We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Darling Little Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goulas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Goulas Hotel to your Saves list
Goulas Hotel
Monemvasia 230 70, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Monemvasia
Pasadena, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Darling Little Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

When my family and I arrived at Monemvasia we had no hotel to stay in. My mother and I are Greek so we went to a few hotels to check out the views (you really can't go wrong with the view anywhere you stay), accommodations and prices. We stopped by this hotel first and spoke with a lovely lady at the front desk. We went to a few others right after but none compared. The others had more bells and whistles like an imam and control operated lighting, etc. but we didn't need all that. We wanted a clean and cute place to lay our heads at a great price, so we returned to Goulas and we are so glad we did! The staff was very nice and you really can't beat the price. I believe we paid 45 euros for one of the two rooms we got. Keep in mind this is off season pricing...we went in September. But either way you will be getting a much better rate than most other places. Another thing to note is that Goulas is very close to the castle walls (you can't drive your car past the opening door). Being so close to the doors made it much easier to get luggage in. I highly recommend Goulas Hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was my first visit to Monemvasia. Hotel Goulas is well located close to the gates of the castle hence easy to find. My room had great air conditioning, comfy bed and a bathroom that was built into the cave which was pretty cool. The hotel was clean and staff were happy to help. The wifi didn't reach my room which I found a little annoying. Breakfast was limited but everything else about the hotel and the castle was great.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Lovely room with a balcony (number 3) which meant we could eat outside, lovely kind owner, overall great experience! Despite lack of B&B there was coffee and milk, and tea in the rooms. Lovely priest hole in the corner of my room, which allowed air and the sound of the sea to come into the room.

Room Tip: Room 3 is adorable with a priest hole and a balcony, choose it if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is a gorgeous, traditional little hideaway. We had a room which opened onto a courtyard enabling us to eat outside, under the stars, in the cool of the evening. It would take too long to describe Monemvasia here, but I strongly suggest you do a liitle research on this extraordinary place and then stay at Goulas. Monemvasia is pretty tricky to get to, but that just makes it even more special.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nea Makri, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed in room 3 which has a huge terrace with amazing views of the sunrise. A small room but perfectly adequate, with an original fireplace (not for use) and a little 'priest hole' offset from the room.
My partner booked this hotel without my knowledge so I was a little concerned when checking Trip Advisor and seeing the comment about bites. My partner rang ahead to discuss this and was assured that 'this was not and never had been a problem' and indeed, if there was anything at all that we were not happy with, then there would be no charge for the room.
I have to say, it was perfect, very friendly staff, very clean rooms, reception area etc.
Free coffee provided - via a nice little machine in reception area.
If we are to return to Monemvasia, then this is the hotel we will return to!
Not sure if it was an 'off-season' price but I thought it was exceptional value for money at only 50e per night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I chose Goulas based on reviews at tripadvisor. The locale was easy because it was at the very beginning of the town. As expected, it was a very traditional building and rooms. Our room was simple and had a marvelous stone balcony with chairs to sit and soak up the water & scenery. But the next day we realized there was a problem with the bedding/bed! We were covered with bites... and it was not mosquitos!!! No one was arround to talk to so we left, releived to be out! I immediately contacted Goulas by email when we arrived at our next destination, and they gave a cursory "sorry we will correct it " but it felt empty. I would NOT recommend this as a place to stay. There are many other places..probably a bit more expensive, but do not risk saving $$$ at this wonderful town in exchange for days of pain!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

traditional, good position, well equipped. stayyed in room number 1 , nice sea view

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Goulas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goulas Hotel

Address: Monemvasia 230 70, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Monemvasia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Monemvasia
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Goulas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goulas Hotel Monemvasia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goulas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.