We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but narrow” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ruths Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ruths Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ruths Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hans Ruths Vej 1, Skagen 9990, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Skagen
Copenhagen
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Expensive but narrow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Ruths hotel is a 5 star hotel in old skagen. Actually it showed out to be 3 hotels, The main building and 2 other buildings a walk away. We got a room in the original old building, Standhotellet, which was cosy and nice but the double room was very small - just possible to walk around the bed - and the price per night was dkr 2000 (€268), that is overpriced. Everything else was okay. The breakfast buffet too, but nothing special, which should be expected in a 5-star hotel with these prices. In the main hotel building there was a terrasse with serving, but in the afternoon mostly with a lot of very noisy people drinking champagne and other heavy stuff - these welldressed and probably wealthy people seemed actually drunk most of them. I would choose another hotel next time - there's a lot in the beautiful area of Skagen and old Skagen. Remember to see the famous sunset from the beach in old Skagen

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    14
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
28
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Ruths Hotel is located in the old part of Skagen conveniently on the beach. It's roughly 5 kms away from the city centre of Skagen on the other side of the peninsula and thus they have the privileage of being able to enjoy the sun setting over the ocean.

The hotel is impeccable with excellent service and with a business center. It's also in a quite part of Skagen far from the touristy attractions and drunkards late at night and therefore is an option with business travellers or for meetings.

The have a restaurant with an excellent chef from France. We had well over 60 clients for dinner and we received very good ´comments from all of them. For a relax and quite setting, this is the place to be in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Went with friends for a one night stay at this lovely hotel. Certainly a great experience. I would like to go there with my husband, as I found the place very romantic indeed. Loved the comfy beds, the atmosphere and luxury breakfast. I can only recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

a few days away with a friend - we shared a junior suite - absolutely lovely room. Not a sound outside except the sound of the sea. Decor is beautiful, scandinavian neutrals but not dull, room had lovely high ceiling and a balcony. Lovely log fire with comfy sofas downstairs and helpful staff always on hand. good sauna and steam room. Breakfast delicious. Swimming pool perhaps a little on small side, and why the exercise bikes in the pool? but beautifully warm. Its a couple of miles from Skagen itself and without a car you might feel stuck but Skagen itself is charming, the art galleries artists houses etc well worth visiting, and otherwise walks in the sand dunes and by the sea are why you are there - and the air feels so clean. Only slight niggle, the hotel has bicycles but charges quite a bit to hire them. With a hotel at this sort of price shortish bike hire could have been thrown in

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Denmark
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

My wife and I spent 2 wondeful days at Ruths Hotel in the old part of skagen. we arrived at 3 pm. The staff gave us a "tour" around the hotel which are locatet in severel buildings. We rented a Standard dobbeltroom which was placed in a building next to the main hotel building. The room was nice, clean, and cosy. After check in we went to the beach, which is right next to the hotel. Because it was my birthday we had dinner at the hotels gourmet restaurant. Book in advance, it was completely full on an ordinary tuesday evening.
It was a fantastic dinner, best lobstertail i ever had, and a fantasic wine meny. After a good nigts sleep, we had a lovely breakfast, we rented bikes at the hotel and went into Skagen city, we went to see "den tilsandede kirke", Skagen "downtown" and up to "grenen". We had lunch at "Skagen bryghus" good beer and burgers. In the evening we had dinner, at the hotels Brasserie, which was fine. After dinner we went to the beach. A bottle of champagne and a nice sunset, completet our stay.
minor details:
no aircondition, but you can open the windows.
no minibar, but you have acces to a "lounge" with cold beer, soda, vine. ect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Stayed in room 35 a Junior suite with jacuzzi for 2 night during July 2011 with my husband and 5 year old son

Arriving at the hotel you are meet by a very kind receptionist who quickly check you in, show you around the hotel and follow you to your room.

The room is nicely decorated but a little boring compared to international 5 start hotel level. But it works nicely. The beds are REALLY good which is VERY importent for me
There is no need to book a room with a jacuzzi as it is the small one.
The is an outdoor terrace for this kind of rooms which is perfect when you a child with you. The is no view at al from this room!

The spa in-door pool is open from 16-18 for children. Our son loved it and it will be one of the reasons for returning. It is nice that it is only open in this period.. because then you do not have to discuss when to return to the hotel with your cildren ;o)

Breakfast is nice and have everything you want.. The egs are VERY soft as ask for one wich is more cocked.

You can have dinner at the brasseri (See other review) or the gourme restaurant. Returning in the evening you can sit by the fire and enjoy a dring or take a late dessert.

The location of the hotel is in the old part of Skagen which I can only recommend as this area is more quiet... the out door space for the Brasserie is VERY nice during the evening(Remember to book space!)

Remember to go to the dune during the sunset with a small bottle of champaign.. so charming sitting there enjoying the sun set

Room Tip: If you like an out door space with no view then book a Junior Suite with a Jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights to enjoy the sea, peace and true Skagen atmosphere. Well decorated rooms kept in a Maritime style. The place is known for its Jet-Set clients - rich and famous. Breakfast is ok - regular. Good for couples who want peace and time - out. Expensive and good!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ruths Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruths Hotel

Address: Hans Ruths Vej 1, Skagen 9990, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Frederikshavn Municipality > Skagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Skagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ruths Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ruths Hotel and Gl. Skagen Taking a break from your busy everyday life and pampering yourself in luxurious surroundings is one wish that Ruths Hotel has been fulfilling for an entire century. We gladly invite you to experience the seaside hotel's historic traditions that today have been enhanced by gourmet gastronomy and exclusive wellness facilities. Here, at our traditional yet modern seaside hotel, one is still to this day more than just a tourist - one is a bather, a summer guest, and a holiday-maker. The hotel's tastefully furnished rooms, suites, and other accommodation, combined with its training facilities, therapeutic pool, steam baths, and much more, make your stay at Ruths Hotel a very special experience. All of this, spiced by the gastronomy of chef Michel Michaud, turns your stay at the hotel into the very definition of the word "pamper". Skagen and our wonderful seaside hotel. If you are considering visiting us for the first time, we hope to be able to welcome you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ruths Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruths Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.