We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place in rural Portugal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmo's Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Carmo's Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carmo's Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Estrada Nacional 203, Ponte de Lima 4990-645, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Ponte de Lima
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing place in rural Portugal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Amazing place in rural Portugal...
Well run family hotel where one can experience Portuguese hospitality of years gone by, great balance between modern architecture and traditional furnishings.
Staff is 6 stars and the owners ability to make a guest welcome is second to none, first class Portuguese experience and worth the drive from Cascais

Room Tip: Get a suite, book ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel do Carmo B, Proprietário at Carmo's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to review your stay at Carmo’s. It was our pleasure to receive you, your wife and your friends! Although you had a short stay, you truly absorbed our boutique concept basis in terms of personnel staff and architecture/decoration guides, as you said it. We'll be waiting for your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    5
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We came across this hotel by chance when searching for a boutique hotel for a much needed relaxing break.

We were delighted by our choice. The hotel was beautifully decorated as was our room. Service was absolutely fantastic from our transfer to the hotel to giving us lifts to the local town to the fabulous spa. We had numerous treatments during our stay all of which were amazing.

The food here is absolutely exquisite. I have honestly never had better food in a hotel.

A beautiful paradise off the beaten track.

We'd love to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel do Carmo B, Proprietário at Carmo's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello Lauren!!So nice to hear from you again!All Carmo's team also felt very delighted with your stay! Please come again, I am almost sure that you would appreciate some days of pure relaxation again... We have made same small changes and improvements because now we are 1 year old (made on April)!The gardens are incredible now! It would really be so nice to see you again. We will be here waiting!...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I found this boutique Hotel by pure chance while navigating the internet searching for a nice place to stay during easter time. The first phone call contributed to rise my level of expectation, after reading the very good guest´s reviews. I wasn´t wrong. It´s an absolute must. The service is outstanding. The decoration, mixture of modern pieces with classical pieces, is extremely cosy. The same goes for the rooms. The restaurant is also very good and the package that includes breakfast and dinner is a very good option. Also it´s central location in Minho, very close to Braga, Viana do Castelo, Guimarães and even Spain (Galizia) is a strong point.
I´ll certanly return. I absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel do Carmo B, Proprietário at Carmo's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your special and kind words. So glad that internet exists and that you could find Carmo's! This was the first Easter at Carmo's! All Carmo's team really feels very happy to know that our guests are feeling so good when visiting us. We all hope you keep your "promise" and visit us again! It will be a pleasure for all of us having you once again, for sure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This modern boutique hotel in Ponte de Lima area is one of rhe best hotels we stayed in in Portugal. The staff is extremely friendly with excellent service. We had a gastronic package with breakfast and dinner included which we can highly recommend. From the breakfast to the dinner was a tast experience of traditional Portugese cuisine and the wines from the area were excellent. The the way this establishment is run is five star plus. The attention to detail and the interior of this hotel is very good.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel do Carmo B, Proprietário at Carmo's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your special words! It was a pleasure for the entire Carmo's team to have you at our Boutique Hotel. Looking forward for your next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carmo's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmo's Boutique Hotel

Address: Estrada Nacional 203, Ponte de Lima 4990-645, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Ponte de Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Ponte de Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carmo's Boutique Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmo’s is a cosy, romantic and exclusive 15 rooms luxury Boutique Hotel at the Portuguese countryside. Situated at Ponte de Lima, the oldest town in Portugal, at the Heart of Porto and Minho Region, close to amazing cities like Porto, Braga, Guimarães, Viana do Castelo and Santiago de Compostela (Spain). Modern design from the Portuguese awarded Architect Carvalho Araújo. Very informal. The concrete chosen by the architect becomes affectionately involved in a dialogue between parts of Portuguese joinery in Pau-Santo, Ivory, Rosewood (Art-Déco and Indo-Portuguese Art) and ancient church pieces. Everywhere heaps of nostalgic bags from the '60s, tv sets, picture frames without paintings and modern paintings (Portuguese and International painters) casually on the floor beside the canopy bed. Sculptures may appear where you may less expect and most of them are from the Portuguese Dulce Moniz. Portuguese Silver pieces and Lalique crystals are also part of this interior design history. In a scenario of organized disorganization a restaurant, library and reception, in which every detail has been carefully designed! A book and a bottle of wine appeals to our senses. The Rooms are all different from each other. Linen Canopy beds with the finest cotton bed sheets with English embroidery. The beds it self are in Wild Silk, Satin, Velvet, Leather or Noble woods, all made by Portuguese artisans. Romantic, bright and delicately decorated creating an exclusive and refined luxurious atmosphere.A luxury private Aromatherapy Spa where the essential oils and 100% organic herbs are used with love and care and an exclusive Bath in 100% Pure Goat’s Milk in honor of Queen Cleopatra, who soon discovered the secret of rejuvenation. The night falls… the fire and a blanket wind up this romantic and surreal scenery at Ponte de Lima. A true Boutique Hotel Dali style as called by Arjan Mulder.Carmo’s… a place where the past, the modern and the cultural roots blend and coexist harmoniously. The Hotel distinguishes itself on tradition, history, exquisitely and respect for the environment.Carmo’s Programs:- Romantic- Honeymoon- Wellbeing and Rejuvenating (Divine Aromatherapy Spa)- Horseback riding experiences- Cultural, Wine and Gastronomic- Golf- Self made Experiences Also provide:- Transfer between Porto and Vigo’s airports- Workshops “Painting Ateliers”- Carriage Ride Tours by the river and at Ponte de Lima’s old centre- Ritual Aromatherapy Baths at the Room- Ponies and cocky animals at the Hotel- Visits to wine farm producers- Visits to cities around the Region from Spain to Oporto- Bicycles - Pampers and surprisesAll our 15 rooms are romantic, bright and delicately decorated creating an exclusive and refined luxurious atmosphere. Each one of them tells a different a unique story.
 All canopy beds. Finest cotton bed sheets with English embroidery. Carmo’s luxury djellaba and slippers. Flat screen TV (satellite),free wireless Internet access, 24 hours open pampering bar (Honesty Bar), personal safety deposit boxes, deep-soaking tub and glass shower, HVAC system ("Heating, Ventilating and Air Conditioning"). All windows open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Carmo's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmo's Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.