We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautifully renovated historic building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ardamis Traditional Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ardamis Traditional Guesthouse to your Saves list
Ardamis Traditional Guesthouse
Castle of Monemvasia, Monemvasia 23070, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Monemvasia
Certificate of Excellence
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A beautifully renovated historic building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I was surprised and shocked to see the variety of reviews - especially the bad ones - for this place. I have to say that our experience there was entirely positive.

First, as another reviewer has mentioned, this is no Holiday Inn. My suggestion if you want Holiday Inn is don't go to Monemvasia, it's not that kind of place. Ardamis is a beautifully restored historic building in an amazingly atmospheric historic town. It is located just inside the walls of the lower town, quite close to the only entrance. You have to negotiate some fairly steep steps to get there, but that is true of almost everywhere in Monemvasia. If you're reasonably fit it should not be a problem. The welcome from the owners was extremely friendly (and the welcome drink very welcome!).

We chose to stay in Double Room No 15. The room itself is simple and nice. It was spotlessly clean (except for a little verdigris on the antique bathroom fittings, which did not bother us at all). The bed was very comfortable, the refrigerator, TV and airconditioning all worked. The lighting is very good, though it took a while to figure out the profusion of switches and dimmers.

For me even better than the room itself is what is outside it. The front door opens on to a small open patio followed by a patch of grass, with a table, chairs and a few trees providing shade. Immediately in front of that is the (public) path around the inside of the city walls, from which there is a vertical drop of about 10m down to the sea. A door at the back of the room opens to an inner courtyard, with tables and chairs and all-day shade (this is shared with a couple of other rooms). So there are plenty of places to sit and relax and recover from the energetic process of exploring the town and castle.

Since we often recommend places we have stayed to friends, we asked if we could see some of the other rooms, and were shown some that happened to be unoccupied at the time. Every room seems to have a different architecture and atmosphere; all the ones we saw were very nice. One even has an 800 year old well in the middle of the sitting room, beautifully illuminated and very impressive, though not much practical use. Another (which we didn't see) apparently has its own private hamam (Turkish bath).

Behind the reception is a large veranda for common use, with an incredible 360 degree view: in front the sea and the Peloponnese coast; at the back the huge rock with the castle ruins on top; and all around the buildings of the lower town. The only problem is there is no shade, which effectively restricts its use to early morning and late afternoon/evening. Apparently this is because the authorities do not permit umbrellas as they would spoil the historic views - a rule I would fully support.

Overall, if we ever return to Monemvasia we will definitely choose to stay at Ardamis again, and probably in room 15.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    19
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
56
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

I had good references from a friend about Ardamis rooms so I booked the room “Chateu - PIRGOS” using their web site. I thought that I was lucky to hit the cheapest of the rooms available on a high season timeframe but as soon as I saw the “Chateu – PIRGOS” room all my questions were solved.

Their web page is misleading because it does not say that the Chateu room is attached to the owners house and the following are the facts against what it is presented in their site:

The Satelite Nova TV, DVD Player are not inside your room but at the main lobby of the Ardamis facilities.

Same applies for Wireless internet.

Indeed I had Welcome Drinks. They had a pvc bottle of water that had be opened before and was refilled. Absolutely disgusting!

The Refrigerator was not working. I asked the personnel to check it twice and they never did anything to fix it.

To get the whole picture. “chateu” is a very small room. You have a double bed but you can access it only from the one side. Prepare to wake up your mate if you want to go to the bathroom and she is asleep.

The bathroom is huge but it lacks any kind of ventilation except opening the windows. So essentially, the only way to keep tolerable the air in the bathroom during the hot days in the summer is to have yourself exposed to the people walking outside of the bathroom (since the bathroom is at ground level).

Last but not least, the bedroom was quite dirty and the furniture abandoned. You could see dust all over the decoration.

So, in other words you get nothing staying in this small room except sleeping. You don’t even have a tiny radio to listen to some music. And it would not be a comfortable sleep since you get no tidiness or other value.

I will note again that I had good references for the Ardamis rooms from a friend. But unfortunately these guys didn't give me a chance to witness this with my own eyes.. So, I can’t tell about the rest of the rooms but if all you can book is the “Chateu – PIRGOS” room, don’t buy it! It’s a scam! With the same money you can find excellent rooms 10 meters far.

PS: I read other messages about the lack of professionalism from the owners. I totally agree. When I told them that my refrigerator was out of order, they said they will fix it and they did nothing

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

In a trip with many hotel reservations and many different cities, I decided to splurge on this one. We had a family suite with 2 bedrooms, a living room, a kitchen with dining room and even a steam room! There were many amenities and the whole place was very nicely decorated. As others have noted, the lighting is a bit over the top - too many of them and in some odd places. But we really enjoyed the room. Our room opened in the back to a courtyard shared with others - a great place for putting wet swimsuits and towels. This courtyard opens again to the path next to the ocean and in less than 2 minutes walk, you can be sunbathing and swimming. We had 3 teenage girls with us and they were absolutely thrilled with the place. I was warned ahead of time about having to carry luggage through the city, but that would be true of almost any hotel on "the rock". This hotel was steps away from the main thoroughfare. We only stayed one night and if I had more time (and more money), it would have been a great place to stay for several days. There is a restaurant by the same name, but it does not appear to be associated with the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

hotel ardamis it is very bad place for stay the room was very dirty with out view the bathroom it is very small and also the price for one double room it is 150 euro per day you can found very nice hotel near of ardamis

