We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best in Tavira . . .” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amore Vero - CLOSED

Amore Vero
Rua Joao Vaz Corte Real, 80, Tavira 8800, Portugal
+351281098007
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $38
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Not the best in Tavira . . .”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This restuarant has undergone many management changes since we have been coming to Tavira, some bad, some good, some excellent.

We are not too impressed with it at the moment. It is very expensive and although the food is good, it is not as good as the price would make out. There used to be a very friendly waitress there I think called Emma who was a definite asset, but she has moved on now.

The view if you are sitting outside is of a dusty full car park/bus station and is right on the the edge of the moderately busy road going into the Town.

Inside is very nice and they have a room out back you can book for 'special' occasions. But it would have to be a very special occasion to warrant the expense. Charging over twenty five euros for a plate of pasta is not really on. The crockery and cutlery etc are all fantastic and the dishes all look brilliant when they arrive. But, there are other restaurants in Tavira who also do the same style of presentation at a much lower cost.

Also, could do without the chefs coming out at the end of the meal wanting to know how the meal was. If I wanted to send my compliments to the chef, I would tell the waiting staff to pass on my comments.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    38
    16
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing. Does not deserve it's rating on trip advisor.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Rather expensive for ordinary cuisine. Very disappointing giving trip advisor ranking. If you eat outside, you are by a dusty road. If you eat inside in summer, it is boiling hot with no air conditioning and no fans. Poor.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't loose your time and money. They've got it all and waste it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Bad service. Small plates and at the end the food is not that experience!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The service was very good. Food was fantastic with delicious and complimentary flavors. Price here is a bit higher then some of the other restaurants close to this, but you really get value for money. The interior was also very nice, and the restaurant was clean and nice.
You should try this if you visit Tavira sometime.
Buon appetito!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gem in Tavira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We were looking for a quiet place for a really nice and cosy dinner for two and decided to go to Amore Vero after reading some good reviews. We were not disappointed. On the contrary!
Quite hidden but with a nice atmosphere (pity it is not on the river banks). We stayed outside and enjoyed an excellent service!
GREAT meal! with a wonderful surprise at every course! Try the chocolate parfait. The name is accurate!

A bit pricey for the average but you also get a above the average meal, that's for certain! One of the best meals ever...
A twist not to be missed if you are around this part of the Algarve!

Inês e Rui
Loved it!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amore Vero also viewed

 
Tavira, Faro District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amore Vero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.