We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmo's Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Carmo's Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Carmo's Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Estrada Nacional 203, Ponte de Lima 4990-645, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ponte de Lima
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I had 7 seven days in this lovely little heaven. From the romantic breakfasts and dinners to the wonderful hosts. The spa area is also very nice. A little hideaway where no request is too much trouble for this unique hotel

Room Tip: See if you can get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    8
    1
    2
    5
See reviews for
5
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braga, Portugal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Be very careful if you intend to stay at this boutique hotel as you might end up sleeping under the beautiful Ponte de Lima bridge.

Last night I called the hotel to book a suite & spa to celebrate our wedding anniversary today.
After selecting the right package everything was looking good. Call ended up with the person in the other side telling me that reservation was confirmed and that I would receive an email (normal procedure in many hotels).

This morning (day of checkin) around 9.30am I receive a call from the hotel letting me know that my reservation was not confirmed and that unfortunately they were fully booked.
I let the person know that it was unacceptable and then she started the procedure conversation. "We said you would received an email and you didn't because the email we sent was returned with error. And you credit card number was wrong... and we received an online reservation after your call that booked your room... blah, blah ".

So, they could have called me last night telling me everything they told me this morning and correct any mistakes from their side... It's very had to understand how to key information like credit card number and email were wrongly written by the hotel, but worth than that is the lake of willingness to find a solution as if this was normal to just let know the customer that other online reservation took priority.
It's unacceptable and I will neve stay in this hotel even if they would pay me to stay there. We have stayed in hundreds of hotels around the world and this is a first!

Fortunately for us, we were not travelling from a long distance, otherwise it would have been even worse.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limassol
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Stayed a few nights to explore the Minho region. A very welcoming and friendly hotel, with excellent service and a homely touch. We were a bit disappointed with the food but the ambiance was perfect. We sat on the terrace overlooking the hills around Ponte de Lima and watched a video concert of Marisa, a Portuguese singer. It's a great idea to allow guests to enjoy their before dinner drinks on the terrace while watching her sing but the quality of the sound system needs some improvement. I would also prefer separate shampoo and conditioner instead of an all- in-one flask in the shower. Breakfast was great, catering for individual tastes, but please don 't dilute the fresh orange juice!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pombal, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Kindness, superb installations and very good food. I strongly recommend the stay in this hotel. My intention was to stay in a calm place and make a visit to Gerês where the nature is revealed without man activities, there you have access to unforgettable landscapes.
In the afternoon the inside pool and spa are the final touch to drive you to the clouds.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Quite a memorable experience we had at Carmo's! It is a true fact that since I started to stay at small charming hotels, I have no doubt that there is no better choice. At Carmo's we felt the tradition and the family concept all the time - starting on the arrival. It is a concept of tourism and welcoming absolutely distinct from common hotels, based on its hospitality, permanent attention and sympathy (a lot of smiles and genuine attention not only from the hotel staff but generally speaking also) - attention to all the details and specific tastes of each and every visitor making us feel as if we were at home.
The meals (dinner as well as breakfast) were so, so good and the portuguese wines superb combination! The hotel location is the perfect starting point for sightseeing and the hotel offers a lot of themed experiences to enhance the stay like a carriage tour (not to be missed!) and a wine tasting experience (that we fell in loved). Incredible outdoor swimming pool area!
This is one of the best hotels that we stayed in. Definitely recommendable specially for couples!

Room Tip: The view from the suites is fantastic. Direct access to the spa area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Unfortunately we stayed just for a couple of nights at Carmo's. After getting there we wished to have stayed longer. Such a good surprise it was! The welcoming was really friendly and kind. We were given a lot of information regarding all we could do to explore the surroundings and the staff was always really nice and attentive. We have never been in this part of Portugal before and we enjoyed it very much! It has so many different kinds of options to do nearby and the mornings and late afternoon air smell is unique. The hotel has a detailed cared decoration, incredible art furniture and a genuine "fell like home" sense. It's a great place for relaxation, either at the spa or at the pool in those beds! The attention to detail is permanent. Wonderful food, really fresh ingredients. Tranquil atmosphere, really romantic ambience. We are going to recommend it and be back for sure as we got the feeling that there is so much more to be explored at Carmo's and at the region. The nearby town Ponte de Lima is one-of-a-kind!

