We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local favourite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Lagoas Bica

Restaurante Lagoas Bica
Rua Almirante Candido dos Reis 24, Tavira, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 167 Restaurants in Tavira
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Local favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Always busy and very good simple portugese food at more than reasonable prices. Simple surroundings, nice atmosphere, well worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    67
    20
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sicilia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Slow service but amazing food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I went twice to this restaurant once for dinner ond once for lunch and I can say is that food is amazing and very cheap (the day we went for lunch we had starter, 2 mains and a bottle of wine for just 27 Euros!!)
From starters to desserts (the "delicia de alfarroba, figos and walnuts" - sorry I do not remember the exact name in portuguese :-) - was absolutely amazing). The wine we got was nothing special - one day we ordered a vinho verde and got a bottle on whiche it was written vinho branco... the owner said that it was vinho verde and I was in agood mood so I said ok and I just enjoyed the dinner without complaining at all... Next time we just asked for the wine of the house.
Be advised that, as it is always packed, the service can be very slow, so if you are starving, maybe it is better to go somewhere else... I was there at the beginning of august so I guess, hopefully, that it should be fine on other periods of the year...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly family run restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have been coming to Bica's now for almost 10 years - visiting approximately twice a year with different friends. The restaurant is a family run and owned business, all the food is cooked from fresh, so as long as you are not in a rush, then just sit back, relax and enjoy. The owners always greet me with a friendly smile and remember every time what my favourite dish is (the Atum de Casa in case you were wondering - which is a delicious tuna steak, on top of a bed of boiled potatoes, smothered in onions that have been sauteed in butter and white wine....). Every time I bring friends to Bica's, the next time they visit, they always request to go back. From the outside, the restaurant does not look like anything special, but the fact that a majority of people eating in the restaurant at any one time tend to be Portuguese, speaks volumes. Good honest food, freshly cooked, friendly waiters and a large selection of homemade desserts followed by good coffee make this a firm favourite. The bill is always reasonable, normally coming in at about 12 euro's a head, including wine and coffee!! Already planning my next trip back......

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent local dishes & amazingly fresh fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

A taxi driver recommended this restaurant on our first evening in Tavira and lucky for us it was a great experience. We visited the restaurant on 3 consecutive days and recognized other customers from previous visits too. The fish was amazing, and desserts to die for. Very cheap and the staff were lovely. Average meal is between 8 - 12 Euro, a 3 course meal for 2 is approx 35 Euro.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Service is fast and efficient despite restaurant always being busy. Food is delicious and very good value for money. Tuna with potatoes and onions is a must and the black pork and pork and clams is not to be missed. Would recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Lagoas Bica also viewed

 
Tavira, Faro District
Tavira, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Lagoas Bica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Lagoas Bica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.