We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portugeuse Sun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Albacora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Gale Albacora to your Saves list
Vila Gale Albacora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quatro Aguas | Vale do Olival, Tavira 8800-901, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Tavira
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Portugeuse Sun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Just back from a week at the Vila Gale Albacora. Was our first time in Portugal, really enjoyed it. The hotel itsel is lovely. It is in a very quiet location, this might not be to everyones liking, but we found this very relaxing. The hotel itself is located in the middle of a nature reserve. The hotel runs a boat across to two different beaches, these are both worth a visit. They also run a free bus into the town of Tavira. Tavira is a small town, there is not a lot in it, but it is worth a visit, however do not waste your time trying to find the shopping centre, The Grand Plaza, this is not worth the effort! The rooms in the hotel are large and clean, it is worth paying extra for the river view. We went all inclusive and found this excellent value for money. A good way of seeing around the area is to hire bikes out - this is great fun and you can hire bikes on the hotel site. The staff are very friendly, Bruno, hotel manager, very efficient, very willing to help and make your staff more enjoyable. Overall this is a lovely hotel, very peaceful, tranquil location. The style of the hotel, an old tuna fishing village, makes it very unique. Would definitely highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying extra for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and your kind comments, specially about the mention of the singularity of this place and the oportunity to relax with nature and/ or in the beautiful beaches of Tavira Island. We also had appreciated the reviews about the bus, rooms, food and cleanliness.

This classified building and Museum (Former Tuna Fishing Village) converted in an Eco-Hotel, due to it´s location, have also a Multiecotourismactivities and a recently opened PADI Dive Centre.

Your feedback give us the right motivation and confidence to continue trying to exceed the expectations of our guests.

On behalf of Vila Galé Albacora staff, we hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
Hotel Vila Galé Albacora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    157
    51
    14
    5
See reviews for
119
138
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The hotel describes itself as being in a national park which it may be but looks very much like a wasteland.
The drive to the hotel is through salt flats and wasteland. The website describes it as a haven for birds and wildlife - not sure if this is seasonal but there were no sign of them in August.
Once you get to the hotel even though there is nothing else around parking is a struggle as people leave their cars there who aren't hotel guests to go to the beach.

The hotel itself is really nice - the rooms are of a good size and are clean and comfortable. The village feel is unusual and very welcoming, The breakfast has a large selection and the staff really friendly.
The only downside is that you have to pay to go to the beach at approx EUR5 a day for a couple, this would mount up if you were there for 2 weeks. I felt for a 4* hotel that advertises the great beach that really this should be free for guests.

The surroundings are not welcoming which is a shame as Tavira is a lovely town and the hotel is great but 1st impressions count and the drive up really lets it down.
I would urge you to look past that but for us while it was great for a weekend we have no desire to return for longer, Unfortunatly it is just too isolated and that part of Portugal doesn't compare to the likes of Villamoura.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and your kind comments, specially about the hotel itself, the rooms, cleanliness, comfort , the feeling of welcoming, the breakfast and most of all, the friendliness of the staff. Is the signature of our hotels.

Your comments help us to continue trying to exceed the expectations of our guests, and regarding the things that you didn´t liked so much, we felt a little disapointed with situations that we are not direct responsibles, but yet, with responsibility to do something about it.

About the waste, unfortunately, during the month of August, there are thousands of persons in the area that don´t have the civism to preserve this protected area. That´s why, because of what happened this summer, we already achieved to close the access to the beach near the hotel that you had mentioned. With cooperation and decision of the Nature Park of Ria Formosa, City Hall and Maritim Authory this problem is solved for next summer (Parking, Waste and Protected area)

This local is one of the identified Hot-Spots for Birdwatching and we have plenty of visitants coming after September untill April/ May. August you only can see some Flamingos if you have lucky.

We also appreciated the review about the beach. It´s is really something in the Algarve... The acess is paid, because is a service provided by a partner company. We are analysing the possibility to include this trip in Room Rates with the supllier.

