We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solitude”
Review of Tavira Island

Tavira, Portugal
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #2 of 10 attractions in Tavira
Type: Islands
85 visitor photos
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    110
    19
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Tavira Island
See the most recent reviews
essex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Solitude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We visited in January - short trip across on the ferry from Tavira. At high tide there was absolutely no-one to be seen, at low tide there were a few people digging for shellfish along the edge of the sea. Beautiful sandy beach with dunes behind it. We spent ages picking up shells and enjoying the peacefulness.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury-on-Thames,United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great views from the ruined castle. lots of lovely bars and restaurants. Nice shops and great harbour

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Gorgeous sandy beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Gorgeous sandy beach, it was deserted when we were there but I am sure it is busy in summer. Lovely sand dunes as well. There was one restaurant open when we were there but there were lots of other one that open in summer. Only €1.50 return on the boat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sth Yorkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Probably my favourite beach in the Algarve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Not to be confused with the town of Tavira. Just outside of the town of Tavira is a road that leads to Isla Tavira. You drive past the Salinas down to the car park by the jetty. The ferry costs just 1.5 euros return each and even during the winter is one an hour. Catch the ferry to the island and a short walk takes you to the beach. A wide golden sandy beach. You can walk for miles and although I haven't done it, I've been told you can walk right back round to the boat jetty. I've only been during December and January but even then, it's possible to walk along the waters edge and paddle. There are some cafe's but be aware they will only open during off season months, if there is demand. One of my favourite places in the Algarve but probably my favourite beach.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“desert island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

superb beach, you can walk for miles on golden sand and so quiet! the ferry over is only 1 euro50 each return. a bargain!
a must visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavira Island also viewed

Tavira, Faro District
 
Tavira, Faro District
Faro, Faro District
 

Been to Tavira Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavira Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.