We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for something different” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kohinoor Indian Restaurant

Kohinoor Indian Restaurant
Rua Joao Vaz Corte Real, 1, Tavira 8800-351, Portugal
281 326 814
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 160 restaurants in Tavira
Price range: $14 - $21
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“OK for something different”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

If you fancy an Indian instead of the usual Mediterranean Fayre then the Khinoor makes a change.
Service good and prompt.
Starter of Samosa was not the most enticing and a little dry. Lamb Gosht Curry Main was excellent, hot, spicy and succulent.
Overall enjoyable meal, just wished they'd take the TV away which no-one really watches.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    101
    55
    19
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ede, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A good variation on all the traditional fish restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Of course when you are in Tavira and/or Santa Luzia you should eat fish. But when you stay for a longer period you feel the need to eat meat and something spicy. The restaurant replies in an excellent way to the need for variation. The service is very correct. The food is very tastefull. Moreover one can make a good choice of wine. Excellent Indian hospitily in Tavira.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the can ... just”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We visited the Kohinoor the other evening and "enjoyed" a couple of reasonable curries. Starters (onion bhaji & samosa) were not up to much ... a bit limp and dry respectively, the mains (karahi murgh) were nothing spectacular, but nothing bad either. An OK meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pappadum let down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

On arrival we work our way 2 the main square several places to eat this look as good as another though the rateings were the highest, we are not big curry lovers.
The pompadoms were very greasie I've ever had & at that point thought the worst, the grease was leaking onto the table. We had the meat somasas & sheek kabab very nice, main lamb balti & chicken briyani, well it was right up there with the best we have ever had (normaly 1 mounthy). Not too expensive either. Plus we were offered free brandy snaps all the rest of the crap you normaly get offered. Shame about the TV on all the time as well.

Shame we haven't seen anyone in the chinese as this is our favourite, watch this space.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Food all looks the same- orange.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Unfortunately how this is rated so highly on trip advisor beggers belief. People have either had too much to drink or they have never eaten Indian. Service was good can't fault friendly, welcoming staff or the free drink at end of meal but first sign something was astray was when i noticed everyone in the restaurant looked like they were eating same meal. I ordered different from my boyfriend and our dishes looked very similar and didn't taste that much different. Service charge was added to bill without being stated on bill so we ended up leaving a large tip which wasn't entirely deserved. Far better portuguse restaurants in Tavira. Dread to think what the food in the other Indian restaurant like if this is rated so highly. So far worst meal i've eaten entire holiday and i've been to various cities / towns in Algarve. Very disappointed.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kohinoor Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Tavira, Faro District
 

Been to Kohinoor Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kohinoor Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.