empty - so no queues. This may be a negative point if you were a single traveller. There is a free bus for times a day to their sister hotel in the centre of Tavira, although for walkers you can get into Tavira in around 45 mins.The bus only runs Wed - Sunday. A taxi will cost around 7 euros. We often walked in and then caught the bus back. The food was a bit of a disappointment - 22 euros got you the buffet - but was often a bit cool - may not be a problem in season. The Al a carte option was similar in price and was hot. There was no entertainment apart from a keyboard player on the Saturday evening. One thing lacking was an on site shop - which meant the trip into town became a necessity. Would recommend the boat trip to the sand banks which have restaurants and lovely beaches - more convenient from this hotel than the hotel in the town. Apparently the hotel in town was generally fully booked in winter. They charge 2 euros a night for the key to the room safe and the water in the fridge also comes at a cost. Wifi is free in the reception and bar but is 5 euros a day in the room.

Room Tip: River view south facing have a better view - standard rooms may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad for the pleasure time you had with us.
We wait for you on next trip to Algarve.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed for one week All Inclusive towards the end of September and really enjoyed our holiday.
We paid the supplement for a River View and are pleased we did, our room was lovely and we really enjoyed watching the boats come and go. The hotel is very nice, quiet and atmospheric with a real feel for the history and tradition of the area. We liked the peace and beauty of being out of town but it was lovely to visit Tavira too, it has a very traditional and welcoming atmosphere.
We found everyone very friendly, staff were excellent and we absolutely loved the a la carte dinner which was part of our All Inclusive package.
On the negative side:We did find some of the buffet food could be disappointing, what should have been served hot had often gone cold, but we still managed to find something nice to eat everyday.
An onsite shop would be useful - there must have been one in the past but it seemed to have been replaced by a bike hire shop that was never open so there was nowhere to buy the little essentials, newpapers, sun creams etc.
Towards the end of our holidays the outside bar/snack bar closed, and the beach boats stopped running, which was a shame. If going again we would go a little earlier in the year to take full advantage of these two amenities.

Room Tip: It's worth paying the extra for a River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad for the pleasure time you had with us.
We wait for you on next trip to Algarve.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The hotel is situated in a very pleasant area, away from the city centre. The hotel area is very well preserved, and as the rooms are spread around in little villas you almost forget that you are in a hotel.
The swimming pool area is confortable and very pleasant.
There are several beaches that you can try, but you have to go by boat or by car.
We went with our three children, and this is really a perfect spot for them. Plenty of places to go around and play, many other children to play with. Most of the guests of this hotel are families with children. The animation team is simply incredible, and they keep the kids occupied and happy all the time!

Strong points: quality of the beach; animation team; hotel surroundings
weak points: the rooms could be a little bit more confortable; restaurant to costly; there should be more boats to and from the beach

Definitely a place to return to!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad for the pleasure time you had with us.
We wait for you on next trip to Algarve.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Lovely hotel, big rooms, great view over the boat harbour, pretty gardens. All very telaxing for a long stay. The bustle of town is long way away. There are buses to town and boats to the island. A fantastic buffet breakfast really got us going in the morning.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the boat harbour were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad for the pleasure time you had with us.
We wait for you on next trip to Algarve.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have just returned from here. Some people have pointed out the location and liked it others have said about the smell from the salt pans still being worked today. Yes if you choose a hotel in the middle of a nature reserve which has working salt pans you will get a smell, this did not upset us. But we choose to pay the extra for a river view which was excellent value and a must if you want to stay here.

The hotel its self was excellent the pool area was kept clean and well maintained. Our room had the beds pushed together a brownie point lost, the noise from adjoining rooms was high this being due to the wardrobe door runner's being well past their life expectancy and they need updated as a matter of priority. Their was a far bit of noise from the wheeled suitcases as people arrived and left but in general this was not to bad.
We had some major rain when their we went to the library in the hotel which was well appointed but poor light, the room above the library would be a better location for reading our looking over to the Island.

Service,
Yes the staff make this hotel also polite and happy to help out with any question.

Food,
We went all inclusive, and this was the major let down always cold and not enough main's. Vegetable soup every day! then vegetable with peas added to make Peas soup simply not good enough.

Yes we would stay hear aging but not for a week.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest
We appreciate you’re review.
We will analyse you’re suggestions.

Kind regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavira
1.5 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#6 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 stars 656 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vila Gale Nautico
Vila Gale Nautico
#1 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
4.0 of 5 stars 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#4 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Porta Nova
Hotel Porta Nova
#11 of 15 in Tavira
3.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Albacora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Albacora

Address: Quatro Aguas | Vale do Olival, Tavira 8800-901, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tavira
#1 Spa Hotel in Tavira
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tavira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Albacora 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Natural Park of Ria Formosa and approximately 4 km from the centre of Tavira and 3 km away from various restaurants, bars, nightclubs, shops and the public transport network. The nearest beach is just outside the hotel and just 400 m away you will find yourself in one of the best sandy beaches in the Algarve. The hotel was rebuilt in 2000 from an old tuna fish camp and has a total of 162 rooms of which 43 rooms with river view and 5 junior suites suitable for families. The hotel has a 24-hour reception, lovely lobby area, a currency exchange desk, a luggage room, a chapel, a museum and a game room. Among the common areas guests may enjoy the air-conditioned TV room, bar and restaurant where free Wi-Fi internet connection. Children are very welcome to this hotel being that they have their own Club full of activities and entertainment. Guests may park their cars in the parking lot and for an additional costs may use the laundry services and hotel safe. The pleasant rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel Spa, Satsanga, is composed with a gym, an indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi, steam room/Turkish bath, Vichy shower massages and beauty treatments. The seasonal entertainment programme ensures that there is never a dull moment at the hotel. The hotel restaurant has a wide buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is an a la carte menu offered at lunch and a set menu available at dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Vila Gale Albacora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Albacora Tavira
Vila Gale Albacora Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Albacora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.