We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Theophano art hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Theophano art hotel to your Saves list
Theophano art hotel
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Castle of Monemvasia | Chrisafitissa Square, Lakonia, Monemvasia 230 70, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Monemvasia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

My husband and I found the Theophano Art Hotel on Hotels.com and stayed there for two nights. My parents have also stayed here. We found the hotel exceedingly clean and well-appointed with beautifully updated bathrooms. Every room is different in style, but all were quaint and many have fireplaces. The views of the sea, the castle, and the old-town from the roof-top patio are unparalleled. The hotel is an easy 5min walk to the main-street in the old-city. As with all the hotels in the old-city, pack light, as it is a bit of cobble-stone walk from the main entrance gate. The owner was wonderfully attentive to all our needs and the breakfasts she put on were absolutely delicious, including all homemade cakes, juices, and jams. The hotel's basement has a lovely reading nook/library, a beautiful music room, and an old cistern, all easily available for visitors' viewing and use. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms have easier access to the roof-top patio, but more stairs to climb with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Z, Co-owner at Theophano art hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel! We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    21
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
100
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I visited Theophano art hotel with my wife last October for 3 nights and we stayed in one of the small rooms.
Theophano hotel is a small hotel, with nice decorated public spaces. We were warmly welcomed although we arrived very late at the hotel-, from the owner who is friendly, helpful but also very talkative.
The room we had was cute for me but not for my wife, however it could not be considered as an art hotel’s room -to be honest I felt like staying in my grandparents house in the village- with old furniture but not traditional. The double bed had two separate mattresses one wide and one narrow!!! The room was clean in the check in, but the daily tidiness and house keeping were poor, the sheets were never replaced which is acceptable for 3 nights, however not acceptable was the non replacing of the towels and the non brush and sponging of the room during our stay even one time.
The breakfast had a good quality and taste (not something exciting as we expected, having read the comments), the variety was acceptable for a small hotel however the quantity- as breakfast was served in the table- was very poor even for a kid.
Wi-Fi was not available in our room and TV had only one or two channels.
The worst was that during our stay there, we felt a piker/misery motion from the owners side: Very small portions of breakfast, non replacing of the towels, non re-feeling the toilet paper (we had to ask for it), napkins at breakfast were cut in four pieces and the request not forget to turn of the heater after 5-10 minutes.
As for the location, Monemvasia is a very beautiful and picturesque place however so boring… Hotel is located at the end of the castle so get prepared to walk 800m inside the castle in narrow and rough paved paths (take only the necessary with you).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is one of those reviews I am almost afraid to write. I fear that as more travelers discover the wonder and beauty of Monemvasia and the warmth and hospitality that Theophano (Fani) exhudes at her Art Hotel, that I may never be able to get a reservation again. I will take my chances and say that both the destination and the hotel as both bucket list musts! As soon as you walk through the main gate of Monemvasia, you fall in love with the walled city clinging to its mountain and surrounded by the sea. We had no reservations and happened upon the directional signs pointing the way to the Art Hotel. The winding path led us along the wall by the sea to a beautiful courtyard that sits right in front of the hotel and assures unobstructed views of the sea. The Art Hotel sits right by the sea entrance to the city, affording a wonderful opportunity to swim or just sun yourself on the rocks. The rooms are simple, but warm and tasefully decorated. A highlight is the art that is selected, especially the artwork by Fani herself. Our room had two terraces, a private terrace facing the town and mountain and an enormous shared terrace that faced the sea (our perfect place to watch the sun rise and getting engaged after being together 24 years!) What makes this place truly memorable is Fani herself. The Art Hotel is her 20 year long dream that finally came to fruition last year. The Art Hotel is her passion. That passion was evident everywhere ...from her homemade breakfast of yougurt and honey, her own jams and local cheeses("nothing from supermarket") to her impromptu evening wine reception and her art and archtecture tour around the hotel. Her pride in her accomplishment and her desire to share the experience with her guests, made this stay an unforgettable experience. Fani suggested we stay another night. We wanted to stay a lifetime.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Our stay at Art Hotel Theofano was the perfect finish for our road trip in south Peloponnesus. It felt like home, and mrs Fani was such a warm hostess. Each room of the hotel has a different theme and is decorated accordingly (we stayed in "floretta" which had flowers painted in parts of a wall and of the furniture). The rooms are simply decorated, well in accordance with the spirit of the old castle, and they are spacious, very clean and convenient. The view is spectacular and there is a small terrace perfect to sunbathe or observe the countless stars at night, in this small village where all lights are turned off by midnight.
Breakfast is served in a large, bright room, decorated with beautiful but still discrete pieces of art, by a long kitchen table which also adds in the feeling of being at home. Mrs Fani offers hand-made by herself marmelades (2 kinds), with freshly baked bread, eggs, local cheese, juice, coffee and fruit-cake. Beautiful music accompanies breakfast without being disturbing. If you wish information about nearby places to visit or about the history of Monemvasia (or Greece in general), mrs Fani is more than happy and really well prepared to answer any question.
The hotel has also a music-room with a small piano, and a reading-room.
Overall, we were very satisfied and happy to have enjoyed such a warm hospitality. We would definitely come back!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Returning back after one year and finding the same sense of hospitality is a wonderful feeling. The hotel maintains the same charm, Mrs Theophano was friendly and talkative with the guests sharing their emotions about this beautiful place which is Monemvasia. I found the same taste of a breakfast full of local products, while the rooms are keeping the same atmosphere of art, simple luxury and cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

then your best choice would be "Theophano art hotel"! We had a great time in an amazing room (Virgo small suite) with view to the castle and the sea! Simple luxury, cleanliness and the thought that you will live in another century for a couple of days. Mrs Theophano (the owner) was very kind and hospitable. We really liked the fact that she adores art and every place in the hotel is decorated based on the art but also the architecture and the civilisation of the castle. As far as breakfast is concerned, it's simple greek breakfast (homemade marmalade, bread, cheese, fresh orange juice and coffee), for us it was what we needed. So, this hotel is not for the mass for sure, but it is the ideal place for someone who would like to stay in a different hotel which promotes culture, relaxation and simple luxury. Thank you mrs Theophano. We hope we will visit you again soon. Giannis and Dora

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

The owner is really nice and talkative :) the rooms and ambience are amazing... The breakfast has a really good quality but it was missing in variety and quantity...! The rooms were from the 17th century!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Theophano art hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theophano art hotel

Address: Castle of Monemvasia | Chrisafitissa Square, Lakonia, Monemvasia 230 70, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Monemvasia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Monemvasia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Theophano art hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Theophano art hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Theophano art hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.