We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful location in lovely countryside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Herdade da Corte

Save Saved
You added Herdade da Corte to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Herdade da Corte
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sitio da Corte | Santa Catarina Da Fonte Do Bispo, Tavira 8800-166, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Tavira
Gloucestershire, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Peaceful location in lovely countryside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in a room in the main house. The room was well furnished and had everything we needed but would benefit from having a mirror somewhere in the bedroom. We particularly enjoyed leisurely breakfasts with fresh orange juice, cold meats, cheese, etc... along with an interesting selection of local breads (including carob bread). Good evening meals were available on request (except on the Sunday we arrived); there are no restaurants within easy walking distance but Tavira is only about 15 minutes drive away. João and Francisco, who only took over the management of the property in April this year, were always happy to talk and give helpful advice. We enjoyed using the swimming pool and relaxing on the terrace. There are plenty of interesting walks from the property in the surrounding hills and mountain bikes are available for guests to borrow; Francisco was very helpful adjusting the saddles for us. The little town of Santa Catarina da Fonte do Bispo is a relatively short cycle ride and the pastellaria there is highly recommended. All in all a nice relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    18
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
78
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Pedro do Estoril, Lisboa, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Away from the crowds, into the still nearly unspoilt landscape of wildlife, greenery, rural habits.
Herdade da Corte offers you all this plus good, spacious and clean room, a delightful common area and an attentive, courteous service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Tavira is a charming little city still very authentic and Herdade da Corte is a pretty good place to stay. People at reception were nice, the room was silent and comfortable and the swimming pool wasn't particularly crowded. It's a relaxing and peaceful place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a very relaxing place to stay and a great place for a holiday.
Its not far from the pretty coastal, unspoilt town of Tavira which has a huge range of affordable restaurants and a nice old fashioned feel about it. There's also a lovely beach nearby which you can reach by boat.
Herdade da Corte is a 'get away from it all' destination with comfortable rooms and a fabulous pool.
With very friendly management definitely a place to switch off - although they do have wifi if you need to bring your iPad!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This place was just what we needed. Quiet, secluded, very peaceful, welcoming and beautiful. We had a lovely break from hectic travel and noisy places. The hosts were terrific. Everything was provided and any request taken care of. The pool was great ! Highly recommend.
Rosemary & John

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

A great way and place to end our trip to the Algarve at Herdade da Corte just outside of Tariva. Tavira is a lovely, quaint town with excellent restaurant choices and beaches. The hotel is located about 10km outside of town, but I found that to be a plus. It felt secluded and one had a feeling of escaping from the daily grind there. The pool was warm and refreshing! The orange and lemon trees growing onsite make the surrounding landscape even more charming. They also make for excellent fresh squeezed Orange Juice at breakfast as well as for Citron Pressé on a warm afternoon sitting by the pool. We are looking forward to our next stay, which will hopefully be soon.

Room Tip: There are two buildings. The more remote building is about a 10min walk from the main area (where p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We wanted to spend our honeymoon somewhere secluded and beautiful and we were not disappointed in our choice. Herdade is tucked away in the hills but Tavira and it's beaches are within short driving distance. The restaurant in the main house is really good, we had some great paella there. Our room was away from the main house, up the hill which we quite liked as we wanted the privacy. Our hosts were lovely and catered to our every need. Adrianna was happy to give us directions to less touristy beaches and recommended some good restaurants. The local waterfall is also definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Herdade da Corte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herdade da Corte

Also Known As:
Herdade Da Corte Hotel
Herdade Da Corte Tavira
Address: Sitio da Corte | Santa Catarina Da Fonte Do Bispo, Tavira 8800-166, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tavira
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
#5 Family Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Herdade da Corte 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
escription: ENHerdade da Corte – Country housewelcome home from home...Towards the south to the warmth of another Algarve, the Herdade da Corte is a Rural Tourist accommodation created from a commitment of the past, the present and the well being.Located preferentially for those who like to be near the sea but comfortably away from the traditionally touristic Algarve, the Herdade da Corte offers ideal conditions, being the perfect base to begin exploring the contrasts of the Algarve. Because you’ve left the city behind, and the ocean waits patiently in the distance, the 7 double bedrooms and 5 junior suites have a simple, pleasant and rustic decoration. Divided in 2 country houses, separated by a 600m trail of nature and silence, you can chose between, tranquillity, relax and contemplation at Monte Beleza, and making new friends at the swimming pool, tennis court, terrace, honesty bar and tapas, wine & Jazz lounge of Monte Lavrador. All this in a 120ha of space and nature, where de common spaces merges with the countryside in a real delight to your senses,In a perfect scenery between the mountain ranges and the sea, the Algarve sun, the tranquillity of the Algarve Barrocal, in a space just for you, with no timetables, with no stress!Let yourself be carried away... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Herdade da Corte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herdade da Corte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.