We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not like before....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ruths Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ruths Hotel to your Saves list
Ruths Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hans Ruths Vej 1, Skagen 9990, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Skagen
Certificate of Excellence
Genf, Geneve, Switzerland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not like before....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We used to come to Ruths hotel every year. This summer we found the quality of service and of the rooms to have detoriated. While we earlier years felt very welcome, we now found that the quality of the rooms, the common areas and the breakfast buffet was reduced. The attention of the reception staff seemed to be directed towards the Danish customers (probably returning more frequently than us). We will probably not return to Ruths hotel next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    18
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
19
44
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

It is just so relaxing to stay at Ruth’s hotel in Skagen. The service is simply unique and the staff extremely friendly. You will meet a world class receptionist when checking in and be given a tour of the hotel. The breakfast is great. After a fantastic meal in the gourmet restaurant I recommend to relax by the fireplace with cappuccino and petit fours. I have stayed here several times on a romantic weekend and also stayed there with 2 children once. They also loved the relaxing atmosphere and luxury surroundings. Today when I go to Skagen to stay in my own summer house I always come back to the hotel to visit anyway. I still want to stay there from time to time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Hotels in Denmark can be average. Certainly expensive, and often with small rooms and less than friendly service. Ruth's is certainly different. We were only staying one night, so can't comment on the restaurant (apart from Breakfast). The room we had was great. A good size, with a decent bathroom and small balcony.

High class AV equipment from B&O made it a little special. We had been shopping during the day at "Slagter Munch" butcher in town and the staff happily accepted our bag of goodies to be stored overnight in the hotel fridge.

Nice toiletries and a very nice breakfast - buffet for cold and a small, but well cooked egg choice. Freshly squeezed orange juice was a bonus!

If you are looking for the ultimate in luxury, this isn't it. There are no elevators, as the hotel is not new but if you are looking for a high class place to stay in Old Skagen, (don't forget to enjoy the sunset) it is ok, but more expensive than average.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the sea and look for the larger rooms, they are not all the same size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I wouldn't go back. Some pretty basic deficiencies in this five star hotel. eg no lift to room and no warning about steep stairs. Missing toiletries, had to ask on three separate occasions. Small room, charming but stuffed with things that made the stay less relaxing; huge cushions but nowhere to put them, tiny wardrobe with half the space taken up by ironing board, large impressive looking B and O sound system but no instructions. Good location but no view from any of the hotel rooms, private or public. No sea view as suggested on website. Very good breakfast, Pleasant staff, but golly you did have to wait your turn.Spa disappointing. Nice pool but littered with the debris of previous users when we went and no staff. (Nevertheless we had a great stay, mainly riding the bikes we rented from the hotel through the marvellous countryside.) I know Denmark is expensive but I felt Ruth's was very overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Ruths hotel is a 5 star hotel in old skagen. Actually it showed out to be 3 hotels, The main building and 2 other buildings a walk away. We got a room in the original old building, Standhotellet, which was cosy and nice but the double room was very small - just possible to walk around the bed - and the price per night was dkr 2000 (€268), that is overpriced. Everything else was okay. The breakfast buffet too, but nothing special, which should be expected in a 5-star hotel with these prices. In the main hotel building there was a terrasse with serving, but in the afternoon mostly with a lot of very noisy people drinking champagne and other heavy stuff - these welldressed and probably wealthy people seemed actually drunk most of them. I would choose another hotel next time - there's a lot in the beautiful area of Skagen and old Skagen. Remember to see the famous sunset from the beach in old Skagen

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Ruths Hotel is located in the old part of Skagen conveniently on the beach. It's roughly 5 kms away from the city centre of Skagen on the other side of the peninsula and thus they have the privileage of being able to enjoy the sun setting over the ocean.

The hotel is impeccable with excellent service and with a business center. It's also in a quite part of Skagen far from the touristy attractions and drunkards late at night and therefore is an option with business travellers or for meetings.

The have a restaurant with an excellent chef from France. We had well over 60 clients for dinner and we received very good ´comments from all of them. For a relax and quite setting, this is the place to be in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Went with friends for a one night stay at this lovely hotel. Certainly a great experience. I would like to go there with my husband, as I found the place very romantic indeed. Loved the comfy beds, the atmosphere and luxury breakfast. I can only recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ruths Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruths Hotel

Address: Hans Ruths Vej 1, Skagen 9990, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Skagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Skagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ruths Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ruths Hotel and Gl. Skagen Taking a break from your busy everyday life and pampering yourself in luxurious surroundings is one wish that Ruths Hotel has been fulfilling for an entire century. We gladly invite you to experience the seaside hotel's historic traditions that today have been enhanced by gourmet gastronomy and exclusive wellness facilities. Here, at our traditional yet modern seaside hotel, one is still to this day more than just a tourist - one is a bather, a summer guest, and a holiday-maker. The hotel's tastefully furnished rooms, suites, and other accommodation, combined with its training facilities, therapeutic pool, steam baths, and much more, make your stay at Ruths Hotel a very special experience. All of this, spiced by the gastronomy of chef Michel Michaud, turns your stay at the hotel into the very definition of the word "pamper". Skagen and our wonderful seaside hotel. If you are considering visiting us for the first time, we hope to be able to welcome you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ruths Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruths Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.