We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“School Dinners” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tavira Gardens Restaurant

Tavira Gardens Restaurant
Tavira Gardens, Lote 11, Tavira 8800 600, Portugal
351 925 775 757
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 167 Restaurants in Tavira
Price range: $12 - $37
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Chef Boutonne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“School Dinners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

we went here for music with sunday lunch. The music was great...the food not so good. Tinned carrots, overcooked cauliflower cheese in runny sauce, reconstituted mash, greasy non crispy roasties....puds and wine and coffees were extra, so the cost of 18euros each was a bit steep.Staff were a little surly......need to try harder! There are many places to eat in this area that are much better

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolimike, Owner at Tavira Gardens Restaurant, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear Sir,

Unfortunately we have to agree that part of the food served on that day wasn´t upto our normal standard.
We do apologize.
Hopefully you did enjoy the all you can eat slow roasted chicken and loin of pork or the ovenbaked seabass perhaps for the non meat eaters or our vegatable lasagne for our vegetarian clients.

One thing I would like to point out is that it wasn´t us organizing the event as you may recall you paid a fee at the door €18,00 of which only €12,50 went to the restaurant.
For that €12,50 you received a 2-course lunch including cover and water.
Since the 1st of January the VAT on restaurants in Portugal is 23% and overhead is in general 30% leaving us with a very small margin.

Having this information I hope you reconsider part of your review and give us a second chance on your next stay in Tavira.

Sincerly,
Mike Meijnderts

Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    6
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely experience,Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Called and booked a table here after reading the reviews and was not dissapointed,
We found there was a nice relaxed atmosphere and a good choice on the menu.
The service was good and the food excellent.
We will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent ..... Fantistic.....Food..... Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Recently stayed at Tavira gardens, was very impressed with the staff of the restaurant they made my time exceptional..... the food was excellent well presented and served with professionalism.

I will be back in Tavira... primary reason the people went to great lenghts to make me feel welcome.

Wilma Johns-Ogilvie Ottawa Canada.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you are staying in Tavira this restaurant is a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

This restaurant is one of the best restaurants we have eaten in in Portugal. The menu is varied and everything we had from it was beautifully cooked and presented. The bread and olives we were given as couvert were always fresh and home made unlike some of the stuff you get in other restaurants. The house wine was tasty and reasonably priced. All in all the restaurant was excellent and the service from the staff very good. They were friendly and made us feel like we were part of their family. Would highly recommend the steak and the kebab- both beautiful - lovely sauce and the beef just melts in your mouth!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb! Make sure you go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We were in Tavira for 5 nights. We went to Tavira Garden Bistro on our first night and enjoyed it so much that we returned for another meal on our last night. We never usually eat at the same place twice when on holiday because we like variety. We were not disappointed - our second meal certainly lived up to our first!
The steak is to die for - perfectly cooked and good quality with a delicious sauce. The ribs were beautifully cooked and plentiful. The seafood chowder is well worth trying.
The menu is varied with a good coice of starters and main courses. The homemade bread is lovely.
The staff is friendly, attentive, helpful and professional. The atmosphere is welcoming and comfortable. Prices were reasonable as is the price of the wine.
I would fully recommend this restaurant to my friends. When I return next year, this will be my first port of call!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavira Gardens Restaurant also viewed

Tavira, Faro District
 

Been to Tavira Gardens Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavira Gardens Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.