We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people, a lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calcada Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Calcada Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Calcada Guesthouse
Calcada de Dona Anna 12, Tavira 8800-308, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Tavira B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh, Scotland
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Lovely people, a lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Up a narrow cobbled street, just five minutes from the main church in the heart of old Tavira, behind a small door, is this perfect oasis of hospitality. When you look at the state of the building next door, you realise what an achievement it was for Andy and Tamsin to convert this one into a charming, well-thought out, home from home. No wonder it took them four years! The design is clean and unfussy, mirroring the white-washed houses in the town outside with their touches of colour.
The beds are comfortable, with duvets of the right weight for the season. We had a big bathroom with a shower area, ie with no screen or curtain, which might not suit everybody but was fine by us. The lounge has floor-to-ceiling glass windows on one side, looking out to the small enclosed garden that provides a touch of greenery. The chairs are comfortable and the selection of reading material extensive (in English). There is a lot of material on the local area and suggestions of day trips. The big German heater warms the area up nicely. The upstairs roof terrace has a splendid view across the river and over the neighbouring Algarve chimney pots and roofs.
Breakfast was fantastic, with local honey, jam, cheese and ham as well as a big bowl of finely chopped fresh fruit, fresh orange juice, plain yogurt, brown toast and warm pastries. My only complaint would be that serving it at 9am is really too late for guests who want to get in some serious sightseeing before everything closes for lunch. Having the kettle and a wide assortment of teas on tap was also a nice little touch.
All in all, a great experience made special by the owners, who are genuinely concerned to share their love of the area and make sure that all their guests have a great stay in the Algarve.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
40
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Calçada Guest house successfully combines a welcoming, at home, atmosphere with the elegance and style of a boutique hotel.
The rooms are decorated in a fresh and attractive way, each with its own colour scheme; it's clear that a lot of thought has gone into the little details, successfully combining simplicity with charm.
The open and relaxing common space - which had a warming fire going while I was there - inspired me to sit on the sofa and read a book in a way that hotel spaces rarely do. Andy and Tasmin were around and were attentive and helpful with local info, but also discreet: the key balance to make one feel genuinely at home. The help-yourself selection of coffee, tea, books and games nicely added to that.

Room Tip: We had a patio room and I liked having the large window: I can imagine that the downstairs patio-acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed for a week at Calcada. Andy and Tamsin excellent hosts. Breakfast of fresh fruit, coffee/tea, croissants, toast, yoghurt on the sunny rooftop terrace a delight. Spotlessly clean. By the time we left it felt a home from home.

Room Tip: All rooms have either balcony ot patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

After an lovely but tiring train journey from London to Paris to Irun to Lisbon to Faro to Tavira my wife and needed a couple of days of peace and tranquility before and Algarve family wedding. This lovely guest house/ B&B was the perfect tonic. We stayed 2 delightful evenings and had 2 lovely breakfasts on the roof garden (The finely chopped fresh mint on the fruit salad was spot on). Tamzin and Andy who run the guest house are a great easy going couple who looked after us when we needed something and left us be when we didn't.
I had to do alot of work to do on the first day, so while my wife explored the lovely town of Tavira I sat in the living area at a nice desk and made use of their internet (it was far faster than my central London speeds for sure!). I only wish I could live there as I got twice as much work done in half the time!
If ever in the Algarve again I will search out Calcada and stay for a bit longer, as the only problem was that we didn't stay long enough!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the lovely decorated Calcada guesthouse. The warm hospitality and the gorgeous breakfast made it a perfect holiday! I’ll definitely recommend it to whoever heads for Portugal and I hope I’ll be able to come back soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed at Calcada Guesthouse for 3 nights. The guesthouse and Tavira are definitely the place to stay on the Algarve. The location is excellent with all the eating places and a free car park within a two minute walk.

The rooms were brand new, spotless, modern and decorated in a very tasteful style. The beds were very comfortable and the towels white and fluffly! Breakfasts, especially when served on the sunny roof top terrrace were fantastic

Andy and Tamsin made us feel very welcome and at home. Their local knowledge was extremely helpful - from sightseeing info (how to get over to the Ilha de Tavira) to where to eat. We had a great time, and would definitely stay here again if we return to the Algarve.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

The Calcada Guest house is a cute little place, new, and very cozy and comfortable. Andy and Tamsin, the owners, live there and are very friendly and accommodating. After choosing this place randomly at the last minute, without knowing anything about it, nor about the town of Tavira, we were very pleasantly surprised to see how pleasant the place was, and it's located in the best possible place: on a charming and quiet cobblestoned street, walking distance to everything, but far enough off of the normal tourist route that it's peaceful and quiet. The place was very clean, and the breakfast - which they serve you on their roof deck, with views of the river - was TOP NOTCH! Thanks for everything, we loved our stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Calcada Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calcada Guesthouse

Address: Calcada de Dona Anna 12, Tavira 8800-308, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calcada guesthouse is a beautiful and unique accommodation located amongst the oldest streets in Tavira. It is hidden away in a small residential square behind the main praca within the heart of the historical centre of Tavira, one of the most architecturally attractive towns in the Algarve. The guesthouse comprises of 6 individually decorated bedrooms (five king size doubles and one twin) all air conditioning for Summer months and heating for the Winter. Each bedroom has it's own balcony or patio doors and private en-suite wet rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Calcada Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calcada Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.