Room Tip: The suites have an incredible view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We choose this hotel because we wanted to get to know better the north part the country. As Ponte de Lima is really centrally located in Minho, we were able to visit Guimarães, Viana do Castelo, Braga and Santiago de Compostela as we wanted and it is so worth to visit! As we prefer small hotels, we made a search and found this boutique hotel. Such a perfect choice! Really relaxing, amazingly decorated with so many contrasts and details, really intimate, truly romantic ambience and lovely relaxing outdoor spaces (specially the beds near the swimming pool that are just perfect for true relaxation and with an exquisite view).

The Spa is really unique, luxurious, surprisingly decorated and the spa therapist is excellent! We had massages and a scalding feet which we had never done before and it was the perfect choice as our feet were really needed for care and attention after so much walking around!... The spa is not big but for a boutique hotel with just a few rooms I believe it has the appropriate and enough size and it is so beautiful and peaceful. The dinners were fantastic, great quality food and the wines have a great price.
The staff is really nice and attentive, very genuine and so helpful. Thank you all!
We really felt like home. A must go for sure and I hope to back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmo's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmo's Boutique Hotel

Address: Estrada Nacional 203, Ponte de Lima 4990-645, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Ponte de Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ponte de Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carmo's Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmo’s is a cosy, romantic and exclusive 15 rooms luxury Boutique Hotel at the Portuguese countryside. Situated at Ponte de Lima, the oldest town in Portugal, at the Heart of Porto and Minho Region, close to amazing cities like Porto, Braga, Guimarães, Viana do Castelo and Santiago de Compostela (Spain). Modern design from the Portuguese awarded Architect Carvalho Araújo. Very informal. The concrete chosen by the architect becomes affectionately involved in a dialogue between parts of Portuguese joinery in Pau-Santo, Ivory, Rosewood (Art-Déco and Indo-Portuguese Art) and ancient church pieces. Everywhere heaps of nostalgic bags from the '60s, tv sets, picture frames without paintings and modern paintings (Portuguese and International painters) casually on the floor beside the canopy bed. Sculptures may appear where you may less expect and most of them are from the Portuguese Dulce Moniz. Portuguese Silver pieces and Lalique crystals are also part of this interior design history. In a scenario of organized disorganization a restaurant, library and reception, in which every detail has been carefully designed! A book and a bottle of wine appeals to our senses. The Rooms are all different from each other. Linen Canopy beds with the finest cotton bed sheets with English embroidery. The beds it self are in Wild Silk, Satin, Velvet, Leather or Noble woods, all made by Portuguese artisans. Romantic, bright and delicately decorated creating an exclusive and refined luxurious atmosphere.A luxury private Aromatherapy Spa where the essential oils and 100% organic herbs are used with love and care and an exclusive Bath in 100% Pure Goat’s Milk in honor of Queen Cleopatra, who soon discovered the secret of rejuvenation. The night falls… the fire and a blanket wind up this romantic and surreal scenery at Ponte de Lima. A true Boutique Hotel Dali style as called by Arjan Mulder.Carmo’s… a place where the past, the modern and the cultural roots blend and coexist harmoniously. The Hotel distinguishes itself on tradition, history, exquisitely and respect for the environment.Carmo’s Programs:- Romantic- Honeymoon- Wellbeing and Rejuvenating (Divine Aromatherapy Spa)- Horseback riding experiences- Cultural, Wine and Gastronomic- Golf- Self made Experiences Also provide:- Transfer between Porto and Vigo’s airports- Workshops “Painting Ateliers”- Carriage Ride Tours by the river and at Ponte de Lima’s old centre- Ritual Aromatherapy Baths at the Room- Ponies and cocky animals at the Hotel- Visits to wine farm producers- Visits to cities around the Region from Spain to Oporto- Bicycles - Pampers and surprisesAll our 15 rooms are romantic, bright and delicately decorated creating an exclusive and refined luxurious atmosphere. Each one of them tells a different a unique story.
 All canopy beds. Finest cotton bed sheets with English embroidery. Carmo’s luxury djellaba and slippers. Flat screen TV (satellite),free wireless Internet access, 24 hours open pampering bar (Honesty Bar), personal safety deposit boxes, deep-soaking tub and glass shower, HVAC system ("Heating, Ventilating and Air Conditioning"). All windows open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carmo's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmo's Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.