We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hjorths & Kokholmshotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hjorths & Kokholmshotel to your Saves list
Hjorths & Kokholmshotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kandebakkevej 17, Skagen 9990, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Skagen
Strib, Denmark
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Hjorths Hotel is a lovely and relaxing place with a lot of nostalgia and old Danish history. You can truly feel it in the atmosphere.

I have to admit though, that they can do a little more to make the hotel even more personal and warm. With that said, the staff is friendly and service minded.

The room we stayed in - a standard double room with a sink - was cute and clever organized. All the furniture was unique and old, but still maintained nicely. The bed was good too.
The view towards the nature is very beautiful and definitely a highlight of the room. Good organic bath products were located in the room.

The location is simply superb. Close to a silent beach, close to Råbjerg Mile and close to all the nature.

We ate a 2-course dinner at the restaurant. The restaurant is beautifully designed and very cozy. The lobster bisque served with a grilled scallop was fantastic. A strong flavor and the culinary highlight of the evening.
The main course was good too: Plaice with potatoes, cranberries and butter sauce. A simple Danish classic. I have eaten it better at Svinkløv Badehotel, but this one was indeed very good.
The food is simple, but great. What more can you ask for? The price is very reasonable too.

The breakfast served here at Hjorths Hotel is decent. Nothing outstanding. I quite missed more local produce and better quality products, but it was definitely okay. Breads, cakes, charcuterie, cheeses, yoghurts, fruits, cereals and 'do it yourself' eggs are on offer.

Hjorths Hotel is a lovely place with - as I said before - a lot of unique Danish history. The price for a stay is very reasonable and good compared to the quality.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    14
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Looking for a modern hotel with large rooms, minibar, television and exclusive bathrooms? Looking for waiters that know all about French wines and receptionists that speak seven languages fluently? If that´s your idea of the perfect hotel then you need to find it another place.

Hjorths & Kokholms hotel has its own kind of perfection. This hotel has soul and charm. When you look out at Northern Europe´s largest moving dune from your window, when you enjoy a lunch in the peaceful garden, when you eat a delicious dinner in the old-fashioned restaurant, or when you walk down to the beach to get your morning swim, you might find yourself thinking that right now there couldn´t possibly be a better place than this.

Don´t have a car? Go there by the local train from Frederikshavn to Hulsig station. Hulsig is a short taxi ride from the hotel.

Just want to enjoy the atmosphere for a short while? Have a lunch in the garden on a beautiful summer day.

Want a more exclusive beach hotel in the same area? Consider Ruths hotel in Gammel Skagen (Old Skagen).

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

It was a good time that my wife and I enjoyed. Staff was so kind and the food in the Restaurant was so delicious. The breakfast was good as well. The nature surrounding the hotel was absolutely fabulous and it really cause you to feel relaxed.
The beds are nice and comfortable, and everything in the hotel is so charming.
If you are not a fan of sharing your bathroom with other guest is it important that you ask for the rooms with own bathroom.
Its such a Cousy hotel, and a place that you will remember for a long time.
After having visited hotels in many places all over The world, is this hotel one of the best.
Visit this place if you are looking for a good experience and need a wonderful hotel near Skagen.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We spent two nights at Hjorts Badehotel and paid USD 700.- for this stay. We are a four persons family, two adults and two children aged 9 and 11. The price included breakfast. We got a room in a building outside the hotel. This was a two storey room. The surface area of each floor was less than 12 square meters. On the groundfloor, they installed a bunk bed and an additional poor quality bed for the children. On the first floor - an attic of about 7 square meters - there were two simple beds for the parents. The bathroom was on the groundfloor, equiped with a shower, which was not watertight because the shower curtain was much too short (and also very dirty). So, it was impossible to take a shower without flooding the hole bathroom.
So, there is clearly a gap between what is being promised by the website of the hotel and the actual quality of what is offered. To pay 90.- USD per person/night for a service which is not even worth 50.- USD is a pity.
On the first evening, we wanted to eat at the hotel's restaurant. But by reading the menu up on the wall by the entrance, we noticed that the propose cuisine has no particular culinary value, nevertheless that it is overpriced too. For this reason we went elsewhere.
On the second evening and night, there was a huge reception and party in the main building of the hotel. Heavy music could be heard until very late in the night (about 4 AM). From our separate building, we heard it clearly. I cannot imagine how it was for guests in the main building.
Therefore, I do not recommend this hotel. It is really overpriced with regard to the poor quality of what is offered.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

In the middle of nowhere is this cozy place where you can relax and unwind the Skagen way. We were in room 11 with a larger balcony overlooking the garden - what a feeling!!!!! Room 11 came with 2 single beds dressed in the most heavenly bedding!!! The breakfast served in their restaurant was true to Danish cuisine. Highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Location is fantastic, a bit from the village, but what views!
Good rooms an close to the beach where the sun sets in a magnificent way. You are allowed to drive the car on beach!
Restaurant serves good food both at breakfast and dinner.
We really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker, Norway
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I am so happy we stayed at this hotel, and not in the middle of busy Skagen! At Hjorths & Kokholm you get the chill-out feeling in touch with nature (sanddunes in the middle of nowhere) and Skagen-feeling (in the footsteps of Krøyer).
The lovely garden in front of hotel is a must for a cake, a glass of wine, lunch or dinner. Restaurant is the best we experienced in Skagen and worth the drive!
We stayed in the second floor at Hjorths. Steep stairs up, so be careful! (I saw an older couple crawling up the stairs) Lovely rooms in old Skagen style and a tiny balcony with no space for chairs. Rooms might be a bit old and dusty, but still charming. The rooms at Kokholms (the other building) seems to have bigger terraces and a bit more modern.
No internet connection in the rooms, but there is internet connection in reception area and livingroom in mail building.

Room Tip: Cozy old fashioned rooms, but small balconies in Hjorths. If you stay in Kokholms, there is a 150 me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hjorths & Kokholmshotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hjorths & Kokholmshotel

Address: Kandebakkevej 17, Skagen 9990, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Skagen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Skagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hjorths & Kokholmshotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hjorths & Kokholmshotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hjorths & Kokholmshotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.