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens & brussels
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

This hotel is special; the unique character really influence your stay and help you get into the amdiance of Monemvasia in the whole. This means some people will love it and some will hate it. This is not a typicall hotel but tries to get you into the medieval atmosphere, since Monemvasia is a Medieval-and a bit claustrophobic- place. But our suite was spacious and brighter than others, since the latter (lack of sufficient natural light) is a drawback of this accomodation-but part of the idea. It was comfortable, clean and the breakfast was nice. We had a few relaxing days and we got away from our everyday routine and that is exactly what we were looking for. The hotel has a website with pictures of the 10 suites-ours was No 19 I think.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

The room was over two levels and certainly very unique. It even had a terrace with views of the water. Often hotel rooms lack lighting - this place was the opposite with lights (including blue coloured ones) everywhere! My husband struggled to get around the room without bumping his head or into the furniture - not really ideal for tall people!

  • Liked — Its location in a unique place and in a traditional building
  • Disliked — Its layout
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

This is a hard hotel to evaluate since it is so unusual. This is NO Holiday Inn, to say the least. We had a huge, two story mini-apartment with a downstairs bedroom, loft above the bedroom, main living room, and a huge bedroom. In terms of size, it was of great value. And the space was so unusual and interesting.

However, there were some critical defects to consider:
1. Maintenance was not optimal. The toilet seat was not attached to the toilet since the hinges were broken.
2. As my wife said, this place needs an interior decorator. The place could be "to die for", but it is opportunity lost with a hodgepodge of furniture.
3. The bedroom, down below, is air conditioned. The upstairs was stiffling hot--and it wasn't that hot outside. I wonder what this must be like in mid-summer!
4. There is little natural light and very small windows--a feature of this historic building.
5. Weird lighting.
6. The bathroom, with its long throw rug, floods when taking a shower.
7. Lastly, no one should stay here if they are not capable of carrying their luggage up the equivalent of four flights of stairs.

This was a memorable and interesting experience but we would not elect to do this again. If we were, we would not take all of our luggage with us. Since the car is parked outside the walls of the castle, just bring what you need for the time that you will be staying. On the plus side, this medieval town is very interesting, and access to the top is convenient.

  • Liked — Historic preservation
  • Disliked — Historic preservation
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monemvasia hotels
0.1 mi away
Likinia Hotel
Likinia Hotel
#2 of 25 in Monemvasia
5.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
#7 of 25 in Monemvasia
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moni Emvasis Luxury Suites
Moni Emvasis Luxury Suites
#1 of 25 in Monemvasia
5.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
New Malvasia Hotel
New Malvasia Hotel
#11 of 25 in Monemvasia
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Byzantino
Hotel Byzantino
#12 of 25 in Monemvasia
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
1.3 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#10 of 25 in Monemvasia
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardamis Traditional Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardamis Traditional Guesthouse

Address: Castle of Monemvasia, Monemvasia 23070, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Monemvasia
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monemvasia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monemvasia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Traditional Guesthouse Ardamis is housed in the most significant building of the Monemvasia castle, whose history goes many centuries back. It was the governor's house during the Venetian rule and a residency during the Ottoman rule, while two Byzantine emperors have also been welcomed there. The building was renovated with respect, without absolutely any alteration of the areas, keeping its particular architectural elements intact, thus highlighting its beauty and history, while at the same time offering all modern luxuries. When the renovation started a Byzantine coin was found in the ruins dated back to 711 A.D. which is now exhibited in the Numismatic Museum of Athens and is unique in its kind. Some of the guest house special elements are the unique Castle tower, 14 meters high with seven windows, an 800 years old marble well, a true copy whereof is exhibited in the Museum of Istanbul and a picture whereof is exhibited in the Castle Museum, and of course the guest house 100 m2 balcony right above the sea which many Greek and foreign magazines and visitors have called . Currently the guest house is an amazing complex of rooms, suites and apartments joining the history with the living present of Monemvasia. Ardamis Traditional Guest Houses is the ideal destination for honeymoon. Quality never suffers a crisis; this is our firm belief which we prove everyday to all our clients. We shall continue to offer state-of-art services so that you may enjoy the comfort, the amenities and the ambience of Ardamis guest houses. Thousands of readers of various magazines have classified us as the best guest house in Greece, for three consecutive times; we are awarded for our efforts but also committed to constantly improve the quality of our services, even in difficult periods as this. In our website you will find various press releases, and awards. One of the voting procedures was held by the "Voyager" magazine which conducted a poll among 60,000 readers; with a percentage of 96.68% our guest house won the first prize across Greece!!!! Selecting your accommodation based on the price is unfair to both us and you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ardamis Traditional Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardamis Hotel Monemvasia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardamis Traditional Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.