We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful few days in Monemvasia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monopati Residence

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monemvasia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monopati Residence
Save
You added Monopati Residence to your Saves list
Citadel of Monemvasia (Kastro) | Laconia, Monemvasia 23070, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 Monemvasia B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful few days in Monemvasia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed in the apartment, which was perfect for two people as a base for a few days. It's a lovely place to stay, but what really makes this place is Isabelle, who is a wonderful host. She prepared us a delicious breakfast every day, offered tips on places to go, and lent us a torch and beach towels (both are essentials!). Being able to cook our own food in the evenings was great, so this place is a wonderful hybrid between a B&B and a self-catering apartment. Overall, there isn't much praise I can add to what other people have already written here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iso6524, Propriétaire at Monopati Residence, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you, Katie, for your warm-hearted review and thanks to all my guests for your trust and confidence in Monopati.
When Jamie wrote "an amazing magical destination and home away from home" I can tell that my aims have been fulfilled.
It's really what I want to offer my guests: a home away from home.
You are always in my thoughts and my husband and I would never be so happy in Monemvasia without you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

We have just stayed here for two nights and what a great place it is. The apartment is really comfortable, spacious, clean, and in a fantastic location right in the centre of town. It's also really well equipped, with everything you might need, including oil, vinegar, salt, pepper etc for cooking if you wish to. Apart from the church bells which rang early one morning, this place couldn't be more perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was the most magical, wonderful place we have ever been and stayed...do not hesitate to book the little house on the Rock. The home even had a house keeper every morning, breakfast was available from owner living right behind...most charming place ever would be an understatement. Great place to get up and explore every day. We were here for a week, and my heart is still there.Great for couples, family, friends or solo.

Room Tip: amazing magical destination and home away from home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed two nights in Monemvasia at Monopati, and I was so disappointed when we had to leave! Monemvasia is a charming, interesting city, and the apartments are very comfortable – but Isabelle’s warm hospitality really made our stay one to remember!

The apartments are unique and not an every day hotel stay. They are located in Byzantine buildings, and the architecture includes arched doorways, built in cupboards, small alcoves. (FYI - there are some steep stairs.) The apartment had a room with a double bed and a second bedroom with a twin bed (good for a single person or child). Very clean, and a nice alternative to a hotel room. Views of the city and the sea from the courtyard.

Isabelle served breakfast on her patio with sweeping views over Monemvasia and the water. Breakfast was a large selection of yogurt, granola, pastries, cheese, and fruit. A great way to start the day!

A few recommendations for Monemvasia:
- Our favorite restaurant was To Kanoni – we went for lunch one day and then decided to go back again for dinner to try something else on the menu!
- It’s a walled city with small narrow passageways – beautiful, and quaint without motorized vehicles. Be prepared to carry your luggage!
- Wear long pants to dinner at night, there are quite a few mosquitos!

I hope our travels bring us back to Monemvasia one day – I’d definitely stay at Monopati again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We LOVED this place! Isabelle is the perfect host, knowledgeable, helpful, with a positive, warm, peaceful, contagious energy, I have traveled to Greece many times, and Monemvasia a few. She provided some of the best recommendations I have ever received for places to eat, visit, and swim. Breakfasts are stunning up on her balcony, abundant, and delicious. The apartment is perfectly located, charming, and the temperature cool. This apartment and all of Monemvasia is best enjoyed by people who are in decent shape as there is wonderful walking and exploring to do - and there are a lot of steps. Go and enjoy! You wont be sorry!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We loved our stay here. Isabelle and her loquacious husband were delightful hosts. Our room (we stayed in the apartment) was roomy, clean and attractive. The breakfasts were delicious, and Isabelle's friendly presence, combined with the view of the water and the ancient church below made them ever more enjoyable.

I can't speak for any of the accommodations in neighboring Gefyra, but for us there was something magical about staying on "the rock". It is unbelievably quiet at night, and while the warren of unlit streets would be difficult to explore in the dark, it is fun to wander down the main drag and enjoy the quiet. There are three largely interchangeable eateries on "the rock"; all were solid.

A Monemvasia tip: if you are up for a moderately exerting hike uphill, do not miss the upper town. It is absolutely magical.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed at Monopati for 2 nights in March 2012 with 3 kids (11, 9 and 6 years-old). It was a unique experience for the whole family!

Monopati is located at the heart of the Medieval village of Monemvasia in a beautiful house full of history (the master-bed room of the house we rented is a vaulted-room, probably dating back from the XIIIth / XIVth century). Monopati is decorated with taste and a real sense of design. The appartment we rented was equipped with a kitchen so that we could break-up from the traditional dinner at the "Taverna", cook our own food and try our very first home-made tarama! A tip for those who travel in winter : this appartment is equipped with floor heating, which is just delightful (most places we stayed at only had reversed air-con as heating and we just "froze up" during night).

Isabelle, the owner, is very dedicated to the place she created after a brilliant humanitarian carreer . She will tell you a lot about the village and its surroundings with simplicity and smile.

Isabelle prepares you a healthy breakfast, with tasty local fruits, home-made yogurth and marmelades... On the 2nd day, we even took breakfast on the terrasse facing Mediteranean See, a great moment!

From the hotel, you can walk up and down in the village without a car.

In a word, Monopati was the best lodging experience we had in Greece during our 10 days trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monemvasia hotels
0.2 mi away
Likinia Hotel
Likinia Hotel
#2 of 25 in Monemvasia
5.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
#7 of 25 in Monemvasia
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Malvasia Hotel
New Malvasia Hotel
#11 of 25 in Monemvasia
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Moni Emvasis Luxury Suites
Moni Emvasis Luxury Suites
#1 of 25 in Monemvasia
5.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
1.1 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#10 of 25 in Monemvasia
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardamis Traditional Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monopati Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monopati Residence

Address: Citadel of Monemvasia (Kastro) | Laconia, Monemvasia 23070, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Monemvasia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Monemvasia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monopati a long-terme residence Located in the heart of the Byzantine Citadel of Monemvasia and nestled in pristine surroundings, Monopati, an enchanting and rustic residence, invites you to settle down and relax, taking in the unique atmosphere. The houses have been restored with natural materials, blending the advantages of modern comfort with the authenticity of their medieval origins. We offer two types of lodgings at a reasonable price: ideal for a long-term stay (beginning at 14 days), whether for work, such as a sabbatical year, or for rest and recreation. Here, time has no meaning. The day starts with a copious breakfast or a dip in the clear waters of the Aegean Sea. Open year round. In Monemvasia every month has its own charm... In the end, we always arrive at the place where we are expected... from Jose Saramago ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monopati Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.