We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Goulas Hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goulas Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Goulas Hotel to your Saves list
Goulas Hotel
Monemvasia 230 70, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Monemvasia
Kalamata, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Goulas Hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

Sweet little room with balcony facing south over the Mirtoon Sea!...one on many rooms the Goulas has on offer scattered around the main office a minutes walk from the main access into Monemvasia. Nice touches abounded such as towels coiled into hearts onto our bed! Lovely little kitchen and all decorated in dark wood with a lovely Greek feeling. The weather was cool so we were glad of the warming air-con system!

We were out of season of course, staying a night as a birthday treat away from our holiday home in the Mani, so Monemvasia was very quiet with little open but this was fine....it made it a lot easier to negotiate the tiny passages and climb to the old citadel above! We could imagine that this destination would be packed in summer! By the way, you can park a car by the main entrance to Monemvasia out of season....and the little seaside town of Gyfira on the mainland is charming with a decent bank too. Highly recommended...well done Toula!

  • Liked — Traditionally greek interior
  • Disliked — Leaving it!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

My stay here may very well have been the best 2 days of my life. It is clean, cheap and simply amazing. If I were the owner I would charge far more. Really, If you don't stay here and you stay in the new town, I think you are making a huge mistake. I WILL be back!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

We spent two wonderful nights in a suite at this hotel. Every window in our room had a beautiful view of the ocean, gorgeous flowers blooming, and an awesome huge lemon tree filled with lemons. We had a large balcony where we could sit, and enjoy the clean fresh air, and of course the beautiful ocean. The room had AC, t.v., refrigerator, coffee pot, and a hot plate. The lady working the front desk was very charming and helpful! We loved our stay in the castle!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2007

We splashed out 90 euro for the suite with balcony and it was worth it. A large sitting room, double bedroom, kitchenette & bathroom with amazing views of the sea and old Monemvasia.
Very well equiped, very tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean.
Our hosts were friendly and spoke good English - we booked over the phone & confirmed by email, which was answered almost immediately.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Goulas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goulas Hotel

Address: Monemvasia 230 70, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Monemvasia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Monemvasia
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Goulas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goulas Hotel Monemvasia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goulas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.