We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just returned from our vacations at wonderful Likinia hotel- can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Likinia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Likinia Hotel to your Saves list
Likinia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle of Monemvasia, Monemvasia 23070, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Monemvasia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just returned from our vacations at wonderful Likinia hotel- can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

At last the wonderful and unique castle of Monemvasia has the perfect place to stay: hotel Likinia!
we were amazed to discover that apart from the fact that externally the hotel is like a part of the old castle, in total harmonization with the rocky and atmospheric environment, inside it has all the comforts of a contemporary and luxurious hotel.
Our room had an amazing view to the sea and it was obvious that when it was built, great care was given to the details (you do not often find marble floors combined with plasma tvs!).
In addition, the owners of the hotel are very friendly, make your stay enjoyable and give you tips for the area! Also, we were surprised to find out that the homemade breakfast was still waiting for us even during the late morning hours!!
We had an amazing and relaxing stay in hotel likinia and managed to put the city's stress behind us! It is highly recommended to couples as well as families!
Spiros& Eftychia

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    29
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
59
165
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peiraius
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed at the Likinia for two nights. Me my wife and our 16 months old daughter. The hotel is fantastic with large and comfortable rooms providing all the comfort that a family may need. A Baby cott was offered for our baby. The room was in perfect condition, clean and it combined luxury with tradiion. Thre was also a mini bar in the room. The Lobby and the Breakfast area is very warm with 2 fireplaces. The breakfast was excellent along with all of the staff and management.
In one sentence: Top facilities and amenities in a magical and surreal part of the world that takes you back in time to Monemvasia of the Middle Ages. An experience we will never forget. We shall be back!

Room Tip: Great suites facing the Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

I stayed at the Likinia for a week at the end of September and I have only positive words to say about the place that is frankly difficult to qualify as beautiful it is. I stayed in the suite with a view on the Aegean, something fantastic when it is the first thing you see in the morning, plus a view on the Byzantine fortifications while looking on the East and the wonderful village of Monemvasia on the West. I do think that the Lakinia gives you a formidable experience of comfort but not in excess as it should be; in other words, it is just the right balance of good taste between refined furniture and decoration that fits very well with the style of the Byzantine architecture, with a blend of Venetian and Franks history this place is absolutely splendid. I really appreciated the effort to keep architectural features such as putting a window over the cittern used to capture the rainwater in the hall that led to my room. The history behind the architecture provides to the hotel a character I have rarely seen in my life. The hospitability of Voula and Yannis is fantastic and this it topped by lovely breakfast every morning with the Greek sun as companion, always there to remind you of the extraordinary beauty of this incomparable country. Do not miss the upper part of the village as well, an archaeological site allowing you to see the South side/tip of Laconia and at sunset, you will understand why Yannis Ritsos was born there, only a place like this can give a great poet to our world. I recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, I'll go for a suite, especially if you are a couple and are looking for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We had a great time staying in the castle! The room was new and it combined luxury with tradiion. We only stayed one night and we wished that we could have stayed for a few more days. The breakfast was excellent along with all of the staff and management.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Great combination of luxury and tradition in this superbly built, new hotel. Management and staff extremely welcoming and friendly. Go for the deluxe double room with sea views. Decorative marble floors, exposed timber beams, quality furniture and beds. Top facilities and amenities in a magical and surreal part of the world that takes you back in time to Monemvasia of the Middle Ages. An experience I will never forget.

Room Tip: Corner deluxe room has windows to the sea and to landing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

we stayed for only one night but enjoyed every moment! the hotel is inside the castle, but still retains its privacy.
spacious room, great bed and a nice breakfast with a variety of fresh seasonal fruit, home made marmelades & sweets and many other choices.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Just came back home to Israel from over two weeks of travel around the peloponissos and wanted to share a reccomendation for the Likinia hotel in Monemvasia.

We have been traveling on a budget but decided we want to go to a reall nice hotel just for one night. After seeing a few other places, we walked by the Likinia and were immediately impressed by the location and the rooms. The management was very friendly and happy to have us. Rooms are beautiful- comfortable and clean. A great combination of luxury and tradition.
In short- Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monemvasia
0.1 mi away
New Malvasia Hotel
New Malvasia Hotel
#11 of 25 in Monemvasia
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
#7 of 25 in Monemvasia
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moni Emvasis Luxury Suites
Moni Emvasis Luxury Suites
#1 of 25 in Monemvasia
5.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Byzantino
Hotel Byzantino
#12 of 25 in Monemvasia
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
12.9 mi away
Princess Kyniska Suites
Princess Kyniska Suites
#1 of 1 in Karavostasi
5.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
1.3 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#10 of 25 in Monemvasia
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Likinia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Likinia Hotel

Address: Castle of Monemvasia, Monemvasia 23070, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Monemvasia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Monemvasia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Likinia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LIKINIA Hotel is a newly built hotel located inside the historic Castle of Monemvasia in the Southern Peloponnese. The stone built hotel, which has been constructed with absolute respect to the historic surroundings and architecture of the Castle, is offering a very pleasant and relaxing accommodation to its guests, thanks to its comfortable furniture and modern equipment. All the architectural elements were preserved during construction, such as arcs and cisterns, while there has been a wonderful combination of marble floors in each room and marble walls in their bathrooms. Its beautiful construction, its bright rooms thanks to their numerous windows, and its tasteful furniture are making LIKINIA Hotel a jewel for the Castle of Monemvasia. LIKINIA Hotel is located in Chrysafitissa Square, which is adjacent to the southern part of the Castle's fortification, just above the sea. Thanks to the hotel's proximity to the sea, most of its 4 suites and 12 rooms have a beautiful sea view and its guests may enjoy the coolness of the sea breeze through its numerous windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Likinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Likinia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.