We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Gem of a Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Avenida

Restaurante Avenida
Avenida Dr Teixeira de Azevedo, Tavira, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 160 restaurants in Tavira
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Portugal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Another Gem of a Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is another one of those gems of a restaurant that is easily overlooked because it is a bit out of the main area. To find, just go up the hill past the main post office and it is a few more metres on the left hand side - on the cross roads.

This restaurant has been around for as long as we can remember and we have been coming to Tavira since the 80's. Typical Portuguese with excellent service and excellent food. If you are looking for a great steak they do one on a hot skillet but a little different from the usual "steak on a stone". This is beautifully cooked to your liking and served with a nice arrangement of vegetables. The restaurant also does an excellent Shellfish with Rice and does it for one person too. Nice home made desserts also.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    27
    11
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fine food in Tavira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is another place (besides Casa Cota, see other review) that we fell in love with in Tavira. There are a lot of dining options in the town, but we chose to eat at Avenida twice because the food was so good. Try the almond-crusted halibut. And the fish soup is fantastic!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great food - well worth the short walk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have today returned from our first visit to Tavira and had a fantastic meal at Avenida on Saturday evening. The restaurant is a short walk up hill from the main tourist area but well worth seeking out. I had the best tuna ever accompanied by some nicely cooked vegetables and potatoes. My other half enjoyed prawn and vegetable crepes and salad. The wine was good and the service courteous. Most people were sitting outside on the raised balcony which overlooks a fairly quiet road junction - just around the corner from a lovely square with yet another church.

We only spent a week in Tavira and wanted to sample a variety of restuarants, had we been staying longer we would certainly have returned to Avenida and highly recommend it to everyone -
great food and good value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Very good food and wine - excellent prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

In search of a good dish of seafood rice I recalled a fine meal that I had eaten at the Avenida a few years ago and decided that this would be a good spot for our Thursday night supper.

We arrived around 8.30pm and received a warm welcome from the father and son team of João and Cristovão. It was a warm night and the traditionally furnished but pleasant dining room with its pictures of Tavira in bygone days was just a little humid for our taste so we decided to brave the breeze and sit outside on the terrace (be aware that although the two outside terraces are fine and functional they overlook the road below).

The Avenida is unusual in that it offers the seafood rice as a dish for one and after checking on the ingredients I placed my order. B was a little bit more difficult to please but Cristovão made a number of good recommendations and after a bit of "swithering" she decided on the slices of black pork.

We asked to have a look at the wine list (tip - if they have given you the English menu it will only show a house white or red priced at €7.50) which has some nice Portuguese wine at the best prices I have found in Tavira. We had a bottle of fresh, fruity Monte Velho Branco which was drinking very well for under €10.

Our main courses were both great choices. The seafood rice was possibly the finest I have ever tasted; a lovely full flavoured soupy broth with various types of prawns, clams, razor clams and lobster. The black pork was also delicious; thin slices of meat accompanied by tasty chips, rice and salad.

We had no room for dessert so it was a coffee and a very reasonable bill to end what had been a great meal.

The Avenida would be one of my top recommendations in Tavira if you want to eat with the locals and feast on tasty food of the region which is well prepared and presented.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great value destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is the place for you if you enjoy typical Portuguese food at a really good price. The menu offers lots of choice of both fish and meat - we especially liked the fish soup and the mixed fried fish. The tomato rice is delicious. Good wines both red and white at very affordable prices. This is a neighbourhood restaurant slightly away from the main tourist area but well worth a short walk up the hill. Pleasant staff who speak English make it a very good choice. Gets busy so consider booking in advance.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Avenida also viewed

Tavira, Faro District
Tavira, Faro District
 
Tavira, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Avenida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.