We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mpalkoni sti Monemvasia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mpalkoni sti Monemvasia to your Saves list
Mpalkoni sti Monemvasia
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Monemvasia, Monemvasia 23070, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 27 Monemvasia B&B and Inns
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in Monemvasia for a short holiday and found this place a really superb one. We were welcomed by the Hotel owner and his wife by a wine bottle and fruit basket (This kind of welcome you wont find anywhere in Greece).

Hotel was so clean and cosy , we recommend it for any bag packer or couple looking for economical stays.

Room Tip: Go for a Sea view room, you will appreciate the Sunrise, its awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    29
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
40
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I found Mpalkoni St Monemvasia a great value option in Monemvasia.
It faces the hill and castle and is about 200 m from the bridge.
Before getting into other details, a couple of points I must mention - it is right above a supermarket, which is a great convenience. If your traveling by bus, it's a good location as all buses pass by the guesthouse... So the convenience of getting in and off the bus is great.
Choose the rooms with the balcony and hill view. It's a good view and great for having a bottle of wine in the evening.
The room is pretty well stocked with various amenities. The bath is very compact but practical. There's a small desk for writing or laptop use. There's a small kitchenette in the room, which is great if you are self catering and with the supermarket just below ... It's an option to be seriously considered. 
The balcony is equipped with a table and 2-3 chairs. 
Importantly, the wifi in the room worked great. 
All in all ... A super value option

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Early in our 2 month drive around Greece, we visited this historic and gorgeous setting. Our host was a generous, helpful individual who did everything possible to enhance our stay. He provided unbiased advise on restaurants, sites, etc. If we are fortunate enough to return to this area, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

More than expected, much more than other hotels in the same price range, well situated on the mainland, a few minutes (3-5 min. Easy walk) from the bridge that connects Gefyra of Monemvasia, rooms with sea view and approximately 50 - 60 m from beach, 2-3 minutes walk to the center where you can find many taverns (we preferred Aktaion tavern with a very kind staff and delicious food at the best prices) , mini market downstairs.
A small and intimate hotel, very clean (daily cleaning, linen and towels changed every second day) and very well equipped, generous parking space.
We stayed in 2 rooms, 3 days first visit and second visit 7 days, perfectly equipped rooms, you do not miss anything from coffee to air conditioning and Kitchenette.
Staff very helpful and friendly, English speaking, we can not give any minus point. In the future I will live with the greatest pleasure in this hotel.
Hopefully happen soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoli, Italia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Great apartments. Great services. Great Position. Greatest Price! The best! The breakfast is included and is very very consistent. Few minutes and you are in the centre of the city. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The hall is very nice and ready to help you. My vote? It's sure A+!

Room Tip: If you stay in Monemvasia, choiche this apartments. It's beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I decided to visit Monemvasia at the last minute and were VERY pleasantly surprised when we found this lovely place to stay. We had a wonderful room with a view of the sea (hint: it is worth the extra money to be on the beach side of the hotel...beautiful view!) The room was very clean, comfortable, included a kitchenette (no stove) with coffee, tea, snacks, utensils, etc. We had a cute balcony where we could sit and watch the waves plus a great air conditioning that kept us cool! The hotel is right above a mini-grocery store for all of your basic needs and a tiny walk from the quaint town. You can also walk (or drive) easily over to the causeway that will take you to the rock of Monemvasia. I would highly recommend this hotel and I would go back in an instant! Tip: for some of the best baked goods I have ever tasted take the road out of Monemvasia (about 1-3 miles) and find the "konditorei" bakery on the left side (NOT on the ocean side, on the other side of the road). We visited multiple times :)

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to get a room with a view, or ask for an upgrade if the hotel is not full...the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

First, I'm not sure why this hotel is classified as a "B&B" since they don't actually offer any breakfast. Also, the website is deceiving because the room I stayed in was nowhere as nice as the ones pictured. The hotel consists of several rooms on one floor above a grocery store. The owner lives on the floor above the hotel level. The service is not great since there is hardly ever anyone the front desk to answer any questions. The hotel is in Gefyra on the mainland and a 10-minute walk to the bridge that connects the Gefyra and Monemvasia. This is not bad, but there are lots of other hotels that are closer.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mpalkoni sti Monemvasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mpalkoni sti Monemvasia

Address: Monemvasia, Monemvasia 23070, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Monemvasia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Monemvasia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mpalkoni sti Monemvasia 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mpalkoni sti Monemvasia lies at Monemvasia’s entrance, on a sea-front location offering cozy and budget accommodations. It is established just 200 meters from the bridge that leads to the castle and 50 meters from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Mpalkoni sti Monemvasia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mpalkoni sti Monemvasia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.