We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rock Solid Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Likinia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Likinia Hotel to your Saves list
Likinia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle of Monemvasia, Monemvasia 23070, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Monemvasia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Rock Solid Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Monemvasia is a rare, wonderful place to visit, and the Likinia Hotel is a great place to hang your hat.  It's in a peaceful, quiet part of town (but still close to excellent restaurants), the rooms are well appointed and receive great attention, and the staff and owners are wonderful, looking after your every need (thanks for the help in getting heavy luggage to the hotel!).  And did I mention the breakfasts are superb? This is the place to stay in Monemvasia, especially during Easter Week!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    25
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
51
151
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent 4 nights in this wonderful hotel. The hotel is very conveniently located within lower Monemvasia. Our room (number 10) had windows on 3 of the 4 walls with views of the village and the sea. The room was gorgeous and clean. The bed softer than others I have encountered in Greece with ample pillows and a fluffy duvet. Voula who is the owner or manager was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. She speaks enough English to get by with English speaking tourists. We were met at the entrance of Monemvasia by Alexander who carried our luggage to the room and also assisted with parking the car. No cars are allowed within the walls so you must park along the road leading to Monemvasia. Alexander will follow you and transport you back to the main gate. You must take the time to hike to the ruins. They are worth the effort. I recommend doing it in the evening when the temperature has started to fall. Breakfast consists of a selection of cereals, breads, fruit, yogurt, ham, cheese, eggs scrambled with tomatoes, spinach pie, a vegetable and ham omelet, cheese pie, jam and honey, coffee, and fresh orange juice. It did not vary day to day but with the selection we did not mind.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We read the reviews on TripAdvisor and followed the link to Booking.com. Easy, except that many reviews mention Room 1 (a suite) and Booking.com doesn't tell you which room is which. We made our best guess and included a note requesting Room 1. A few days before the trip I got a phone call from Likinia telling me that Room 1 was not available. Okay. Oh but wait, it could be available (for a few dollars more) if we cancelled our reservation with Booking.com and paid them directly. Well, we did. It felt a little weird, but we assumed it was best. It did work out, and we were given Room 1, but it seemed like a strange system.
Upon arrival, we were escorted to our suite. No tour or explanation or check-in, just dropped in our suite. The manager sent a text message saying to call if we needed anything. Suite 1 was very pretty, but I wouldn't call it a suite since it's only one room. Very comfortable and clean with a lovely view, but not luxurious. Hot water was not abundant and on most days didn't last through even one shower. Breakfast was fine - exactly like every other breakfast we had in Greece. Mostly we wanted to sleep in, although it was not always possible. One morning the owner called and woke us to see if we were coming to breakfast, another day she called and woke us to see if we needed room service. There must be a less intrusive system, like "do not disturb" signs. Also, as you lie in bed you face the red LED light from the TV and similiar lights from the fuse box. If you are a sensitive sleeper, you will need to find a way to mask them. The experience of staying on The Rock was fun, but I think we spent more than we needed on what was essentially a simple inn. There seem to be lots of accommodations to choose from - so look for the best price, since the best things (the beauty and quiet of Monemvasia) are free.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have spent a weekend in April.The weather was fantastic, so we could walk all day long inside the romantic castle.The location of the hotel gives easy access to the sea and to the upper town. The only difficulty is to carry your luggage from the main gate to the hotel, because it is located to the other end of the castle. However, Carolos has been very helpful with the luggage. Ms Voula, the owner, is taking great care of each and every guest as if they are members of her family!
They serve freshly squeezed orange juice, home made jam and cheese pies.
The rooms are very fine decorated and they fit to the style of a medieval castle.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed in this wonderful hotel for 3 days in March. The hotel is new inside the castle. The overall service and hospitality was great! The owners did their best to make us feel welcomed. Alex was great helping us carry the luggage and prepare breakfast. (there is a bit of walking to do to reach the hotel since it is located at the distal part of the castle). The room was large, clean with excellent mattress. Breakfast was well prepared and more than adequate.
I believe that it is a very nice hotel, with unforgettable see view and definetely a value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My family and I had the pleasure of visiting in July. Previously, we stayed at other hotels here. Likinia Hotel outshines all others. The attention to detail is remarkable. From the sparkling clean room to the freshly prepared breakfast, the owners leave nothing to chance. The hotel itself is an archeological wonder, lovingly restored and pristinely maintained. We enjoyed our stay so much that we extended our visit. This is one of those rare places that leaves an indelible mark on your soul. Guests are welcomed as family. Visit Likinia and you will explore history as well as immerse yourself in Greek culture. For a brief time, I held on to a secret paradise, nestled only in Greece. Yannis and Voula have created a getaway that offers many things: superb accommodations, delicious local cuisine and vistas that leave you breathless. We thank them and dream of sharing a glass of Ouzo once again.

Kimberly Packer, DDS

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 days in February at the Likinia a very carefully and beautifully built hotel inside the castle of Monemvasia. We could not have made a better choice. Our room was No. 1 with a beautiful old marble balcony viewing the sea and the Chrysafitissa square. The room is very spacious, beautifully styled and has an exceptional marble floor and a fireplace. We felt as if we were moved back in time while enjoying all the modern amenities at the same time. Breakfast was heaven with freshly made omelettes, one with tomatoes and one with a mix of fresh vegetable, fresh orange juice (I think I never had such a sweet juice), fruit, homemade cake and everything else one needs to start the day full of energy. Ms. Voula and Alexis took discretely care of us during breakfast and ensured that nothing was missing. We sat at the table next to the fireplace. We loved Likinia with all its hidden treasures one can find behind every corner, just as Monemvasia itself.
We recommend this hotel to everybody who wants to visit Monemvasia.
Birgit and Antony

Room Tip: We stayed at room #1 with sea view and balcony. It was a perfect choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Likinia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Likinia Hotel

Address: Castle of Monemvasia, Monemvasia 23070, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Monemvasia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Monemvasia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Likinia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LIKINIA Hotel is a newly built hotel located inside the historic Castle of Monemvasia in the Southern Peloponnese. The stone built hotel, which has been constructed with absolute respect to the historic surroundings and architecture of the Castle, is offering a very pleasant and relaxing accommodation to its guests, thanks to its comfortable furniture and modern equipment. All the architectural elements were preserved during construction, such as arcs and cisterns, while there has been a wonderful combination of marble floors in each room and marble walls in their bathrooms. Its beautiful construction, its bright rooms thanks to their numerous windows, and its tasteful furniture are making LIKINIA Hotel a jewel for the Castle of Monemvasia. LIKINIA Hotel is located in Chrysafitissa Square, which is adjacent to the southern part of the Castle's fortification, just above the sea. Thanks to the hotel's proximity to the sea, most of its 4 suites and 12 rooms have a beautiful sea view and its guests may enjoy the coolness of the sea breeze through its numerous windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Likinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Likinia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.