We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful, but the freshest fish all week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of os arcos

os arcos
rua jaoa vaz corte real 15, Tavira, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 160 restaurants in Tavira
Cuisines: Portuguese
Restaurant details
Seville, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful, but the freshest fish all week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Nice to sit by the river; I had mackerel and my wife had the sea bass. Both were gorgeous. Very very fresh. The home-made "flan" for dessert was also superb. Will be going back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    19
    11
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Uncomplicated delicious fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We have used this restaurant a couple of times when the tables are set up outside by the river. Its an enviable location that has the feel of a pop up eaterie and can get very busy in summer evenings.
The food is from a limited yet adequate menu of fresh seasonally available local produce prepared and served simply. The Prato do Dia is especially good value, as ever, and the usual Portuguese sides are available. The prices are generally very good for the location, and a decent sized Robalo (Sea Bass) is 10 Euros, while the wine list is cheap and cheering.
Service is friendly but can be a bit slow when they are busy so be prepared to wait as the girl (even girls sometimes!) covers inside and out. It is worth the wait however and we will be back!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, Surrey, England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Average Authentic Local Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We have eaten here in the summer when they put tables out by the river and we loved it then. Returning on a wet day in early spring we sat inside the rather atmosphere-less restaurant (the usual strip lighting and ceramic-tiled walls). The service was very friendly, and the meal was cheap, but my pork belly was tasteless and chewy, and my wife's fish was ok. It's very good value, and fine for a cheap meal which will fill you up, but it was nowhere near as good as it was in the summer.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on holiday
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“most excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

This is one of our favourite restaurants in Tavira. We especially like the barbeque chicken and lamb chops. The chef always says hello and the waitresses are always so friendly and attentive.

The daily specialis are also good value. House wine is excellent value too.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“As cheap as chips”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

This eatery is in a square alongside the river - you can eat inside or out. The menu offers local food of good quality and big helpings. The staff are attentive, friendly and efficient.
The atmosphere is very good and the tables fill very quickly after 8pm.
If you are on a budget then you could do a lot worse than to visit Os Arcos.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed os arcos also viewed

Tavira, Faro District
Tavira, Faro District
 

Been to os arcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage os arcos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.