We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in a beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruths Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ruths Hotel to your Saves list
Ruths Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hans Ruths Vej 1, Skagen 9990, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Skagen
Certificate of Excellence
Kolding, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in a beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

My wife and I spent 2 wondeful days at Ruths Hotel in the old part of skagen. we arrived at 3 pm. The staff gave us a "tour" around the hotel which are locatet in severel buildings. We rented a Standard dobbeltroom which was placed in a building next to the main hotel building. The room was nice, clean, and cosy. After check in we went to the beach, which is right next to the hotel. Because it was my birthday we had dinner at the hotels gourmet restaurant. Book in advance, it was completely full on an ordinary tuesday evening.
It was a fantastic dinner, best lobstertail i ever had, and a fantasic wine meny. After a good nigts sleep, we had a lovely breakfast, we rented bikes at the hotel and went into Skagen city, we went to see "den tilsandede kirke", Skagen "downtown" and up to "grenen". We had lunch at "Skagen bryghus" good beer and burgers. In the evening we had dinner, at the hotels Brasserie, which was fine. After dinner we went to the beach. A bottle of champagne and a nice sunset, completet our stay.
minor details:
no aircondition, but you can open the windows.
no minibar, but you have acces to a "lounge" with cold beer, soda, vine. ect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    21
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
21
52
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Stayed in room 35 a Junior suite with jacuzzi for 2 night during July 2011 with my husband and 5 year old son

Arriving at the hotel you are meet by a very kind receptionist who quickly check you in, show you around the hotel and follow you to your room.

The room is nicely decorated but a little boring compared to international 5 start hotel level. But it works nicely. The beds are REALLY good which is VERY importent for me
There is no need to book a room with a jacuzzi as it is the small one.
The is an outdoor terrace for this kind of rooms which is perfect when you a child with you. The is no view at al from this room!

The spa in-door pool is open from 16-18 for children. Our son loved it and it will be one of the reasons for returning. It is nice that it is only open in this period.. because then you do not have to discuss when to return to the hotel with your cildren ;o)

Breakfast is nice and have everything you want.. The egs are VERY soft as ask for one wich is more cocked.

You can have dinner at the brasseri (See other review) or the gourme restaurant. Returning in the evening you can sit by the fire and enjoy a dring or take a late dessert.

The location of the hotel is in the old part of Skagen which I can only recommend as this area is more quiet... the out door space for the Brasserie is VERY nice during the evening(Remember to book space!)

Remember to go to the dune during the sunset with a small bottle of champaign.. so charming sitting there enjoying the sun set

Room Tip: If you like an out door space with no view then book a Junior Suite with a Jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Stayed 2 nights to enjoy the sea, peace and true Skagen atmosphere. Well decorated rooms kept in a Maritime style. The place is known for its Jet-Set clients - rich and famous. Breakfast is ok - regular. Good for couples who want peace and time - out. Expensive and good!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed for three nights together with my wife.
The hotel is very nice and the restaurant and the service is excellent (which is also to bee expected with the price!).

However, we stayed from Friday to Monday, and both Friday and Saturday night we could not sleep due to laud music from the Brasserie (Turned volume down at 01.00) and people partying just outside the room in the court yard (until 01.30). Normally I don't mind party and music if you stay in a city or at place where you expect noise in the weekend, but when Ruths markets itself as a quit and tranquil place, I would also expect the music and partying to end at least at midnight...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

On arrival I had a great welcome and loved the smell of the open fire.

The rooms are a good size and have B&O tv and Bose iPod dock station.

Breakfast is amazing.I had the best omlete in my life.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

This hotel is a high end beach hotel. I had a junior suite which was very nice

Rooms: All newly decorated, with state of the art danish design furnitures

Bath: Nice big bathroom

Housekeeping: Very sweet and helpfull

Lobby: Very very nice, kind of living room vibe

Breakfast: Absolutely PERFECT

Wellness: GREAT !!!

Room Tip: I stayed in the hotel itself
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkeborg, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

My partner and I just spent a couple of days at Ruth's Hotel with the sole purpose of relaxing, eating, and getting some fresh air. The latter is no problem at gl. Skagen as such, and at this time of year it's not especially crowded with tourists (such as ourselves) if you prefer a quieter milieu than the place offers in the summer's high season. The Hotel itself was nice as you would expect from a 5 star standard. Room very clean, a bit small, but with an ok nice view of the sea (this was a standard room, so we didn't expect high class luxury neither in terms of spaciousness nor a perfect vista). A nice, small balcony as well. We did miss a minibar at the room, but other things compensated for that: For one thing the wellness-facilities situated in the hotel although we only used the large therapeutic pool and sauna which was included in the price. Really nice and relaxing and with a no kids-policy (except youths above 16 are allowed in company with adults). This means you can relax in a noise-free environment, which was what we came for. Secondly, we decided to eat all our meals at the in situ brasserie, managed by French chef Michel Michaud after the first evening course there. Maybe we were lucky, but we really cant support the negative judgements of the small (about 50 seats) down-to-earth brasserie with an intense atmosphere. Both evenings we had the menu of the day (+ extras, and lunch one day as well) and they were brilliant. No doubt up there with what we've had elsewhere in France (rural or Paris) at other occasions. Mind, this is not gourmet haute cuisine, but very well made classic brasserie dishes. The service was ok (one of the waitresses was not exactly fantastic) and by coincidence we had a small chat with the chef himself, who acted extremely sympathetic. The menus included lamb, poussins, mussels, cheese-selections, and créme brulée. Classic but absolutely tasty. Excellent bread, and small but good wine selection. The gourmet restaurant, also in situ, may be overpriced as someone else here stated - we didn't check it - but the brasserie is certainly not, considering the quality. Definitely recommended. And we didn't even mention the delicious (but unpretentious) breakfast buffet, the beautiful nature and the nearby town of Skagen (Ruth's Hotel is at the outskirts, about 4 km from Skagen), which has plenty to offer.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skagen
1.3 mi away
Color Hotel Skagen
Color Hotel Skagen
#2 of 3 in Skagen
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
10.0 mi away
Aalbaek Gl Kro
Aalbaek Gl Kro
#1 of 1 in Albaek
3.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Petit
Hotel Petit
#6 of 26 in Skagen
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Skibssmedien Skagen
2.8 mi away
Hotel Sonderstrand
Hotel Sonderstrand
#5 of 26 in Skagen
4.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Plesner
Hotel Plesner
#4 of 26 in Skagen
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruths Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruths Hotel

Address: Hans Ruths Vej 1, Skagen 9990, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Skagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Skagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ruths Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ruths Hotel and Gl. Skagen Taking a break from your busy everyday life and pampering yourself in luxurious surroundings is one wish that Ruths Hotel has been fulfilling for an entire century. We gladly invite you to experience the seaside hotel's historic traditions that today have been enhanced by gourmet gastronomy and exclusive wellness facilities. Here, at our traditional yet modern seaside hotel, one is still to this day more than just a tourist - one is a bather, a summer guest, and a holiday-maker. The hotel's tastefully furnished rooms, suites, and other accommodation, combined with its training facilities, therapeutic pool, steam baths, and much more, make your stay at Ruths Hotel a very special experience. All of this, spiced by the gastronomy of chef Michel Michaud, turns your stay at the hotel into the very definition of the word "pamper". Skagen and our wonderful seaside hotel. If you are considering visiting us for the first time, we hope to be able to welcome you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ruths Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruths Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.