For last, Vilamoura and Tavira have an enormous diference. If you prefer Vilamoura, you will find two wonderful hotels from our company VILA GALÉ (MARINA and AMPALIUS).

On behalf of Vila Galé Group, we hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future in one of our Hotels in Vilamoura, and why not, in Albacora to see for yourself the improvements we (the City) have made. Please be free to contact me directly (bmartins@vilagale.pt ).

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
Hotel Vila Galé Albacora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were looking for somewhere relaxing with wildlife . This hotel provided just that - the salinas surrounding the road into the hotel are rich in wading birds with flamingo , spoonbill , avocet , black winged stilt and many more . Easily visible from the road and tracks going into the salinas take you even closer. The scrub area around the hotel and on the island had lots of juvenile chameleons and the insect life was rich . The hotel was very clean , well maintained and has a great pool area which is virtually empty in the morning . Food was excellent with a great buffet breakfast and a varied evening buffet . Take insect repellant and stock up on bottled water in the town - expensive to buy in the hotel . The hotel caters for families very well and is very wheel chair friendly - I noticed the on site dive school caters for impaired divers . Lovely staff .

Room Tip: Not really worth paying extra for a river view room ( had to stand on a chair to see the river !!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and your kind comments, specially about the mention of the singularity of this place and the oportunity to relax with nature. We also appreciated the reviews about the food, cleanliness, maintenance and pool area.

This classified building and Museum (Former Tuna Fishing Village) converted in an Eco-Hotel, besides it´s location, also caters for families very well and is very wheel chair friendly. We have a recently opened dive school caters for impaired divers (Maximum Rate form DDI - Disable Divers International).

But the most most important, as other previews reviews, was the message to the hotel "lovely" staff.

This give us, more than anything else, the right motivation and confidence to continue trying to exceed the expectations of our guests.

On behalf of Vila Galé Albacora staff, we hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
Hotel Vila Galé Albacora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We have just returned from this lovely well run hotel,we had a few issues but we spoke to the manager Bruno, and hopefully they will be resolved,they were a loose broken tile by the pool,and some cigarette butts that had been stubbed out by trees that surround the pool that had been there for 5 days,He is a great Guy ,he is always there to help if you find a problem,if you are going there soon and you do find a problem ,speak to Bruno while you are there and he will do his utmost to solve it,please don't wait till you get back then complain,we had the local dish ,Cataplana on his recommendation ,hope i have spelled that right,we had a great time while we where there .

While we were there there was quite a few children ,they were well behaved though,i think there could be another bar that is for adults only,when you work with children all year,it would be nice to have another place for adults only, Rui the bar man is a really nice bloke,as are all the staff,we will be returning as soon as we can,thanks to all the staff for a lovely holiday,and to Bruno for sorting things out.Wigan

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and your kind comments about your experience in Vila Galé Albacora. Specially about the great time whilw you where here.

We also were very satisfied to know that our services achieved you expectations. It is a result of a teamwork.

About the other Bar, we will analyse the possibility to have another one open next year (outside)

On behalf of Vila Galé Albacora staff, we hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
Hotel Vila Galé Albacora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Excelent enviroment completely integrated at Formosa Natural Park, good restaurant & Bar, very quiet & perfect for Sea and Beach lovers - PS: acess to Terra Estreita beach is only by boat. Room was in perfect conditions and room service was very efficent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and your kind comments about your experience in Vila Galé Albacora. Specially about the reference to the surroundings of the Ria Formosa Nature Park and the Beach. We really have both in the same place. Nature and Beach.

We also were very satisfied to know that our services achieved you expectations.

