We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calcada Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Calcada Guesthouse to your Saves list
Calcada Guesthouse
Calcada de Dona Anna 12, Tavira 8800-308, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 24 Tavira B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“First Class !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed for a week at Calcada. Andy and Tamsin excellent hosts. Breakfast of fresh fruit, coffee/tea, croissants, toast, yoghurt on the sunny rooftop terrace a delight. Spotlessly clean. By the time we left it felt a home from home.

Room Tip: All rooms have either balcony ot patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
55
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

After an lovely but tiring train journey from London to Paris to Irun to Lisbon to Faro to Tavira my wife and needed a couple of days of peace and tranquility before and Algarve family wedding. This lovely guest house/ B&B was the perfect tonic. We stayed 2 delightful evenings and had 2 lovely breakfasts on the roof garden (The finely chopped fresh mint on the fruit salad was spot on). Tamzin and Andy who run the guest house are a great easy going couple who looked after us when we needed something and left us be when we didn't.
I had to do alot of work to do on the first day, so while my wife explored the lovely town of Tavira I sat in the living area at a nice desk and made use of their internet (it was far faster than my central London speeds for sure!). I only wish I could live there as I got twice as much work done in half the time!
If ever in the Algarve again I will search out Calcada and stay for a bit longer, as the only problem was that we didn't stay long enough!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the lovely decorated Calcada guesthouse. The warm hospitality and the gorgeous breakfast made it a perfect holiday! I’ll definitely recommend it to whoever heads for Portugal and I hope I’ll be able to come back soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed at Calcada Guesthouse for 3 nights. The guesthouse and Tavira are definitely the place to stay on the Algarve. The location is excellent with all the eating places and a free car park within a two minute walk.

The rooms were brand new, spotless, modern and decorated in a very tasteful style. The beds were very comfortable and the towels white and fluffly! Breakfasts, especially when served on the sunny roof top terrrace were fantastic

Andy and Tamsin made us feel very welcome and at home. Their local knowledge was extremely helpful - from sightseeing info (how to get over to the Ilha de Tavira) to where to eat. We had a great time, and would definitely stay here again if we return to the Algarve.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

The Calcada Guest house is a cute little place, new, and very cozy and comfortable. Andy and Tamsin, the owners, live there and are very friendly and accommodating. After choosing this place randomly at the last minute, without knowing anything about it, nor about the town of Tavira, we were very pleasantly surprised to see how pleasant the place was, and it's located in the best possible place: on a charming and quiet cobblestoned street, walking distance to everything, but far enough off of the normal tourist route that it's peaceful and quiet. The place was very clean, and the breakfast - which they serve you on their roof deck, with views of the river - was TOP NOTCH! Thanks for everything, we loved our stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Have been to Tavira on numerous occasions but this is the first time at this guesthouse. The owners were lovely, breakfast delicious, best sleep for a long time and amazing roof terrace. Would definitely recommend it. Thanks, will be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Just got back from a two week stay at Calcada guesthouse and I have to say that it was lovely.

First impressions were excellent. You immediately know the place is brand new as you come in through the front door. The owners, Andy and Tamsin, are really welcoming and helpful on arrival and once you've checked in, leave you to enjoy the communal space at your own leisure. If you have any queries, however, they are always on hand to advise.

They have clearly spent allot of time and money renovating the building into a relaxed but stylish place to use as a base from which to explore the surrounding area. The place is airy, bright and clean and the optional breakfast, either served in the lounge or on the roof terrace, is more than adequate to see you through until dinner.

It's location is perfect being a two minute walk into town, where there are many great bars and restaurants, tucked away in one of the quiet, cobbled backstreets that lead down to the river. If you don't want to walk the two minutes into town to eat or drink, there is the excellent Tavira Lounge just a few paces away.


Tavira it'self is well worth a look round and boasts a great beach on the island.

Would I return???

Definitely!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Calcada Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calcada Guesthouse

Address: Calcada de Dona Anna 12, Tavira 8800-308, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calcada guesthouse is a beautiful and unique accommodation located amongst the oldest streets in Tavira. It is hidden away in a small residential square behind the main praca within the heart of the historical centre of Tavira, one of the most architecturally attractive towns in the Algarve. The guesthouse comprises of 6 individually decorated bedrooms (five king size doubles and one twin) all air conditioning for Summer months and heating for the Winter. Each bedroom has it's own balcony or patio doors and private en-suite wet rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Calcada Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calcada Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.