We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you see is not what you get” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Brisa do Rio

Restaurante Brisa do Rio
Rua Joao Vaz Corte Real, 38, Tavira 8800 351, Portugal
+351 966 947 912
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 180 Restaurants in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated in a quiet street near the banks of Tavira, in the small terrace is one of its greatest charms, but also has a large interior room.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“What you see is not what you get”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This restaurant looks quite basic and unassuming but we had to wait 45 mins for a table, late October. The food was excellent, try the garlic prawns and we had a great bottle of Rose - Dona Maria Julio Bastos. All lovely.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    124
    32
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle, england
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“GOOD OUTDOOR SUMMER DINIG”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Summer sees this restuarant very busy and its wise to reserve a table at weekends in particular. The menu is varied and not too pricey, with fish and local meat dishes competing for top billing. Table spread down the narrow outside alley adding to the summer atmosphere. Staff are friendly and helpful describing the content of the menu. You may wait a while for your meal in busy times but soak up the ambience, have a drink and watch the world - its worth the wait.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Don't let the look of the place put you off. We had to eat indoors which was great as a little chilly outside there was a lot tables reserved, good sign.
We had a bottle of house red which was a little under par, infract don't go there it was the pits.
We ordered the peri-peri prawns & cheese & tomato, the prawns we very nice they came whole so if you don't like them staring at you get them dressed. The main we had sea bass with prawn & orange sauce, I am a sea bass virgin hate the though of fish bones in the throat, so thought fillet would be ok, as friends say how wonderful sea bass is, the very first mouth full one bone not good aaaaahhhh & second another going down hill, not the brisa fault, the fish I did eat was very smooth silkie, the beef steak witch was nice a little over done.
There was only two serving so it was a little slow, but hay were on holiday.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We sat inside, the street tables were rather busy and a bit cramped. Still great atmosphere though, we could see and hear the buskers, but they didn't come into the restaurant. Good, fresh food, nicely served by friendly staff. House special "fish of the day" was really good. It was suggested to us by our B&B. Glad we went. Good value. Will return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Last meal of our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our party of four visited Brisa do Rio on Saturday 29th September, it was our last evening meal out on our holiday. We were very lucky to have a table and although we preferred to eat outdoors we are glad we accepted the only indoor table available.
Food and service very good, Peri-peri prawns were excellent. Two of the party had sea-bass which were very good. The other two had peppered steak which were thoroughly enjoyed. The creme brulee too was very good. In all an excellent meal a perfect end to our holiday.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Brisa do Rio also viewed

Tavira, Faro District
Tavira, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Brisa do Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Brisa do Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.