We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residencial Lagoas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Residencial Lagoas to your Saves list
Residencial Lagoas
Rua Almirante Candido dos Reis, 24, Tavira 8800-318, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Tavira
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Shabby!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Admittedly the place is a steal for a double bed room at €35 per night but you get what you pay for. Small cramped rooms with beds that could only have been designed by the Inquisition! Wifi access was poor and even with my iPad was only able to ever get a good signal if I went down one flight of steps to the tiny, cramped lobby. Well, that is if you do not mind sharing that tiny space with a member of the owner's family watching TV (loudly)! Broken shower that was reported immediately was still not fixed after a five day stay despite repeated requests to do so. Towels were not changed too often and those that were put back (ostensibly washed and cleaned) still looked a little grubby! This establishment is definitely more backpacker's terrain! Definitely going back to Tavira but NOT to this hotel!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
7
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, and both nights we did not get the sleep we needed. The bed felt like it was made from stone. Besides that, the small alley our roomwindow was on, contained a terras of the restaurant below and was noisy untill 2 o clock.

Pro's: Nice location
Good price
Very Nice roof terras
Frendly owners
WiFi in the room, free

Cons: The bed!!
The noise from the restaurant
Small room
Small shower

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Lovely hostel; very clean with cool and quirky furniture. spent here just a couple of days but it was well worth the price. it's right in the heart of little Tavira - highly recommend a bar on the corner in the 'main' square called Tavila - locals hanging out here who will show you where to go out in Tavira :) the hostel has two massive terraces - will definitely come back

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2009

I really liked this residencial. The residencial is located in an area that has many quaint cafes and bars. Not just tourist places either. Maria, who runs the place is very nice and helpful. It had a communal refrigerator, place to do your laundry, and a small table on the roof to enjoy a pizza. If your looking for a hotel that isn't a replica of a Holiday Inn, this will fit the bill. Don't let the cheap price deter you, they have very nice rooms. The outside doesn't do the place justice. Restaurant Bica next door to the hotel was very good too, lots of locals enjoying their meals. I highly recommend this hotel. You've got the opportunity to save some money and still stay in a nice family run hotel, in the center of town. We only stayed one night in Tavira, but I wished we would have stayed at least one more. Tavira has a different feel than many of the other Algarve towns. The town just doesn't cater to tourists. Luvmesometravel's review is right on. We had a car and were able to park for free on the street about a block away. Many parking spots available, should have no trouble at all.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

We booked the room by calling directly and speaking to Maria, whom we'd read about in guidebooks as "friendly Maria". That she was! A very kind woman who operates the Residencial. When we arrived we discussed our room options (she has both rooms w/ private baths and without) and decided to move to another building she owned a block away with a communal bath (not my ideal, however, I agreed since the price was right and no one else was currently staying there, hence no one to share the bath with at the time). We ended up having the entire building to ourselves for the 3 days we stayed! It felt like we had our own flat in the village...with views overlooking the cafes below. The building had two roof patios on the second and third floors. Also had a washtub (for handwashing clothes) and clotheslines on the patio which was nice. There was also a refridgerator upstairs that anyone can use. Our beds were very hard and I assume very old and the the room was definitely sparse (no TV or phone, etc), but for the price, it was all we really could expect and suited our needs fine. The location was great, but the town is so small, you can't really lose. We had several cafes (with great food!) and a bar just outside our door and it never was too loud in our room even with that below. Such a nice, quaint town and would definitely recommend calling friendly Maria to book your stay here!

  • Liked — Friendly, economical and convenient
  • Disliked — Hard beds!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residencial Lagoas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Lagoas

Address: Rua Almirante Candido dos Reis, 24, Tavira 8800-318, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the historic center of Tavira, near the train station, bus station, ferry to the island of Tavira, shops and servicesWe have 17 rooms in our home are two terraces equipped with tables and chairs where you can enjoy the view over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Residencial Lagoas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Lagoas Hotel Tavira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residencial Lagoas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.