We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if your going stay IN THE CASTLE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Malvasia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added New Malvasia Hotel to your Saves list
New Malvasia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Monemvasia Castle, Monemvasia 230 70, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Monemvasia
Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“if your going stay IN THE CASTLE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Trust me…If you’re going to Monemvasia you have to stay IN the castle. The castle is just unbelievable! Probable one of the best places I visited in Greece. We stayed at Malvasia Hotel and our stay was very pleasant. The hotel is an old restored stone house where all rooms are different between them. Our room was very clean, well designed and with a stunning see view. Breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    49
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
72
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

It's a beautiful hotel inside the Monemvasia castle, and also very quiet as all the vehicles have to be parked outside the main gate of the castle. Our room was clean and spacious, situated in a tower and there was a terrace with a stunning sea view. The bathroom was curved in the rock and well designed. Breakfast was very good and sufficient, I would definitely recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

First suggestion: if you want to visit Monemvasia you must spend at least one night inside the old village. Don't stop in Gefira, even if maybe there are good hotel or B&B with a great view of the rock. Why? Because sleeping inside old stone house, completely restored, in the village clinged to the big rock, seeing the open sea is an unforgettable experience.
We stayed at Malvasia Hotel. Every room is different from each other and they have different prices. We chose room n. 3 with breathtaking sea view and balcony. Marvellous for the old furniture (it seemed to be in a room of an ancient palace), the stone bath, the wood windows and doors, the king size bed.
Great atmosphere, Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is the best hotel in the Old Town. The comforts are all there, with stunning views from all rooms, I believe, and the lovely, unforgettable "Whisper Bar", where, because of the closeness to the rooms, everyone whispers. Reception is warm and accomodating, and the breakfast is over looking the sea. Most rooms, it seemed to me, have their own private terrace with views to the sea. In terms of comfort, location, and stylishness, there is no alternative.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The locale of Monemvasia is fantastic, and the hotel is very interesting. However, there were some problems. Upon arriving, I discovered that there was no one to help move luggage 600 meters over cobblestone and then up three flights of stairs. Apparently, after 3PM, there is no more luggage service at all in town, which seems strange given that's the time that people are supposed to check in. Traveling with a senior mother, I was left to cart four bags through a crowded, narrow, uneven path. Upon arrival, the two people at the desk were unfortunately more interested in smoking and talking to each other than helping us get settled.

The room we were given was very small, with no storage space, but with a great view of the sea. Once settled, we loved the town. The getting up and down to and from the room, however, was very challenging for my older mother, so I would not recommend this hotel for someone with limited mobility.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Areopolis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

April 19, 2012 Nice location. But. We dropped in, started to talk to receptionist, the phone rang. We were set aside. OK phones have their magic. Then eventually we caught here attraction again. She picked some keys. But. Unfortunately there was a young couple asking her somthing. So we were set aside again. OK, we got the message. Foreigners - not welcome. Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed there 3 days in May.
The hotel is very charming, and the view amazing. Breakfast is good.
The room was a bit old-fashionned but charming, but i'd say it's not very very clean and it was quite small. They had bigger rooms but already booked.
Let's say for teh price we payed (about 50 euros), it was a good option.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Malvasia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Malvasia Hotel

Address: Monemvasia Castle, Monemvasia 230 70, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Monemvasia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Monemvasia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monemvasia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Malvasia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a magnificent setting at the furthest tip of Monemvasia Castle, 300 m from the Castle's gate, you may find New Malvasia Hotel. The view is amazing, breathtaking.Built with stones from the surrounding area and with a great respect to the architectural style and the aesthetics of the Castle, some with balcony with sea view and some with fireplaces for warmth in the winter, the rooms of New Malvasia Hotel offer a special experience of accommodation. Here, the traditional elements combine perfectly with all the modern amenities plus some designer touches.All the rooms are equipped with air conditioning, mini fridge, telephone, flat screen satellite TV, hairdryer. Free wireless Internet access (WiFi) is available in public areas of the hotel.Please note that New Malvasia Hotel features a café with spectacular sea views and a peaceful atmosphere that is worth visiting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your New Malvasia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malvasia Hotel Monemvasia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Malvasia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.