We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta do Caracol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quinta do Caracol to your Saves list
Quinta do Caracol
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Bairro de Sao Pedro, Tavira 8800 - 405, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Tavira B&B and Inns
NYC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

This is a great find in Tavira -- really a reason to stay in Tavira if you're choosing between towns on the coast. It is right in the city (and walking distance to everything), but feels like you're away from it all and in the middle of nature. The grounds are beautiful - lots of plantings, birds, and a small dipping pool. The apartments are really cute and have lots of character. They are quite old so be prepared for older kitchens and baths and furniture, but this is really what gives them their charm. Very comfortable for a long stay. The owner is so helpful and nice -- giving us lots of recommendations. She had even turned the heat on in the cottage before our arrival so it was nice and warm (this was rainy January) :) Loved Tavira as well!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    15
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

A friendly welcome from the lady whose grandfather (if I remember correctly) converted this farm into B&B apartments/rooms, set in lovely gardens (with ponds, a small aviary, a plunge pool, a terrace with tables and chairs, sun loungers, a small barbecue... and probably more!). Unfortunately we hadn't had time to learn much Portuguese, but luckily Margarita spoke good English.

Our apartment was really nice - spacious, cool, quite simple but comfortable with nice furniture and a handy kitchenette, complete with spotless crockery etc. Breakfast was served in a kind of marquee in the gardens (heated, as the March mornings were cool), and included a good selection of bread, pastries, cereals, cold meat, yogurt, coffee, tea, and freshly-squeezed orange juice, from the Quinta's own orange trees. We also had eggs on the first morning, which we think were probably from the hens we saw in the grounds.

Despite the things that have sprung up around the Quinta - it is wedged between a railway line/station and a road - we still had quite a peaceful stay. Inevitably, there was some noise from the road and from trains coming and going (mostly just a deep rumble), but it was less intrusive than you might expect - in fact in a strange way it adds to the kind of 'oasis' feeling of the place, and I say this as a light sleeper... I think the only things that woke me up were the birds and the frogs getting quite vocal in the morning, and somehow I don't mind that so much!

The only other aspect which may not suit everyone is the location in relation to the town centre. The setting is obviously very handy if you're arriving into (or leaving) Tavira by train, but it's a walk of perhaps 15 mins or so from the bus station, and maybe 10 mins or so into the lower end of town, although we quite enjoyed that. There's a Lidl supermarket just next to the station, and one or two cafes just a few minutes' walk away (if you don't want to go into the middle of town).

Incidentally, we really enjoyed our meals at Restaurante Bica, just across the old bridge in the centre of town (a street back or so), but note that it seems very popular (even out of season) and fills up quickly.

Overall, we found both Quinta do Caracol and the town of Tavira very likeable indeed, and would be happy to return some time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

We found the Quinta a very enjoyable stay, the service was excellent, a real oasis where we would return to each afternoon to sunbathe in the gardens for a couple of hours after some sightseeing. The rooms are lovely and cool and very traditional. Do not expect all mod cons here but what you do get is clean, basic and quaint acommodation. We visited Tavira as one of 3 separate locations on a 10day holiday. Our other hotels were 4 and 5 star, we chose this one because it looked so pretty and it delivered. We had our best nights sleep here, it just goes to show its not always about star ratings

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Quinta do Caracol exceeded all our expectations. The garden is delightful and our apartment was beautifully decorated. We felt as if we had our own little house. The owner was extremely welcoming but not intrusive. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
352 helpful votes 352 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

This is the place to take a girlfriend and make her very happy. It's located 2 mins walk from the train station - the station staff all know where it is. We walked across the tracks and up the road - I hadn't told my girlfriend where we were staying and she was in a bad mood while going along the pavement. As soon as I told her we needed to go under the archway at the entrance of the place, her spirits suddenly lifted, with comments 30 seconds later like 'Oh, you shouldn't have...'. Should make up for all the foul-ups I may have done over the last month or so !

It's not a big place - everyone gets a standalone house rather than a room, each named after a flower. Our house had a lounge, kitchenette, master bedroom, small bedroom upstairs and 2 sizeable bathrooms, as well as seating outdoors - 4 people could have stayed quite easily.

The pool is not large - it's more for jumping in and splashing around a bit, but after a hot day was very welcome. The houses are all centred around some gardens - plenty of flowers, with a a small bird enclosure in the middle and a handful of sunbeds dotted around. Wander around a bit, and you'll find the ponds with fountains and floating lilies.

Breakfast is ample, and served in a room behind the main building. If you want bacon+eggs each morning, you're in the wrong place - you'll get cold cheese + meat, rolls with pumpkin jam (surprisingly nice) and fruit, some of which is grown in the tree next to reception. For the addicts, Portuguese custard tarts are available as well. My girlfriend spoke to one of the people owning it, telling them she'd never really tried figs before, but thought the ones at breakfast were delicious. Late that evening when we got back from a night out, a basket of figs appeared in our kitchen which made for a wonderful midnight snack !

I saw one couple with a baby, but the all round good taste in which this place is done, makes for a place that adults will very much enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

We had the best possible holiday. There was great privacy, very helpful, attentive staff. Proximity to the train station was a bonus, and also being close to downtown Tavira. The breakfast was delicious, the general maintenance of rooms and grounds was excellent. We stayed eleven nights and would have loved to stay longer. We felt as if we were in our own private cottage. Margarida, the owner, is most charming and her colleague, Manuella is a real star. We hope to return in the Winter months.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

This converted farmhouse has lots of character, beautiful gardens with fountains, and great rooms, most with kitchens or kitchenettes. It's well-managed by two sisters. This place is a particularly good choice if you have a few days and are getting tired of eating in restaurants all the time.

The kitchens are modern and well stocked with dishes and cooking utensils. You can walk in 5 minutes to a grocery store, as well as to a wonderful takeout barbque place.

Cooking our own meals and eating outside on the private picnic table with a class of wine was great.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta do Caracol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Caracol

Address: Bairro de Sao Pedro, Tavira 8800 - 405, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta do Caracol 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quinta do Caracol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta do Caracol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.