We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residencial Hotel Por do Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Residencial Hotel Por do Sol to your Saves list
Residencial Hotel Por do Sol
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Travessa do Livramento 4 | on the corner of Rua Jose Juaquim Jara 82, Tavira 8800, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 24 Tavira B&B and Inns
La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were a group of 4 people and stayed in one apartment with 2 rooms. We saw the pictures online but the place was much better than what we expected. Big, bright and clean. The breakfast was also very good and gave us a boost to start the day!
If I had to go again I would stay in Residencial por do sol again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    16
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed for five nights in a large group: 14 people. We got five rooms, what is almost half of residencial's capacity. Miguel, the owner has so kind to write me one week before asking how we would like rooms set up, double or twin beds. His wife was running daily business as they also have a restaurant in town. She was very helpful advicng us how to do.
The breakfast is nice, served on rooftop, with good quality ingredients.
Rooms are large enough for three people. I got a family suite, that is a corner room that can accomodate easily four people and luggage.
Location is also very convenient althrough is nosy by weekends. Air conditioners in some rooms are not enough for summer hot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This was a last minute booking as our previous hotel went out of business the week before we flew out.
Good location- we walked into the centre each day with a 4 year old.
Our family room was infact a lovely airy suite of rooms.Lots of space for a family but not very toddler proof in terms of stairs, ormaments and loose handles!
Clean and well decorated. Kitchen somewhat over equipped with crockery- felt like the previous owner had just moved out but lacking a the useful stuff like a sharp knife.
Roof top brekkie great.
Owners friendly and helpful
Overall a good one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The room was neat, clean and well appointed, including international TV. Breakfast is simple but nice and adequate, and served on the roof weather permitting - if not it will be delivered to your room. There are good views of the town and saltpans (with sea in distance) from the roof. It is well run by the couple, who have an international background (Miguel being of portuguese origin) but are english to all outward apearances. We found it a good base to expore the Algarve from Faro to the spanish border.
The town centre is 5-10mins walk away and riverside nearer, and there are numerous good restaurants nearer than that. A medium-large supermarket is just across the street so getting bread and water etc is easy - a shame that it also spoils the view.
There were no significant downsides but here are some things others may find a problem: as you might expect from an establishment of this size, there is no lift, so don't go if you don't like stairs. It was difficult to find - mainly because the roads in the vicinity are all one-way and had been reversed since our sat nav got its info. The immediate locality feels like the back streets but seem perfectly safe.
This next bit is not the hotel's fault but I counsel booking direct with the hotel or on their website tavirasol.pt as it will probably be cheaper than going through an intermediary site. I booked through booking.com and can say the their "best price guarantee" is a deception! You may be forgiven for thinking that they strive to have the cheapest price - I can tell you that (as far as this hotel is concerned, so probably applies in general) they will charge the same price as the hotel, PLUS their fees. They are only interested in doing anything about the price if they get caught out - and then only if you complain within 24 hours and can identify a website offering the same room, dates and price. I ask you - who keeps looking at other websites once you've made your booking? I was able to identify that booking direct is cheaper than using booking.com and, as a matter of courtesy, I let them know - they weren't interested! I paid significantly more than I need have, by booking through booking.com. I could have cancelled my booking and then re-booked through the hotel, but I had chosen a rooftop room and didn't want to lose it. Annoyingly, when we arrived the rooftop rooms were out of commission so we were put in one of the cheaper rooms anyway - a situation only improved by the knowledge that the room we were in was a better spec than the rooftop ones - and we had a balcony but a very restricted view.

Room Tip: Rooftop rooms are small but carry a premium price, and you can still go and sit on the roof terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We got a big room looking at the street, with a little veranda. Although the street is quiet and picturesque, lI will ask for a sea view next time. You can also enjoy the views from the roof terrace, where you have breakfast.
Everyone is very friendly and helpful, with advice about restaurants, shopping, sightseeing and best beaches.
The free wi-fi is also an advantadge.
All in all great value for money!

Room Tip: room 206 has a small issue. the breakfast area on the roof terrace is right above it so there is som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed here for one night in the middle of an 18-day Spain and Portugal holiday. Our room was the largest and cheapest of any on our trip. It was well-decorated, very clean, and had a fridge and coffee/tea machine. We had dinner at Miguel's restaurant nearby "Jamie's". It was the best dinner of our trip. After dinner, we enjoyed a beautiful view of Tavira from the rooftop terrace. In the morning, we were unable to stay for breakfast as we had an early train. Nicolette brought breakfast to our room the night before and Miguel kindly took us to the train station. We would definitely stay there and eat at "Jamie's" again. Nicolette and Miguel are very kind and welcoming. They make their boutique hotel feel like a charming bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Brom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

From being collected by Miguel at the airport, right through to him driving us back to the airport at the end of our 5 night stay, everything was perfect.
Rooms were clean, bright and comfortable, modern decoration, tv, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities. Good size bathroom with full size bath and a proper shower. Aircon worked well if a bit noisy. Small balcony which was nice to sit and watch the world go by.
Continental breakfast served on the roof terrace, plenty to eat, fruit salad, bread, meats, cheese and gorgeous fresh orange juice. All this for a very reasonable €39 per room per night!
We enjoyed pre-dinner drinks on the roof terrace every evening with wine brought from the nearby supermarket, and sunbathed on there a couple of afternoons too.
The hotel is in the old part of town, there's a small supermarket nearby, and it's just a stroll to restaurants, or across the river to the new part of town. Miguel took us on a drive round on our way from the airport and pointed out various places to give us a feel for the area.
All in all a lovely hotel and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tavira hotels
1.2 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#5 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#6 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 stars 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#4 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Porta Nova
Hotel Porta Nova
#11 of 15 in Tavira
3.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Hotel Por do Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Hotel Por do Sol

Address: Travessa do Livramento 4 | on the corner of Rua Jose Juaquim Jara 82, Tavira 8800, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Hotel Por do Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feels like a home away from home. Large rooms recently redecorated, some rooms with balconies, enjoy the location right in the center of Tavira, with view of the Ria Formosa and Tavira rooftops. Healthy breakfast on our panoramic roof terrace, weather permitting of course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Residencial Hotel Por do Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residencial Hotel Por do Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.