We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy Aquasul” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aquasul

Aquasul
Rua Dr.Augusto Silva Carvalho, No11, Tavira 8800-324, Portugal
00351281325166
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 180 Restaurants in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Antwerp
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Cosy Aquasul”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Pretty little Aquasul serves good food although the menu is quite (too?) limited. We shared a pizza with anchovis as a starter (above average) and took spaghetti with vegetables and very tast slices of squid. Try the Dona Ermelinda red wine, almost velvet. Service is friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    74
    26
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon,Oxford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bitterly disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Oh dear!! We have been going to Aquasul for 7 years now and the food has always been fantastic - great menu, friendly staff but our most recent visit proved to be a real disappointment. Basically the menu,with the odd exception, has not really changed for a long while but it was a brilliant mix of fish, meat and vegetarian options. However, on our last visit earlier this month we found a completely new menu with very little choice. We arrived for an 8.15 reservation and by this time they had taken off one of the specials and the steak had already run out and what was left was very "niche". I know that they wanted to change the menu but do it by introducing perhaps one or two new dishes not the whole menu. It wasn't broke but you still tried to fix it. Sadly we will not be returning for some while now.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were recommended this little restaurant, because it caters for both vegetarian and normal cuisine. It is located off the main street and has as many seats inside as it has outside. We chose inside and found the place tastefully decorated and atmosphere excellent. My partner had a vegetarian meal and I chose Mackerel. Both were served fresh and presentation was excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our first visit to the Aquasul. Three of us in our party and we all absolutely loved the food ( in particular the homemade nougat ice cream). The staff were friendly and efficient and it made for a lovely evening. We couldn't have wished for better.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
by the sea
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“disappointingly nearly average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were looking forward to visiting this restaurant but sadly disappointed - bit prententious and prim menu and pretty interior unfortunately maybe to much concentration on this side of things and writing out extremely detailed explanation of menu and ingredients rather than giving out the goods as food expensive and basic - pizza regular ordered but advised only large available and to be frank my local supermarket offers superior - food also parsimonious in portion - ordered also cod croquettes which were burnt and still looking for a trace of cod !!!! Pricey !!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquasul also viewed

Tavira, Faro District
 

Been to Aquasul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquasul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.