We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Accommodation in Tavira” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tavira House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tavira House to your Saves list
Tavira House
47 - 51 Dr. Rua Miguel Bombarda, Tavira 8800-419, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Tavira B&B and Inns
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Best Accommodation in Tavira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This beautifully renovated house in a small side street in Tavira is a very well kept secret. From the minute you walk in you can tell that a lot of money has been spent on bringing Tavira house into the 21st century and it has been done with a great deal of taste. We stayed in the top floor suite with the mezzanine bedroom and sunken bathroom. It was complete luxury. The bedding was of fantastic quality, the separate lounge area was well appointed and the complimentary WIFI worked very well which was important for me. The bathroom was exceptionally clean and well appointed with fresh towels every day. The air conditioning is of superb quality despite 40+ degree heat outside.

The staff were excellent, efficient, accommodating, well informed and very friendly. They made incredible breakfasts and made a real effort to include a different portugese delicacy each morning.

I would return to Tavira again if it was simply just to stay in this hotel. If you're going to the Algarve stay here. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinNieri, Owner at Tavira House, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Many thanks for your review, we were thrilled to read your comments and delighted that you had a great stay at Tavira House. We hope to see you back with us at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    17
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
56
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BC, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. A welcome cocktail upon your arrival, a beautiful and clean room (Buganvilia) with air conditioning (a must in August). There is a great rooftop terrace which we would have used more often if we weren't enjoying air conditioning in our room. They have a really nice breakfast with fresh juices and offer towels and umbrellas if you are heading to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinNieri, Owner at Tavira House, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your review, we're really pleased that you had a lovely stay at Tavira House (and that you enjoyed the full benefit of the aircon!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We decided to book Tavira House and in particular the Fucsia Room (fell in love with that bathtub). The only problem was that we didn't have enough time to enjoy the room and house. Staff were amazing with us and I would and will recommend to my friends who want to visit Tavira! Keep up with the good work!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinNieri, Owner at Tavira House, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review Tavira House. We are all very pleased that you had a great time - and especially loved the roll-top! We hope to see you and your friends in Tavira again at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great hotel but I would not call it a luxury hotel. It´s far from being a five star hotel.

Pros:
- Great location
- Clean
- Large room
- Air condition that really worked well.
- Large safe
- Really good breakfast

Cons:
- No private balcony/terrace as described in hotel/room description.
- Narrow, steep stairs to the room and in the hotel entrance.
- Difficult to find the hotel if you're traveling by car, no signs.
- Bad cloth storage.

Room Tip: The "Geranium" has not a private balcony/terrace as described in the hotel description...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinNieri, Owner at Tavira House, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Tavira House. We try to be as honest as possible and provide our guests with as good a stay for the money as they can get anywhere else and we will certainly be taking on board your comments so as to improve our descriptions and service moving forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Really good service, loved the breakfast and the terrace, good location.

Cons

- Not disabled friendly (a lot of stairs)
- Low ceilings in the room (had many bumps on the head)
- Difficult to find the hotel
- No wifii in the room
- One of the staff could not talk english, one of them did not know anything about the area (restaurants, tourist attraction)
- Some of the staff looked at us and spoke Portuguese and laughed, we did not understand what they said and that made e negative atmosphere. They maybe did not laugh at us but it felt like it sometimes.
- When we came to the hotel the staff did not help us with the luggage.
- The pool is really really small and not clean
- On the website it says that you have a private terrace if you pay extra, that is not true at all.

Pros

- Really good service
- Wine tasting in the hotell A+++ :D
- Good restaurant recommendations but they should know more
- I loved the breakfast, staff asked how we wanted the eggs cooked, it does give them a big plus from me.
- They also made freshly squeezed juice there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hate to niggle over such a beautiful property but we stayed in Geranium at the top of the property (most expensive) and feel that considering the price and quality of the house we should make a few adverse comments.
There is access to the roof terrace from the room and we appreciated that but it is just one small corner of the main area and not what one might expect when reading 'its own private roof terrace seating area'.
One major problem is the mezzanine style double bedroom, which is just a platform accessed only by 'mind your head' stairs which houses simply a bed. The left hand side of the bed is situated under the lower eaves and left me with a feeling that I had to walk around permanently bent over to avoid banging my head....as was also the case with the under stairs cupboard space (hit my head several times). It really is a correct description and we certainly felt a room of this standard and price should have proper clothes storage and not just a rail with 3 or 4 hangers at right angles to the door and just melamine shelving under the lowest section. The room needs wardrobe and drawers and a redesigned sleeping area. Overall one might say that interior design comes before comfort.
The bed was not 'serviced' by staff on a daily basis (who could blame them) nor were toiletries replaced when empty. A hairdryer was available only on request. No cover was provided for the duvet. So not 5 star!

Cannot fault the staff or the breakfasts and we thoroughly enjoyed the informative wine tasting.

Maybe if we stayed in another room our comments would be totally different.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Bremen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I just want to write this..The other day I was invited for Breakfast at Tavira House..
Well I have been around the world and have experienced many other Hotels..
But this one ,The Staff And the Lay out of the Buffer was nr 1..
And not too mention the wonderful Fruit Muslim Salad it was out of this world..
Well Done Boys ..
In the Tavira House..
Jose Carvalho
Torsten Carvalho

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tavira House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavira House

Address: 47 - 51 Dr. Rua Miguel Bombarda, Tavira 8800-419, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tavira House is a lovingly restored, 160 year old, boutique town house hotel. Situated in the heart of the Eastern Algarve’s most picturesque town, Tavira, this charming and unique bed and breakfast brings together a traditional Moorish flavour with a contemporary interior design.The house features 9 individually styled bedrooms, a ballroom lounge, dining room, residents bar, plunge pool and roof garden, all reflecting the hotel’s sophisticated chic design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Tavira House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavira House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.