We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Class hotel in Skagen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruths Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ruths Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ruths Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hans Ruths Vej 1, Skagen 9990, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Skagen
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“High Class hotel in Skagen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Hotels in Denmark can be average. Certainly expensive, and often with small rooms and less than friendly service. Ruth's is certainly different. We were only staying one night, so can't comment on the restaurant (apart from Breakfast). The room we had was great. A good size, with a decent bathroom and small balcony.

High class AV equipment from B&O made it a little special. We had been shopping during the day at "Slagter Munch" butcher in town and the staff happily accepted our bag of goodies to be stored overnight in the hotel fridge.

Nice toiletries and a very nice breakfast - buffet for cold and a small, but well cooked egg choice. Freshly squeezed orange juice was a bonus!

If you are looking for the ultimate in luxury, this isn't it. There are no elevators, as the hotel is not new but if you are looking for a high class place to stay in Old Skagen, (don't forget to enjoy the sunset) it is ok, but more expensive than average.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the sea and look for the larger rooms, they are not all the same size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    16
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
17
37
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I wouldn't go back. Some pretty basic deficiencies in this five star hotel. eg no lift to room and no warning about steep stairs. Missing toiletries, had to ask on three separate occasions. Small room, charming but stuffed with things that made the stay less relaxing; huge cushions but nowhere to put them, tiny wardrobe with half the space taken up by ironing board, large impressive looking B and O sound system but no instructions. Good location but no view from any of the hotel rooms, private or public. No sea view as suggested on website. Very good breakfast, Pleasant staff, but golly you did have to wait your turn.Spa disappointing. Nice pool but littered with the debris of previous users when we went and no staff. (Nevertheless we had a great stay, mainly riding the bikes we rented from the hotel through the marvellous countryside.) I know Denmark is expensive but I felt Ruth's was very overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Ruths hotel is a 5 star hotel in old skagen. Actually it showed out to be 3 hotels, The main building and 2 other buildings a walk away. We got a room in the original old building, Standhotellet, which was cosy and nice but the double room was very small - just possible to walk around the bed - and the price per night was dkr 2000 (€268), that is overpriced. Everything else was okay. The breakfast buffet too, but nothing special, which should be expected in a 5-star hotel with these prices. In the main hotel building there was a terrasse with serving, but in the afternoon mostly with a lot of very noisy people drinking champagne and other heavy stuff - these welldressed and probably wealthy people seemed actually drunk most of them. I would choose another hotel next time - there's a lot in the beautiful area of Skagen and old Skagen. Remember to see the famous sunset from the beach in old Skagen

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Ruths Hotel is located in the old part of Skagen conveniently on the beach. It's roughly 5 kms away from the city centre of Skagen on the other side of the peninsula and thus they have the privileage of being able to enjoy the sun setting over the ocean.

The hotel is impeccable with excellent service and with a business center. It's also in a quite part of Skagen far from the touristy attractions and drunkards late at night and therefore is an option with business travellers or for meetings.

The have a restaurant with an excellent chef from France. We had well over 60 clients for dinner and we received very good ´comments from all of them. For a relax and quite setting, this is the place to be in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Went with friends for a one night stay at this lovely hotel. Certainly a great experience. I would like to go there with my husband, as I found the place very romantic indeed. Loved the comfy beds, the atmosphere and luxury breakfast. I can only recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

a few days away with a friend - we shared a junior suite - absolutely lovely room. Not a sound outside except the sound of the sea. Decor is beautiful, scandinavian neutrals but not dull, room had lovely high ceiling and a balcony. Lovely log fire with comfy sofas downstairs and helpful staff always on hand. good sauna and steam room. Breakfast delicious. Swimming pool perhaps a little on small side, and why the exercise bikes in the pool? but beautifully warm. Its a couple of miles from Skagen itself and without a car you might feel stuck but Skagen itself is charming, the art galleries artists houses etc well worth visiting, and otherwise walks in the sand dunes and by the sea are why you are there - and the air feels so clean. Only slight niggle, the hotel has bicycles but charges quite a bit to hire them. With a hotel at this sort of price shortish bike hire could have been thrown in

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Denmark
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

My wife and I spent 2 wondeful days at Ruths Hotel in the old part of skagen. we arrived at 3 pm. The staff gave us a "tour" around the hotel which are locatet in severel buildings. We rented a Standard dobbeltroom which was placed in a building next to the main hotel building. The room was nice, clean, and cosy. After check in we went to the beach, which is right next to the hotel. Because it was my birthday we had dinner at the hotels gourmet restaurant. Book in advance, it was completely full on an ordinary tuesday evening.
It was a fantastic dinner, best lobstertail i ever had, and a fantasic wine meny. After a good nigts sleep, we had a lovely breakfast, we rented bikes at the hotel and went into Skagen city, we went to see "den tilsandede kirke", Skagen "downtown" and up to "grenen". We had lunch at "Skagen bryghus" good beer and burgers. In the evening we had dinner, at the hotels Brasserie, which was fine. After dinner we went to the beach. A bottle of champagne and a nice sunset, completet our stay.
minor details:
no aircondition, but you can open the windows.
no minibar, but you have acces to a "lounge" with cold beer, soda, vine. ect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ruths Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruths Hotel

Address: Hans Ruths Vej 1, Skagen 9990, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Skagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Skagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ruths Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ruths Hotel and Gl. Skagen Taking a break from your busy everyday life and pampering yourself in luxurious surroundings is one wish that Ruths Hotel has been fulfilling for an entire century. We gladly invite you to experience the seaside hotel's historic traditions that today have been enhanced by gourmet gastronomy and exclusive wellness facilities. Here, at our traditional yet modern seaside hotel, one is still to this day more than just a tourist - one is a bather, a summer guest, and a holiday-maker. The hotel's tastefully furnished rooms, suites, and other accommodation, combined with its training facilities, therapeutic pool, steam baths, and much more, make your stay at Ruths Hotel a very special experience. All of this, spiced by the gastronomy of chef Michel Michaud, turns your stay at the hotel into the very definition of the word "pamper". Skagen and our wonderful seaside hotel. If you are considering visiting us for the first time, we hope to be able to welcome you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ruths Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruths Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.