We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Arrabalde

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ponte de Lima
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Arrabalde
Save
You added Casa de Arrabalde to your Saves list
Arcozelo, Ponte de Lima 4990 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ponte de Lima
Charleston, SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Extraordinary Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

Our cottage at Casa do Arrabalde was close to perfect - quiet and secluded on the grounds of a preserved family estate, yet within a 5 minute walk of the charming town of Ponte do Lima. The grounds are beautifully planted and maintained.. the cottage spacious, comfortable and nicely furnished... the owners cordial and hospitable, though never intrusive. Breakfast in the main house each morning was very nice. And Ponte do Lima is a delightful, walkable, historic town... lots of opportunities for outdoor recreation and/or beautiful mountain drives. (For the "connected," a WiFi hot spot is right outside the house gates.)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Towson, MD
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

This place was a real gem. In a walled enclave just across the footbridge from Ponte de Lima, we had a wonderful stay there. Our hosts are two erudite, multi-linqual educators and the house has been in the hostess family for a few hundred years.

We took an apartment in an orchard with beautiful fruit trees and a barely used swimming pool. Breakfast was lovely and extensive and served family style with guests from a few different countries. After visiting the famous and raucous Monday market in Ponte de Lima, it was lovely to come back to our beautiful haven for a swim. This was one of several finds we made in Northern Portugal. Also, you are fairly close to the Spanish border and can make forays into Galacia quite readily.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

The stay in this house is very exceptional. We were unlucky with the weather, but still it was very nice. Location is ideal. We got the 4 person-cottage for two, since there were no other guests. Ponte de Lima is just across the (pedestrian) bridge and has nice restaurants. One of the most typical Portuguese small towns. The only small negative point is that we had some diffculties to find the place, since there is no clear indication of the name. It is however very close to the old bridge and there is a "Routard" sign outside the iron gate. Mentioning this on the website would help the guests.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

We stayed three nights at Casa do Arrabalde and loved it. We had one of the cottages and our only regret is that we should have stayed longer.

Casa do Arrabalde is across the pedestrian bridge from the main part of Ponte do Lima, but that was fine with us. It is very quiet, with a nice garden and a pool. It is only a few minutes walk across the bridge to the main part of town.

Our cottage was a two storey house with two bedrooms, living room dining room and kitchen.

The town of is one of the nicer towns we visited and there are plenty of other places within a short drive. But it was very tempting to just sit and relax here. There is also a very nice garden on the north side of the river.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de Arrabalde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Arrabalde

Address: Arcozelo, Ponte de Lima 4990 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Ponte de Lima
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ponte de Lima
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Arrabalde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.