On behalf of Vila Galé Albacora staff, we hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
Hotel Vila Galé Albacora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed at Vila Gale Albacora in July. If you are looking for a nice, relaxing holiday away from the crowds, this lovely hotel will be perfect for you. Rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable. Based in the Natural Park of the Ria Formosa you are surranded by beautiful nature and far from any noise. The hotel even in the high season was't to busy and we never had to wait for any services. The breakfast there was excelent with a huge variety of food served for continental as well as English breakfast. The little touch that I really loved about the breakfast in the hotel was that they were serving champagne every morning :-) Service was very good as well, nice and friendly houskeeping and restaurant staff. Reception was friendly enough but struggeling a bit with their English and giving information about the local area and the services in the hotel.

The only disadvantage of the hotel is it's location. It is 10 mins drive away from any shops and restaurant, so there is no way to get anyway by foot. There is a boat to the beach on the island which you have to pay for. It costs €2.90 for a return ticket, which I thinl is a rip off and should be provided for free for the hotel guests. As well as the free mini bus for the nearby town of Tavira which runs every couple of hours and the last leaving from the hotel @ 5.30pm, so if you don't have a car with you leaves you with a taxi drive, which was approx. €6-7. Not that expensive but considering you have to pay it every night plus the extra cost of the boat to the beach, it might increase you spending money a bit.

All in all it was a very pleasent stay and I will return to the hotel again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and your kind comments, specially about the friendliness and service of the staff, breakfast, the cleanliness and confort of the rooms.

About the location.. well, we would like to offer the best of the two worlds... but we are not so far away... Tavira centre (4km) and shopping (2km).

Including the boat in the rooms rates are an option to be analysed witgh our supllier for 2013 season.

But the most most important, is that you will return. Untill then, we will continue trying to exceed the expectations of our guests.

On behalf of Vila Galé Albacora staff, we hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
Hotel Vila Galé Albacora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portstewart
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Having read all previous reviews, my wife chose this lovely hotel as we were looking for a 5 day "beach break" in the sun near Tavira. Take the boat to Tavira Island and just chill out on the sun loungers (11 euro for the day - but worth it!!). Certainly not a "young and lively" hotel, the rooms are basic but very clean, lovely pool area and very attentive staff. Breakfast was excellent, we ate in Tavira in the evening (12 euro return in a taxi) - the hotel offers a shuttle bus, but only during the day. All in all, we had a perfect break.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and your kind comments, specially about the Tavira Island Beach, the clealiness, breakfast and pool area of the hotel.

But the most most important, as other previews reviews, was the review about the staff.

This give us motivation and confidence to continue trying to exceed the expectations of our guests.

On behalf of Vila Galé Albacora staff, we hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
Hotel Vila Galé Albacora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Gale Albacora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Albacora

Address: Quatro Aguas | Vale do Olival, Tavira 8800-901, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tavira
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tavira
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tavira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Albacora 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Natural Park of Ria Formosa and approximately 4 km from the centre of Tavira and 3 km away from various restaurants, bars, nightclubs, shops and the public transport network. The nearest beach is just outside the hotel and just 400 m away you will find yourself in one of the best sandy beaches in the Algarve. The hotel was rebuilt in 2000 from an old tuna fish camp and has a total of 162 rooms of which 43 rooms with river view and 5 junior suites suitable for families. The hotel has a 24-hour reception, lovely lobby area, a currency exchange desk, a luggage room, a chapel, a museum and a game room. Among the common areas guests may enjoy the air-conditioned TV room, bar and restaurant where free Wi-Fi internet connection. Children are very welcome to this hotel being that they have their own Club full of activities and entertainment. Guests may park their cars in the parking lot and for an additional costs may use the laundry services and hotel safe. The pleasant rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel Spa, Satsanga, is composed with a gym, an indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi, steam room/Turkish bath, Vichy shower massages and beauty treatments. The seasonal entertainment programme ensures that there is never a dull moment at the hotel. The hotel restaurant has a wide buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is an a la carte menu offered at lunch and a set menu available at dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vila Gale Albacora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Albacora Tavira
Vila Gale Albacora Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Albacora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.